We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Paradise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estuary Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Estuary Island Resort to your Saves list
Estuary Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poovar P.O., Puvar 695525, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lost Paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What will you say to a property which is located on an Island, surrounded by back waters and overlooking a gorgeous beach and a pristine indian ocean.... but leaves a bitter taste due to service quality.... Yes its a Lost Paradise,

We stayed on our anniversary there and apart from the location and f&b, this resort really lacks basic service standards what we expect from a A grade Island resort and mind you the cost is not that cheap.

We were taken to our cottage room where cleaning was still going on and in a hurry to finish stuff, they forgot to load the refrigerator, there was no in-room dining menu, neither any help phone number mentioned anywhere, we had to wait outside the room and look for attendants.

The service to serve you was also late and forget about cleaning the remaining dishes(despite cleaning the room everyday) the dishes were never pickedup. I had to call my agency and complaint, following which the manager met us and assured best of services.... Well they never came.

Apart from the Restaurant staff and chef who made our day special on the anniversary dinner with some lovely food, the overall service standard is very poor. We had to wait for 1 hour for someone to pick our luggage.

Try some other place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Estuary Island Resort for your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy Anniversary, and thank you for highlighting the areas to strengthen our standard of service. Estuary Island Resort is a boutique resort located on the pristine Poovar Island. We have made it a point to make sure that our guests feel happy and satisfied when they check-out.
We regret the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. However, we assure you that the incident is a rare occurrence, and have a very few precedents. We would like to inform you that based on the review we have initiated a thorough inquiry to best address the concerns highlighted by you. The chef expresses his gratitude for your kind remarks.
Once again, thank you for the review.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    126
    50
    36
    25
See reviews for
162
116
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Amazing locations and is a must visit for everyone who loves water , sun , boats , seafood & nature at its best . The hotel is location is its key feature with a lovely swimming pool , if you would want to give it a miss you could take a dip in the cool river or the sea both of which are easily accessible.

The hotel service is slow and not very professional but they do try to cover up with a smile . So be patient and clearly communicate your requirements . The food is good and the hotel has good facility for sports , boating etc

A complete family destination and is recommended over the resorts in Kovalam .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Gopa K,

We thank you for opting to stay with us on your recent trip. Also, we appreciate this valuable feedback.
The unique and wholesome location of the resort adds significance and makes it a popular choice among the tourists. The property sprawls wide and boasts of spacious rooms and suites that offer magnificent views, multi-cuisine diners where our patrons can satiate their appetite, swimming pool and offers state of the art facilities. The backwaters, beautiful beaches and amazing boat trips, combined together make for an exemplary vacation. Our multi talented staff is ever-ready to serve guests with a smile on their face.
Once again we thank you for the feedback and look forward to serving a memorable stay with even better and swift services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The concept of this resort wins it brownies hands down, overshadowing its flaws. The arrival is via a jetty and a resort boat takes you to the hotel over a 3 km backwater stretch. The beach, again hotel boat takes you there, in front of resort is breathtaking, clean and very private. The service is acceptable at restaurant and food is good. Restaurant is overlooking the backwater/ beach/ sea and provides breathtaking views. There are enough activities for kids. On the flip side, rooms are slightly rundown, gym equipment is broken and swimming pool not clean enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip. The team at Estuary Island Resort is delighted and appreciates your valuable acknowledgement.
Estuary Island Resort is one of the most sought after luxury resorts in Poovar. The unique location of the property adds significance to its reputed stature and value to the experience of our patrons. Apart from being a spacious accommodation option in Kerala, we offer exciting boat trips, scenic views, multi-cuisine diners that offer fresh aromatic delicacies and world-class services to our patrons.

Though we strive to gain perfection at providing best services to our guests, we apologize for the inconvenience faced by you and assure you that they will be addresses at the earliest.

Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your valuable feedback. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you in the future with a memorable stay.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I happened to stay for three nights in week 4 of Dec'12 at Estuary Island resort in Poovar.What a beautiful property -nestled amidst back waters and lagunes in clean blue water -peaceful and relaxing.Unfortunately this is where the highlight ends - the service leaves a lot to be desired for - Inspite of checking in three hours late beyond the scheduled time of 12pm - had to wait for 45 min for our check-in.Housekeeping is just pathetic - basics like toilet rolls etc have to be requested a couple of times before they are delivered.They did not change the linen for three days !!!The mini bar did not see the light of the day again for three days - result warm beer and boiling cold drinks !!! Cafe provides for an excellent view but you will have the stewards running like headless chicken - Order for any thing and you will get it an hour later.Food on the buffet is usually cold - and they could do away with a number of chefs ( Food quality is average).One has to be ferried by a boat to this hotel - You will rely on the same boat to go to the nearest beach or to the parking lot - they just had one boat - long agonizing wait for 1-2 hrs every time you want to step out.Tiles in the swimming pool were also broken .Overall experience was very poor. Unless you are one of the nature lovers who would retire to a hammock with a book on your side and would survive with zero service - YOU MUST STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY !!!!!

