We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very good holiday having not been to Turkey before, we went in a group of couples, we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Rooms were very nice, despite having a window between bedroom and bathroom, free mini bar was great always drinks available as they were stocked up everyday. Food could do with a little more variety at times, food always available whether it be from restaurant, pool bar or beach bar. Waiters were excellent and very friendly. Animation team were good although entertainment could be better at times. Zeropoint nightclub is exactly that POINTLESS - no-one there. We spoke to people who had returned after having been last year and said how disappointed they were with the cut backs on the entertainment both during the day and night. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    138
    40
    8
    8
See reviews for
77
404
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

just come back for 11 nights stay at Alba Royal, weather was amazing beach fantastic hotle clean, food scuptious and plenty of variety, bar staff extra friendly, animation team very poor unlesas you were German and then they were happy to entertain you.. we did complain about this.
we are a couple in our 40's and I would say the average age group at the hotel was 60 and over which did surprise us. We spoke to a fellow guest who had visited in 2008 and she said it was bouncing full of 30-40 year olds. She had brought her friend especially and was so disappointed at how it had changed.
I would not recommend to come here if you want any lively nights as there are none except the Mama Mia night which was good.
I suggest you get a bus outside to Side for your entertainment.
A week would be enough here asafter this we wanted to come home.

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor apparantly these are the ony rooms with the double beds. but beware the sloping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A very good hotel let down by only one thing centrally controled air conditioning on a strict time slots also if you open the veranda doors it went of and had to be restarted manually every time.Apart from this we enjoyed our holiday at this hotel but would have given a higher but for this one complaint.Food excellent,Drinks Ditto.Staff charming ,Spotless in all communal areas and rooms.

Room Tip: Check air con is individually controled not centrally on timer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from our third holiday at the Alba Royal. We went for the first time in May 2011 and then again in May 2012. This was the perfect hotel for us, a beautiful setting with a lovely pool and gardens, excellent food and drinks, good staff and friendly guests, no children, with a good entertainment programme for day and night for those who wanted it. This hotel has many repeat guests both English and German. This year we met up again with many guests (English and German) who had been before at the same time as us. We have enjoyed this holiday, and the staff were as attentative as ever. The food and drinks were excellent as always. Yes we do tip the waiters sometimes but we feel that they deserve it because they go out of their way to provide excellent service. We also left a tip for the maid at the end of our stay. The weather was excellent and once again the hotel and surrounding grounds are cleaned to a high standard. I have written reviews for our previous visits.

This year we felt that the changes they have made have not been for the better. We have discussed these points with Guest Relations and on the last day we saw the Manager and gave him our views. We feel that if they want to keep their repeat guests and their high ratings they will need to address these issues and changes.

RESTAURANTS The main restaurant is open from 12.00 till 1.30 at lunch time. Last year it was open until 2.30 which is much more acceptable. We did not want to go for lunch until 1.00 at the earliest which meant that we could not go there at all. We got around this problem by going to the beach bar or pool bar for our lunch. In the evening the main restaurant closes at 9.00 pm whereas last year it was 9.30. Twice we were asked to leave the a'l carte restaurants at 9.15 becaue they were closing, whereas they were supposed to be open until 10.00.
The hotel states that Men should wear long trousers for dinner, but they do not enforce this dress code. We saw lots of men wearing shorts and tee shirts. Some male guests looked as if they had come directly from the beach, whereas to be fair many had smarter shorts. Would you be able to go to a five star hotel dressed like this in England or Germany?

ENTERTAINMENT For the last two years the entertainment team were excellent with a two week evening entertainment programme. This year we had a one week entertainment programme and only three shows during our stay, and one of these was repeated twice. It is unfortunate that many of the favourite annimation people like Hugo and Oxana have left but they have not replaced them with anyone who comes close to doing the kind of job that they did.

AIR CONDITIONING We had an issue with the air conditioning this year. We do not know if it was the same in previous years because we went earlier in May and it was not too hot so we did not need to have the air conditioning on in our room. It comes on at various times in the day as mentioned in other reviews but when you wake up at 3.00 a.m sweating you cannot put it on! You could open the doors, but then you will get bitten by the mossies!! They told us it would be turned on for longer the weekend after we left but they should surely be influenced by the outside temperatures and not the date!

SUNBEDS This was a big issue this year with people putting towells out as early as 3.15 a.m.. We had to get up early to ensure getting a sun bed, and this is not acceptable on holiday when you are looking forward to a lie in!

We are hoping that Alba Royal will address these issues, because this hotel was perfect for us in previous years, but we would not return if things remain as they are now.

Happy Holidays and thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be hotter with the air conditioning issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd trip to the Alba Royal, again we had a lovely time and it was perfect for a week of doing absolutely nothing except recharging the batteries!!! We really only had 2 main issues which I will address at the end of my review.

The grounds were as beautiful as I remembered and this year we requested a room overlooking the sea and pool which we got, fabulous room with a beautiful view. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The cockerel still does his job in the morning but hey you're on holiday you can always turn over and go back to sleep!! The air conditioning will always be a bone of contention with people but we were happy to sleep with the patio doors open and this was not a problem, even with daytime temps at 35+

This year we distinctly noticed the scaling down of the animation team, which to be honest was not a problem, the average age of guest is 50+ and to be honest they are not there to do aqua gym, archery, football, darts etc...

