We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap wine in a fancy bottle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estuary Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Estuary Island Resort to your Saves list
Estuary Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poovar P.O., Puvar 695525, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap wine in a fancy bottle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The experience at this beautiful resort was a mixed bag to say the least. So let’s begin with the experience–
An excellent location on this beautiful island of Poovar (no truly an estuary – as the river is not large thought it does meet the sea), very well landscaped and thoughtfully lit up at night. The hotel is accessible by both road and water - they have a ferry that picks one up from the jetty (I believe this service is available only till 6p); the experience of coming into the hotel by ferry is truly unique. We missed this boat ride as we reached Poovar at 630p and continued to drive having missed the cutoff as instructed by the Front Office Manager. The welcome drink canned juice was refreshing and a fresh tender coconut would have been ideal given the fact we were in Gods own country .
The check in is where all the fun began , we had booked online and guaranteed payments using Amex, we were asked to pay 100% of the stay at the time of check in (how bizarre) and then told they had some issues with the American Express cards and would need cash or Master/Visa cards. The check in process takes fairly long, so brace yourselves for a good 20 minutes before you are ready to be escorted to your cottage/room. All the information we had provided online (while booking) had to be manually entered this time on a form and rooms assigned. Our welcome platter of cookies had 4 pieces of the size of a one dollar coin! To make sure we got the cookies, we had to call front office thrice!
The cottages are well spread across this huge property and hence give an excellent sense of privacy. The doors/windows don’t overlook someone else’s cottage and that is truly a blessing. The villas/cottages looked very well designed in the pictures on the website and one must congratulate the great photoshop job as in reality things were not as pretty. The furniture is rather cheap and plasticky; quite at odds with the environs. The quality of toiletries also leaves a lot to desire…
The air-conditioning in the rooms was very inconsistent and the air-conditioning maintenance guy first came and cleaned the air-filter (to me this should have been taken care of prior to our check in) and then would need to come twice everyday and fix something in the backend for us to get the required cooling.
This property has uniquely connected swimming pools (adults, kids & toddlers) thereby ensuring one can keep an eye on the kids. The pool is well maintained and kept very clean by the staff. During our stay we found a shortage of beach/pool towels on all 4 days and the response of the pool attendant not very cordial.
The food at the hotel is just AWESOME and they have a very wide spread at the buffet for breakfast, lunch & dinner and accommodate Ala carte orders as well. The Executive Chef Sanjan Sugathan is a true master of the culinary art and makes a point to stop by to have a chat and seek feedback. The service at the restaurant is fairly slow and Sajan does a great job of covering this up with his small talk. We were indeed lucky to get Milan (whenever he was on shift) who was excellent at providing good service.
The restaurant is oddly located at one corner of the property and is quite a walk, so be prepped to walk a long way to get food and trudge back to your room.
The amenities center was in a state of disarray with half the things not functioning and or broken.
The ‘gym’ was in a shoddy state – with equipment from the days of Adam. I’d recommend taking a walk/jog in the property instead, for your daily dose of exercise.
The mandatory gala dinner for Christmas was magnificently pulled off by the team lead by the Executive Chef, does the property even have a GM?
Overall, I’d say our experience was satisfactory and a lot can be done with this beautiful property if the staff is well trained and the senior management team involved with the running/managing this beautiful property. We were not provided feedback forms during checkout, was that done by design?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for checking-in at Estuary Island Resort and sharing your feedback. We are glad that you found our location beautiful and the arrival by boat a truly memorable experience. We thank you for appreciating the design, landscaping and lighting of the hotel.

Our services aim to offer a perfect stay to travelers; however we are disappointed to learn that you had a less than perfect experience and faced certain inconveniences. We have reviewed each observation of yours and have taken cognizance of key observations which can be immediately improved for a better experience at the hotel.

We have shared your appreciation of the Executive Chef and his team on your dining experience specially the Gala Christmas Dinner.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    142
    53
    36
    29
See reviews for
181
138
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Rooms are of low quality like hostels.No proper.road to reach here. Even Slice of bread has been charged 110rs.
Frequent power cut off.Rooms have door bells. Roomservice people are not available all the time to carry luggage.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your review with us.