Room Tip: Estuary view rooms have an attached balcony - we loved sitting here in the evenings !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Subbu,

We thank you for staying with us on your recent trip and sharing your experience with us.
Estuary Island Resort is counted among the best luxury resorts in Poovar. Situated at a natural wonder, our property nestles a range of facilities. The property boasts of various accommodation options, multi-cuisine diners among other facilities. We strive to provide quick service and the best in amenities to our patrons. Apart from the scenic views, and a fully-loaded gymnasium, the guests can also enjoy the boat trips, which are undoubtedly the most interesting aspect of their stay. The past guest reviews speak volumes about the world-class services offered here.

It’s nice to know that you enjoyed your trip. Though the aim is to achieve excellence at guest service management, we apologize that you had less than a perfect stay with us and were disappointed with our standard of service. We assure you that we will take corrective actions to further raise the bar of hospitality offered at the property.

Once again we thank you for choosing Estuary Island Resort. We look forward to serving you in future with services par excellence.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A nice propert to relax and see the natiral beauty of Kerala, but the this hotel needs a better management, room clealiness not up to the mark! At 9.00 am almost al the foods are finish, and not filling up for the buffet brakefast.Tea & Coffe kettles to be changed and use glass ones oto avoid bad taste.No tissue or plates are avilable!!! Rest room near the resturant is really dirty!!!Front office staff are not experienced, except on man.We booked a 6 seater INNOVA but we got a 4 seater SWIFT. Try to avoid booking taxi from them, almost Rs 900 expensive.

Room Tip: Get beachside rooms at third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Anil,

We thank you for opting to stay with us on your recent trip and for sharing this valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.
Estuary Island Resort is undoubtedly one of the most sought after luxury resorts in Poovar. The uniqueness of our location speaks for itself. The guests can choose their accommodation types as per their choices. Other facilities include multi-cuisine diners which serve fresh aromatic delicacies, fitness centers and the complementary boat trips make the experience wholesome.

We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Also we have taken a note of the concerns raised by you. We assure you that we are taking definite measures to offer excellent services.

We look forward to serving you again on a perfect stay with enhanced services.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just spent 4 days at this resort. While we did manage to have a great chill out, the training of the staff and facilities needs a huge makeover. We had to move rooms because the AC, fridge, safe and phone did not work after several attempts to rectify this. The second restaurant wasn't available - under renovation. The pool has tiles coming off the bottom - under repair. There is a new one under construction. The a la carte service was unbelievably slow and the buffet not always appealing to non-locals.
Being told that attendance and extra payment at the Christmas Eve function was "mandatory" was not welcome. We did not attend and were not charged. There is no map of the resort so it was difficult to find things at first.
Check-out took 45 minutes!
the Spa and room service were good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Estuary Island Resort during your recent visit and sharing your valuable feedback.
The resort is set in a beautiful location and offers an array of accommodation options with various enchanting views. The resort provides a multitude of services and organizes entertaining boat trips to make the experience wholesome for our patrons.
It is nice to know that you enjoyed the spa and In-room services. We regret the inconvenience you faced and have taken a sincere note of concerns raised by you. We assure you of immediate corrective actions to avoid such rare incidents in future.

Once again, we express gratitude for your acknowledgement and we hope to serve you again with the best in hospitality.

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Estuary Island Resort is perfect for a short break. The staff, the suites, the food and the view are all wonderful. The hotel is situated in a very cool and beautiful location besides a small river and sea. The best method to reach the hotel is through a 10 minutes boat ride which is worth trying. If anybody is afraid of using this you can drive also to the hotel.
About our stay we were in total 4 families and stayed in 4 garden view cottages. Actually our decision to stay in this hotel was a quick one. One of the main reason is we tried reaching other hotels in the vicinity also but the response we got from the front office was really appreciable. And out decision was worth. The hotel is well maintained and kept clean and neat.
Food and beverages were exceptional.
The only issue we faced was with the pool. As some of the tiles of the pool was broken encountered a small injury but when this was brought to the attention to the management they promised that it would be rectified. I hope this would have been rectified by now as the tiles are broken in the kid’s pool also.
I would say as your expectations this place is the perfect place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: As this place is located in an isolated area you can go for any room. Each one is worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshNair001, General Manager at Estuary Island Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sanku,

The team at Estuary Island Resort thanks you for writing such wonderful words about the property. It always feels nice to receive positive feedback about our resort.

The very appealing location of our luxury resort makes us a sought after accommodation in Kerala. In close vicinity a river, sea and the lake intersect that make it one of the most beautiful spots to witness. Cleanliness and guest satisfaction are indeed the priority with us, thanks for writing positive words about our staff. Since we greet varied travelers and provide state-of-the-art amenities, our best in hospitality makes the stay of our patron’s truly memorable. It is a pleasure to know that the rooms and food at the restaurant lived up to your expectations. Although it is never our intent to give any unpleasant experience to guests, however we regret the discomfort caused during your stay. We assure you of immediate investigation into the concern raised by you.

We would love to serve you again!

Best Regards,
Rajesh Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estuary Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Island Resort

Address: Poovar P.O., Puvar 695525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estuary Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Estuary Island Resort Kerala/Puvar, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estuary Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.