We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Colakli
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We come again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The leisure activity options at this hotel were great. Near the hotel, excellent restaurants and bars can be found. The service was exceptional.Air condition worked fine and was quiet.The atmosphere and the furnishings in the dining and bar areas were experienced as exceptional. The pool was fantastic and the restaurant was quite clean. Both the quality and taste of the food were satisfactory.The leisure time activities were quite good.
our room at Hotel Alba Royal was definitely big enough.Hotel staff was very competent and had a great ability to communicate in foreign languages
Shopping in Alba Royal;
During our vacation in Alba Royal,we have bought so many things from Lidya Jewellery(it is highly recommended)
Customer Service/Dr.Schmuck Mehmet
Jewellery cleaned and polished free,jewellery repairs and upgrades,Old and unwanted gold taken in part-exchange.
So many thanks to Dr.Schmuck Mehmet for the best Service

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    131
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
373
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The positives: fab location, friendly staff and one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Negatives: air con only on for certain times, biggest negative is Memit the customer relations manager, he is rude, confrontational and has no understanding of customer service and how to put something right when it all gies wrong.

A special mention to the animation team they are great and really made the holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have never been to Turkey before so this was our first visit and our first impression of the Alba Royal was wow! We had a Superior room with acres of space, Mini Bar, Coffee/Tea facilities, bath robes, slippers and very large flat screen TV, all what you would expect from a 5 Star hotel.

We had a partial sea view and a view over the gardens of the caged monkeys and birds of the hotel and also the caged birds and animals for thre Alba Resort next door. This was great until night time the noise started, it was not helped by guests deciding it was great fun in the night to rattle the cages to set the animalds off. After the 3rd or 4th night we got used to it and it was not a major problem by the time we came home.

The Air Conditioning in our room was off and we later found out that the Hotel ration Air Conditioning from 1pm to 3pm, then 5pm to 7pm and then from 9pm to 2am. We asked for 24 hour Air Con and offered to pay for the extra costbut we were told that this Air Con was only switched on at these time centally and the hotel would not change it policy. We spoke to the Thomas Cook rep and we were told that this was an ongoing problem and over the past months guests had compalined regularly and even had meetings with senior alba managers but the hotel would not change its policy. The only way this would be resolved was when senior managers from Thomas Cook get involgved which was not goiung to happen soon.

Finally we were told that Air con would got on 25 hours a day on the 15th June and guess what it it still went off at 2.00am in the morning until 6.00am. So if you enoy sleeping in a Sauna or being a meal for the Mosquito's by having your door open this is the place for you. By the way the sister hotels next door the Alba Resort and Alba Queen
have 24 hour Air Con.

The good points are the staff are great nothing is too much trouble and they all go out of there way to be friendly and helpful. The waiters all have a sense of humour and try very hard to look after you, especially if it is you first time at the hotel.

The food is very good with the main restaurant serving the best food, there is plenty of choice to be had and the food is cooked properly, there were no complaintds from on on this score. The A la carte restaurants were disappointing, in the Turkish restaurant the food was poor with no taste, even our waiter was disappointed saying the meal was over cooked and he was not happy as every table had sent the main course back. The Cuban restaurant was exactly as a Cuban meal should be, not very exciting but a least it was well cooked, you must have the flambe bananas for pud as this is a show in itself.

The Pool, the Beach and outside restaurants were all very clean and with probably the best Entertainment Team we have experienced anywhere on our travels there was always something happenning and we had a great holiday.

Would we go back again?, we would like a shot if the Air Con was available 24/7 but until then no thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

A perfect holiday! The quality of service is a real strength of this hotel. Staff were so very friendly, helpful and polite. Our room, a suite with sea view was amazing. Everything was so clean. The entertainment was brilliant. The show one evening was the Lion King which was fab! The entertainments team worked so hard to make sure our holiday was perfect, especially Ozy the entertainments manager and Hugo. Food was very nice, plentiful and something for everyone. Loved swimming in the pool and clear warm sea. Only one thing which for the first few days we found was that the air con was centrally controlled. After about the third day we found the air con to be on all the time....phew cos the temperature reached 42 on the last two days of our holiday. The hotel manager was always near by to check on his staff and to make sure that everything was running smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Here are the negatives, don 't get excited about the a La Carte, it is more or less the same as the main restaurant but with service. A lot of the crockery is chipped. Take care in the sea as there are rocks about 30 feet out.Even though the hotel is fairly new, it is shabby round the edges e.g damp patches & peeling wall paper.No DVD or CD player in rooms. We had a superior room and the bathroom was very small and not very luxurious, shampoo's not included, body wash a bit basic. Very tacky plastic animals in the grounds. I think there was a small hotel zoo so a lot of noise from animals , warning if you get a room on the left hand side as you look at the hotel from the sea. Also be warned when you get off plane and are directed to the coach, when loading luggage a random coach driver asks for £10 per person for drop at hotel. The Thomas Cook rep on coach was lazy, did not give advice about the liquids in hand luggage at Antalya airport, which was very confusing.
These are the positives, you can press your own orange juice at breakfast,fantastic on the comb honey, air conditioning adequate even though restricted times. the superior rooms are very spacious, large bed but firm with fantastic sea views. The pool was amazing & very clean so was the beach with warm sea and good sun loungers, tables etc very spaced out . Do try the beach bar & poolside bars for lunches rather than self service. A choice of 3 bars in the evenings gives you great variety.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just back from a forthnight at this fabulous hotel.
To start - its adult only - so no screaming kids around the pool. I was a bit worried that it would be a SAGA holiday, but it wasnt like that at all.
The hotel is gorgeous. Rooms spick and span ( it took us a week to work out the AC was time limited and if you opened the patio door it automatically switched off)
The main client group is German, but we were prepared for that. Even with the beach towel antics there were still plenty of beds around the pool and the beach. The beach has a drinks, slush puppie and tea/coffee machine.
Food was incredible with plenty of choice, and if your still peckish between breakfast lunch and dinner then the waiters brought snacks around the pool morning and afternoon.
The animation team suprised us with some really good shows - you must see the Lion King and Mama Mia!
Side is just a short ride on the dolmus which stops at the top of the main road outside the hotel - and pay a visit to Markos next to the Apotheke to book any trips (which were about half the price the tour operator charges).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Reading the other reviews here, I think we may have been unlucky with our experience at the Alba Royal, but it was one of the most horrible, unhelpful, bizarre receptions to any hotel that I have endured.