The food is still as good as ever and the place is spotlessly clean and spacious.

Now to those 2 issues!!!!

Firstly, I'm still amazed at the amount of people who, when dining outside figure it's ok to smoke whilst people around them are still eating I must admit this year I struggled with a sore throat through this, the main culprits are the Germans and I think this is because smoking is a big part of their culture.

Secondly, sunbeds - all I will say is that the Germans do live up to their name!!!! This year was very bad and possibly the worst I've ever seen, beds were being reserved at 4.15am, I mean who gets up at time of day to bags a bed???? To make matters worse, beds were reserved and not used until the afternoon. Think the hotel really needs to address this issue as we spoke to quite a few people who said they would not be returning purely because of this reason.

To summarise: we will go back but probably not for a couple of years and pending future reviews, but don't be swayed by this review, the people, the hotel and the weather are all fabulous. Great place for a week to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Turkey and we booked this holiday a year ago based, as usual, on previous trip advisor reviews. However, it did not live up to our expectations and one point in particular left a sour taste i.e. the culture of the expectation of tipping. We have been all inclusive on and off for 20 years in the caribbean, the canary islands, Malta and main land Spain and never have we encountered an expectation of tipping - the whole idea of all inclusive is that you don't have to mess around with carrying money, so it was a shock to see tip boxes in the restaurant, and even on the reception desk. Furthermore we regularly saw German guests (in the majority) tipping the waiters and this inevitably created an attitude we have experienced in the past where waiters ignore you, or give preferential treatment to guests who tip - of course not all the waiters were like this and there were some who treated everyone equally, but overall we ended up feeling uncomfortable with the situation and it did spoil our enjoyment.

I have to say the actual hotel itself was pleasing on the eye, the interior being spacious and well decorated, and the fittings of a good standard. Outside the pool is magnificent with an even depth of 1.4m and plenty of room to have a serious swim or to mess about. It is not heated but it was refreshing when the weather got hot. The gardens are pleasant and well maintained, but the area around the pool for sunbeds was restricted and consequently the beds were cramped together. Getting a sunbed in a good spot by the pool could be difficult leading to the usual dawn raids so be prepared to compete if you want a good spot. Also, when the wind is blowing on the beach all the pool beds got taken so if you were not on the ball then you were unlucky. The beach area had plenty of beds and again was well maintained - the beach itself was lovely and very gently sloping so a pleasure to bathe in.

The food varied from excellent to awful - a disappointing lack of consistency. We had a good experience in the Turkish and Cuban speciality restaurants but an awful experience in the speciality fish restaurant. When we think back to the Dream Gran Castillo in Playa Blanca Lanzarote - a hotel of equivalent rating - the food just did not compare. The quality of the drinks was good.

The day time activities was limited due to the timings. Each day was the same and in the morning, for example, they had beach volleyball, darts, rifle shooting, boules, aqua aerobics and stretching gym, but you could not do them all if you wanted as they clashed with each other so you could either do volleyball, or boules, or darts and rifle shooting, or stretching and aqua aerobics. Also, there was no announcement for the volleyball or boules, which both take place on the beach, so if you were not clued up you would not know they were taking place. Afternoons was a similar set up with the same activities, except that football was scheduled for 5.00pm every day (jointly with Alba Queen resort like the volley ball and boules) but never once took place in the 10 days we were there. The evening entertainment was OK.

Like the previous reviewer we paid for a room upgrade to a deluxe room and we were equally surprised with the window in the bathroom - very bizarre. The room was spacious and well maintained but the duvet provided for the super king bed was not big enough i.e. it was only a double sized duvet so literally just fitted on the top of the bed with no overhang either side or at the bottom - we had to ask for an additional duvet which was provided after a person from reception came and inspected to understand our complaint. Again, we had an issue with the restriction of the air conditioning, which was centrally operated and was only available from 6-10am, 1-3pm, 7-9pm and, crucially, 10pm to 1am, so in the middle of the night the room got stuffy and unbearable. This meant that for the next 9 nights of our stay we had to sleep with the patio door open which meant we had the odd mosquito visitor and, although we were at the other end of the hotel away from the zoo, the cockerel from 5am constantly crowing. Very disappointing and not what we would expect from a five star hotel, especially when we are used to having control of our own air conditioning in three star hotels.

In summary we will not be choosing Turkey for an all inclusive holiday again due to the culture of tipping and the inconsistency of food quality and service based on this experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Arrived at the alba royal yesterday. All I can say is I am not impressed.

There is a window between the bedroom, and the bathroom that, we have had to hang a sheet over for privacy. The air conditioning is restricted to when you can use it. I have spent an uncomfortable night unable to use it. With the, two of us spending over £2600 on a holiday you would think, a 5 star hotel would include air conditioning. Especially during the night when you are trying to sleep.

I also paid extra for a room upgrade to a superior room that is right by a zoo with animals to wake you up in the morning and loud music at night.

We also arrived to find we had been given a twin room instead of a double.

A few of the staff come across as unfriendly.

Unlike other chains you are unable to use the pool facilities of the hotels in the same chain.

I have only been here 1 day and I will be requesting a transfer to a different hotel. Gutted that I have paid so much for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.