We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel - but bit disappointed this year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Queen Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Boulevard PO Box 6, Colakli, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Colakli
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab hotel - but bit disappointed this year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We couldn't wait to return to Alba Queen again this year - same 2 weeks in May - after a fabulous holiday in 2013. We found that the hotel was just as spotlessly clean and the food and service of all staff first class. However, a couple of disappointments this year. Firstly the Animation Team, who made very little effort or interaction with the guests. Most of them just paraded around the poolside in the day with just a quick hello and the entertainment was poor during the day and night too. They didn't even come close in comparison to the Animation Team of 2013, who were all extremely hard workers, put on fantastic entertainment and shows, were friendly and fun and made a point of introducing themselves to you and asking your name. They then remembered you after that and made a point of searching you out and speaking to you at every opportunity, everyday. The second disappointment was the air con. This year there was no air con provided from 11pm right through the night, which meant we had to sleep with the patio door open all night as it was stifling and impossible to sleep. This then created the risk of mosquitoes entering the room and, if we had been on the ground floor, it would not have been safe to leave the door open all night. When I tried the centrally controlled air con for the max 2 hours during the day on the lowest setting (19 degrees) it was definitely NOT 19 degrees, as it made little difference to the temperature - the room was still too hot. Goodness knows what it will be like in the peak of the summer months. So come on Alba Queen Management - please look at these points and rectify them, otherwise you will lose valuable returning guests (of which there are many), and this would be a great shame for such a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Poolside facing rooms are quieter than rooms at the back of the hotel or facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    120
    55
    17
    12
See reviews for
299
115
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just back home after a 2 week stay at the alba queen, in all honesty this hotel is immaculate and the food is very hard to have a problem with. What lets this hotel down is its staff,who fail to recognise the Brits as equal to the Germans, they are unfortunately only friendly and attentive to other Europeans, if your expecting a full English breakfast you'll be disappointed as the food caters more towards the German palette. The exception to the rest of the extremely rude staff was Byram from the pool bar who couldn't do enough for us and always did it with a smile, unlike Engin from the main restaurant who after my partner brought it to his attention that he was ignoring us and had not been very nice, he blew her fake kisses, told her he loved her and then completely avoided us for the rest of our stay. If the staff have to be unpleasant they should be unpleasant to all of the guests as this made us feel like second class. Unfortunately unless this changed I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Turkey, therefore our first stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and facilities and food are varied and of good quality. We have returned home disappointed however by the staff who only seem to cater to the German guests and ignored us to the point were on one occasion I asked three different waiters for a glass of wine with lunch and never got it. One waiter in particular named 'Engin' in the main restaurant was beyond ignorant to us even though on many occasions we tried to engage him in conversation. The food and most of the guests are German and we returned home feeling we had just been tolerated by the staff. The hotel shops are three times more expensive than those found outside and prefer euros to their own currency. We brought extra money for tips and in the end the only person we felt deserved a tip was the lady that cleaned the toilets who always said hello with a little smile. Ironic!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

very nice hotel, excellent location for the golden beach with private sunbeds for the hotel.we ate every lunchtime at the fish restaurant overlooking the sea, a lovely, relaxing experience.all the waiters were attentive without being intrusive. The meals in the main restaurant were very good, although more inclined to the German, Dutch pallette. No bacon, sausage or beans but very good omelettes, fried egg etc. There was not much to do at night, one night of live music and a Turkish night. There are two large markets not far from the hotel which were the only things to go to in the evenings. Bus stop right outside the hotel for Side etc.all in all a very nice weeks holiday, could have stayed for a few more days !!

Room Tip: All rooms good but a seaview is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just come back 2 days ago from visiting this great hotel, was very impressed by the level of cleanliness and the kindness of the staff Bayram from the pool bar especially he was just brilliant. Can't credit the staff enough with the way they treated the children outstanding although the only issue was when the weather was bad for 3 days the children had nothing to do except play in the arcade which costs a lot of money. The animation team were good and that's about it they didn't really get you involved as much compared to my last holiday in Cyprus but some of the shows were great especially Turkish night. Really though I think the entertainment could have been better. The food was great but as any place really you would get tired of it after 2 weeks and they had nothing for my fussy son to eat but that's not really their fault. Room was cleaned everyday and very well too, staff constantly around cleaning the pool area and inside the hotel. The Thai a la carte restaurant was lovely would really recommend.What made our holiday though was the people we met and became friends with. Thank you Alba Queen

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

just came back from a 12 day holiday in turkey staying at the alba queen hotel colakli nr side
hotel was absolutely amazing with olympic size swimming pool and a stone throw away from beach
hotel complex and rooms spotless all management and staff very friendly and polite
couldn't of asked for a better place to stay 10/10 going back without a doubt amazing
ps food was out of this world (stunning)

Room Tip: you'll be amazed in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Quick review of the Alba Queen hotel and facilities - lovely hotel, spotlessly clean & a warm welcome when we arrived at midnight.

Went first week in May, which meant the weather wasnt the hottest but we did have 5 out of 7 sunny days. even when cloudy it was warm.

Food excellent, lots of choice; all the chefs and waiters are very friendly and the bar staff are all very good and like to help you in any way. We got upgraded to a superior room which was overlooking the pool and sea view.
A lot of care and attention is made to the cleaniness, and gardens are kept to a high standard. It wasnt a full hotel but busy enough for the time of year. Thai a la carte was lovely one evening but didnt try the fish a la carte resturant.

We went on a jeep safari trip booked through rep, although we did see same trip for cheaper outside the hotel but thats a lesson learned. Was a good day up the Taurus mountains, lunch included, some great sightseeing and friendly driver who spoke some english.
We also went on our own day trip to the town of 'Side', which is a great little historic town with roman ruins and plenty of shops to buy your gifts and lots of bars and resturants. They do stop you every few yds and try and get you in to shop/eat but after a while you know to just to keep on walking and they leave you alone. Theres also boat trips from 'Side'.

Night time in the hotel was spent eating dinner then drinks in the lobby bar, or sitting outside playing cards etc .. not a great deal to do on a night time, but kids are catered for, mini disco etc the bar staff have a laugh with you and the odd 'tip' to them goes down well.

Transfer to hotel from airport is about an hour, not too bad and Antalya airport is decent with lots of shops and food outlets.

There are a few shops and bars just a short walk from hotel, recommend a bar called 'faulty friends' which have nice staff and serve food including english food if thats what you want; there's also cash points there too.

All in all a very nice hotel and would recommend it highly. ( take Turkish Lira or Euro as they like either)

Room Tip: superior rooms are big, airy and most look over the pool and sea views. quiet rooms are at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Queen Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Boulevard PO Box 6, Colakli, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Colakli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#5 Family Hotel in Colakli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Queen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alba Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Queen Colakli
Alba Queen Hotel Colakli
Alba Queen Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.