At Estuary Island Resort, we strive to perform to the best of our abilities and provide excellent service to our guests but we are disheartened to know that your stay was not upto your expectations, particularly the rooms and the layout of the rooms. As our resort is located on an Island, we provide our guests with a welcome boat ride to our establishment and the departure by road which is maintained by the Panchayath. Our associates are always ready to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope that you visit us again so that we can provide you with a better experience.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our last resort in our tour of Kerala . I wished we had stayed an extra day . Resort location is excellent in front of the Estuary . A resort boat takes you to the beach a few minutes away. Also , got a good boat ride through the closeby forest area which was a pleasant experience. November season was excellent with light rain & cool breeze from the beach. Good food within a wooden restaurant setting. A floating restaurant in the estuary near the resort was also a good exprience. Resort has 2 swimming pools & a very nice entertainment area with indoor games. Rooms are big , neat , good room service & well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying at Estuary Island Resort and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

Our hotel is located in close proximity to the Poovar Beach and is an ideal location for the leisure travelers. We are glad that your stay with us was to your liking and that you were delighted with the facilities and services provided to you at the resort. We are happy that you found our rooms spacious, neat and clean as we strive to provide the best to our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food being served at our restaurant.

We would love to serve you again and thank you for your patronage.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were two couples staying over the change of the year. Got nice cottages in the back of the park. The place has all the prerequisites to become the hotel of choice in that beautiful part of Kerala. A new GM will bring the reception guys to standards in no time (that underperformance costs a star right now!) The chefs did a great job for the New Years banquet and did not fall short in the restaurant at the beachfront. The service personnel was helpful, polite and very friendly. We missed a functioning WLAN in the cottages and lived through the reality that some appliances did not function in the rooms and two beautiful pools were functioning only "tomorrow".
Mr. GM we will check your success!

Room Tip: Ask for a park cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Estuary Island Resort and sharing your experience.

Our resort is located in close proximity to the beach and we are glad that the location could add value to your visit. The cottage allotted to you offers a perfect view of the natural beauty of our resort’s surroundings. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you found our services at par with your expectations. We are happy to know that you had an impressive gastronomic experience and were satisfied with the wide variety our kitchen team had to offer on New Year’s banquet.
However, we have noted your concerns and have shared them with the entire team for which corrective measures will be taken at the earliest.

Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The resort had thebest location and ambience among other resorts in the region. Very similar to grand mauritius (7 star) in overall landscaping and outdoor view. Value for money. However had a poor gym area. Only major thing which differentiates it from 5 stars is service

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Estuary Island Resort and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

Our resort is a located at the beautiful southern tip of coastal Kerala, which provides the guest an unforgettable staying experience in the city. We are glad that the ambience of our resort made your stay pleasant in Kerala. It is good to know that you found the overall outdoor view from our resort mesmerizing. However, we regret that our gymnasium was not up to your expectations and did not meet your fitness needs. We have taken a note of your concern and shall look into the matter.

We look forward to your next visit and for welcoming you with our improved services.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayiladuthurai, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The resort ambiance is good but their service is very poor, particularly front office guys. Their breakfast is very poor in taste. restaurant is too far from the rooms, the accessories in the rooms are not working properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Estuary Island Resort and sharing your review with us.

We are glad that the ambience of our resort could add value to your stay and you like the hotel. At Estuary Island Resort, we strive to perform to the best of our abilities so that we can provide excellence to our guests.

I had met you prior to your check out and had apologized to you for the concern raised by you with regard to your experience at our Front Desk. As informed to you when I had mailed you, the issue was taken up by me with the Front Desk and the sensitivities and etiquettes regarding guest interaction has been revisited with the entire team.

Please be assured that your concern has been addressed to ensure that the same does not occur again.We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming youback once again.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kovilpatti, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Though the price is costly, the Target guest of this particular resort is Foreigners. Considering the amenities, facilities and location, overall it is a Good visit. On Restaurant, you get homely food again it is little bit costly. They provide complimentary breakfast.

Beach, backwaters, swimming pool, Kids play area, indoor & outdoor games, the sunbath, boat services are really enjoyable.

Rooms are can be rated as good.

OVERALL VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobiDevadasan, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience.

We are glad that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. We are happy that you found the services and facilities provided at the resort upto the mark and that the location could add value to your stay. We would like to inform you that if you book in advance, you can avail fantastic offers at our resort which are inexpensive and budget friendly.

We hope to see you at Estuary Island Resort in the near future and look forward to serving you with excellence.

Best Regards,
Sobi Devadasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estuary Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island Resort

Address: Poovar P.O., Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Estuary Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estuary Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.