We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasticoooo ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantasticoooo ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Alba Royal and I can honestly say we have never enjoyed a holiday as much. It was just fabulous and we cannot fault the hotel in any way.
On arrival we were greeted with a drink while the reception processed our information and allocated rooms. The bell boy was delighted with a 50p tip for carrying our cases to our room and the room itself, although not the biggest we have seen, was perfectly formed and adequate. (We didn't spend much time in there!)
The pool area was lovely and spotless. It was cleaned at least 3 times every day! There were the usual 'bag a sun bed' shenanigans, which is common in most hotels, but generally there were enough good quality sun beds for all.
The dining areas were large and air conditioned. Food was fantastic and the choice was magnificent. Desserts were a work of art (see picture) and the service was unbelievably good. If you sat in roughly the same area each day, the waiters remembered what you wanted and greeted you with a smile. The a la carte restaurants were astounding - you could have 3 different themes every week - Cuban, Turkish and Fish. Again, the service was immaculate.
All of the bars were excellent and we particularly liked the food and snacks at the Pool bar and the Beach bar. If you learned a few words in Turkish and used them at the various bars, the waiters couldn't do enough for you!
The beach area was superb - drinks machines, plenty of sun beds, shade, volleyball area and water sports about 100 metres away. The sea was very, very warm and we spent many an hour splashing about in the waves with rubber rings etc. One day at 10am it reached 42 degrees!
The entertainment team were just fabulous! They started at 10am and usually finished about midnight. They were energetic, happy and smiley, bouncy, encouraging and chatty. It may be wrong to single out anyone, but Mr. Bean, Zalina and Oxana were so friendly. Oxana is the most happy and smiley person we have ever met and we did enjoy the aquarobics sessions. Zalina was just Zalina! Crazy in a lovely way - she knew how to 'work' an audience. Beany was just so funny ..... All of them had their individual talents and they all came together in the evening performances which were just fantastic. The dancing and choreography was truly professional - I haven't seen any better in the 'West End'. Even I (not a great fan of musicals) was impressed. The beach party was amazing - came away feeling 21 again, but was exhausted.
I cannot stress enough how great ALL the staff were. I left the hotel having made a lot of good friends and with a feeling of WOW! Make no mistake, We'll be back .....

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    132
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
373
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Having just returned home after our best holiday ever we are planning our next holiday at the Alba Royal.
Guests are looked after and entertained by very friendly, caring and professional staff.
Mealtimes are very appetising and varied with a la carte restaurants included.
This hotel does not cater for under 14 year olds.
The cleanliness and upkeep of all areas is pristine.
The hotel's own sandy beach is cleaned regularly and the lifeguards are vigilant in their duties.
Beach towels are provided and can be exchanged every day.
There are ample good quality sun loungers and shades available by the pool and on the beach where there is also water sports to enjoy.
Excellent fitness centre and spa.
The animation team works very hard to entertain the guests with daily activities and are very friendly getting to know guests individually and remembering all the names !
The evening shows in the amphitheatre are amazing including Grease, Mama Mia, Zorro etc plus Hugo's speciality act of walking on glass and a fire display. What a brave man !
There is also some guest participation !!
Also enjoy the beach party. It is all good fun !
This is an amazing group of very talented, professional dancers and entertainers.
Each member has their own expertise and special talent. They will delight you.
They are a great asset to the hotel, always having a smile on their faces and ready for some banter with the guests.
There is free air con and a safe in the room.
Local shops are close by and do accept Euros.
The local Dolmus ( bus ) stops outside the hotel. It is a short trip to Side town where you can take a boat trip from the harbour.
It was good to see the hotel owner enjoying the company of his guests and joining in the conversation with the help of an interpreter.
You can be as active or relaxed as you choose at this hotel but be assured you will enjoy your stay. There are some great people waiting to meet you.They are all our friends now.

Susan and Dennis Kinsella

Room Tip: We had a room at the top .Great view and very comfortable. There is a lift !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Hello, just stopped for 2 weeks at Alba Royal in July. 45 minute transfer from airport. greeted with a refreshing drink and a free room upgrade. (Great start!) not really as they gave us a family room on ground floor overlooking a hedge! Furthermore the room had 4 beds and as a couple we couldnt understand this unless they were expecting us to argue whilst we were there!!

Reception staff are appalling, surly, unhelpful and not completely truthful. With the exception of the reception manager "Muharrem" who was polite very helpful and understood the guests needs where deemed practical.
The reception said cant offer you late check out as you would have to come back on the day of departure. I said this is totally impractical as we need to know whether to pack or not! Luckily hours later we bumped into Muharrem and he said this is no problem, much to the tuts of his staff when we sorted this on the day of departure!!
Way too many tip boxes in the hotel, we tipped the staff who we thought went that extra step to ensure you got good service with a smile. Alot of staff here are either fed up with their job, struggle with the many language barriers here or just plain dopey, we couldnt decide. Abdullah in the bar was nice, charismatic and served with a mile and served plenty of Doritios!
Pool is excellent but very very hot as the breeze doesnt seem as effective round there, the beach is lovely and the sun shines on there from 7am til 8pm which is amazing!
Drinks machine on the beach which is a seriously nice touch and godsend as temperatures reached 48 degrees a couple of days (due to breeze coming off the land) if you get the sea breeze its 37/38 degrees.