When we arrived, the first person we met (as the porter didn't think it worth his while to come and collect the suitcases) was a snotty female receptionist who barked orders at us like a sergeant major and made the check in experience seem more like arriving at 'boot camp' than checking in to a five star hotel.

The rooms we were allocated were 'attic rooms' on the top floor of the hotel (we noticed that most of the people being allocated these tiny rooms were females travelling without men, or, as in our case, where the rooms were booked in female names). These rooms are significantly smaller than the standard rooms in the rest of the hotel and have sloping ceilings which are so low that the standard lamp has to sit in the middle of the floor and my father had to stoop. We were obviously unhappy at this, so called down to reception to ask for our rooms to be changed. 'Ms. Sgt Major' just hung up the telephone on us, so we redialled - again she hung up on us. We went to reception and she ignored us for five minutes, only then lifting her head to snap that there was nothing she could do, and refusing to check to see whether any rooms would be available on the following day.

We asked to see the manager, who duly arrived after some time. 'Ms. Sgt Major' had told him that we had shouted at her (we hadn't) and he spent some time berating us for being rude (we hadn't been). When it was obvious to the manager that she had lied to him, she proceeded to throw herself on the floor, kicking her legs and screaming like a banshee - very professional, I must say. She repeated this several time on the short walk back to reception, telling anyone who would listen to her hysterics, what horrible people we are. By this time my demure, 65-year-old mother was so upset that I agreed to speak with the manager at 9am the following morning to see what could be achieved. We went to bed without eating because we were so upset at what had happened.

The following morning the manager did not turn up for our meeting. After waiting for an hour, I asked reception to help, they said I should speak to Mehmet in customer services. Mehmet said I should speak to reception. I then saw the manager hiding outside, but he ran away when I went to speak with him. A different receptionist was then on duty and he finally helped me to change our rooms for larger ones elsewhere in the hotel. This, however, took up the entire first day and a half of our holiday and the whole experience left us feeling drained and upset. We were actually stressed at the thought of crossing reception when 'Ms Sgt Major' was on duty.

The only thing that really saved our holiday was the Animation Team, who were fantastic. They made sure that everyone felt included, even my disabled father, whose speech is not good. They made it easy for people to take part in activities, but didn't push too hard if you weren't interested. The entertainment in the evening was really good, and lots of fun. What a fabulous group of people!

Other Positives: The pool and food were fantastic. The pool bar staff were really friendly. We chose to eat most of our lunches there because they were generally so nice.

Other Negatives: Restaurant staff were rude and unfriendly (except Husseyin, who was a darling). The rooms weren't cleaned well (on some days not at all). The air conditioning was centrally controlled and did not always come on at the advertised times, which made the rooms stuffy at times. Beach towels were not washed during the entire holiday and were really grubby by the end. No turn down service. The Spa people were really pushy, trying to get people to spend large amounts of money on treatments and not taking no for an answer (and even being quite rude about people's bodies and playing on insecurities to try to drum up trade.)

Despite it being obvious that my father has speech difficulties, the hotel staff wanted to speak with him and not with my mother or myself. I know cultural reasons could possibly account for it, but it made my father upset because he couldn't communicate to their satisfaction and displayed worse misogyny than I have encountered throughout many travels in the Middle East.

On check out the porter once again disappeared into thin air and we had to carry suitcases for some distance to get the bus to the airport. This was difficult because of my father's disability.

I am well aware that there are different hotel standards across the world, but there is no way that this should be classed as a 5* hotel - it just doesn't possess the little finishes that one would expect of a hotel of that class.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but I then was robbed at Antalya Airport. A perfect ending to a horrible Turkish experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.