Plenty of beds, although round the pool, one morning we was on a trip and at 7am half the beds were "towelled" some on the beach were towelled all day with no-one on them til 5pm!! Which is just ignorantly selfish, but you do have turks, russians and germans here, there seem to be an even mix of nationalities here.

Food is pretty good, plenty of variety, lunchtime snacks cooked to order and tasty and light just what you need, ice creams free all day long at pool bar.
Karem in buffet restaurant makes the most lovely naan bread and did it with a smile too!
Hotel is very clean, rooms are alright, the MATRESSES are terrible, rock hard and the quilts barely fitted the bed!?!?!
Entertainment is adequate, they did shows (Zorro, Mamma Mia) stage is ok, sound and lighting pretty good but they alll mime it so of they are out of sync it makes for uncomfortable viewing!
The other entertainment, live music is very poor, dated and lacked vibrancy. Least you had a couple of bars to go to for chill out and escape!
The nightclub was never open whilst we were there which is disgusting as we viewed this as a positive selling point, reception said it was open saturdays, complete rubbish and a lie. Your disco/club is 100 yards down the road in the Alba Resort pool bar, this is not 5 star quality, after dinner and a couple of cocktails youre expected to walk into a strange hotel and 100 yards down the road when the hotel advertises it to make you stay at their hotel.
Whats mind-numbing the club is on lower floor, soundproofed and airconditioned, yet the pool bar disco in next hotel was loud, down the road in strange hotel and was the source of many groans and complaints from guests fro being too loud and going on til 2:30AM no brainer we feel!!
***Nikolai from animation team is an excellent dancer and is very accomplished***
Get the Turkish Massage outside hotel (cheaper) turn right out of hotel. 3 hours of massage relaxation!!
For the money we paid you could say a 5 star holiday, but the hotel is not a 5 star, a solid 4, but we have stayed at many 5 stars all over and we judge them on the basis the least little groans the better. The staff let it down in service n smile, the reception staff are the worst weve encountered

Ry&Ru

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, preferrably at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, North Yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We just returned from a 10 night stay and I have to say this hotel is fantastic.
There is not a single thing that we could find fault with.
The food is brilliant with an enormous choice all day long including 2 snack bars and even fresh pancakes made to order and ice creams such as magnum and twisters.
The bar staff ate all genuinely lovely and soon get to know the drinks you like.
The animation team are out of this world, they do not hassle you and are always friendly. The shows in the evenings are brilliant and then they even organised water polo matches and football games between this hotel and the alba queen after the shows.
We made great friends with Hugo the master archer! And Miki was always lovely and friendly also brilliant at water polo!! And not forgetting mr bean always the joker!!
We stayed in a superior room with lovely double balcony and sea view well worth the little extra we had to pay.
I as a travel agent will recommend this hotel 100% to anyone it is FANTASTIC can't wait to return.
If anyone has any questions please just ask :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Our visit was supurb and we would gladly recomend Alba Royal. As we never return to a hotel, we will not return to this either.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went to the Royal Alba Hotel for our honeymoon and we weren’t disappointed. The Hotel is amazing, great room, food, service and staff. We stayed in room 1228 which had a double balcony and sea view which was amazing. The aircon was great for us to cool down in the early evening before dinner. The Al carte restaurants were well staffed and you were really looked after. The main dinner restaurant was always of a high standard.

The daytime and evening entertainment was also very good with as much or as little as you wanted to do. We enjoyed Hugo's archery skills and I almost gave him a run for his money. The pool is really nice and never felt overcrowded and also had a bar for snacks drinks and ice cream!

The evening shows put on by the animation team were always of a high standard they were all good at getting people involved. We were at the hotel when they had a beach party involving all the Alba hotels, this was a great event and the fire displays were well put together.

The beach is just a minute walk away with the hotel having its own covered sun beds which were a nice touch, also a cold drink machine and places to wash sand off your feet. There are shops about a 5 minute walk away or larger towns that need either a taxi or bus to get to, both options are quite cheap so bargain hunting was always good.

We would very much like to revisit this hotel and area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We are current at the Alba Royal and what can I say - we just don't want to leave! Already planning on coming back next year (baring in mind we are 2 of the fussiest people on the planet) this is a real complment.

Food is impeccable and the puddings are out of this world! There is plenty of choice for everyone at numerous restaurants through out the day.

There are shops within the hotel which are actually very resonably priced and you can walk to the local shops (there are about 20) easily within 5 minutes max.

Animation team are hilarious and full of energy 24/7 and entertainment puts every hotel wen have ever stayed in to shame!

There are plenty of sun loungers and unbrellas and the pool is so refreshing - not cold either, bonus!

Rooms are nice. They are on the small size but other guests we have spoken to have sai that they do vary so don't be afraid to ask to move as the staff are very helpful.

Our room was facing one of the other hotels in the resort and we did have a rather vocal pelican and cockrel about 10 metres from our room but it was all part of the experience.

The beach and the sea are stunning and there are plenty of water sports available.

We will definitely be booking for next year as soon as we get back - one week is not enough!

The only thing that can be said is that there are NO younger couples (below the age of 30 ish) so make sure you can stand each other for 2 weeks before booking!

We cannot pay this hotel enough compliments about food, staff, cleanliness, atmosphere, entertainment and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#4 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.