We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another truly fantastic holiday at the Alba Royal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alba Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Alba Royal Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Colakli
bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another truly fantastic holiday at the Alba Royal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Thi was our second holiday at the Alba Royal. We have fallen in love with this place. The hotel is kept immaculately clean.
The restuarants are lovely and there is always a wide choice of food. Breakfasts you can have any thing from cereal, fruits yoghurts, bread cheese etc to eggs cooked how you like and fresh pancakes.
There are 3 al a carte restaurants however this time we did not visit them as we were only there a week and found the food in the main restuarant delicious.
In the day you can choose to have lunch in the buffet restaurant, or by the pool or at the beach bar, there is plenty of choice even for the fussiest of eaters.

You will see some reviews on here where people have moaned about the food.
For those people I really do not know what they expect but if they are that fussy I suggest they go self catering andnot to a hotel then they can go to restaurants they choose or cook their own food!

We have booked again for May and Sept of 2012 and cannot wait to go back.

The staff ar so very friendly aand remembered us from our 1st visit.
See Halil in the main restuarant he always says lovely jubbly and he will look after you.

Hugo and Nikolai are really friendly and ther eis a possibility if you go between july and sept this year Mr Bean may be abck there and he is awesome. There are loads of daytime activities however they do not force them on you, just a no thank you is enough and they respect that.
The Spa is also really good and you can pay by card and they charge you in GBP so no worries about charges for exchange rates by your bank - bonus! The Turkish Hammam is a must at the start of your holiday it will prepare your skin for the best tan ever!
Hope this has been helpful and you enjoy the Alba Royal as much as we have and do

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    131
    38
    8
    8
See reviews for
70
373
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Well, we can't agree more with the other reviews about this hotel. We'd never been to Turkey before nor had we been on an all-inclusive holiday - gosh what we've been missing. We had just 7 days but can't wait to go back (and for longer next time)! Everything was like a dream - the hotel, the facilities, the food, even the weather. And if the hotel was not enough just a couple of steps away and we were on the private beach - again faultless with beautiful sand (cleaned every day too) and blue flag sea (and yes even though April/May it was warm enough to go in comfortably). Oh and tea/coffee/soft drinks machine right there and the beach-bar (drink & food) a couple of steps away. We wanted for nothing (except to stay longer!). No children too - bliss!

Room Tip: Go for the room upgrade - breathtaking sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

I will try and be as honest as I can re this review, The Alba Royal is up there with the best hotel my wife and I have been too.

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport before we left as we got a deal on parking, only issue is the distance from hotel to carpark otherwise we felt refreshed when we got to terminal 2 in the morning, issue- not enough information re check in procedure for those who have checked in online. We were half way down the queue when we saw the notice to queue at different desk.. So if you have checked in online you do not have to stand in the massive queue with the 50-60 golfers, no offence golfers.
Also make sure you are not too heavy with cases as they will charge you. We had booked extra legroom, this was great except that our seats were next to the toilets going and coming back so there were always people milling about near us, still worth it just to be able to stretch out.
When we landed we quickly got our bags and made our way to bus and waited, and waited until we found out that another airline had landed and due to mix up with baggage we waited an hour, finally the rep arrived on bus and we got on our way, no reason given by rep, no welcome to Turkey no apology. This was the only negative of the holiday.

Hotel--- Met by reception staff and porters who quickly sat us down, took our passports, gave us a cold drink and cakes, filled in some paperwork then took us to our rooms, showed us how to work the safe and where everything was in the room, excellent service

We had a superior room, massive balcony, kingsize bed, mini bar- 2 beers, 2 cokes, 2 spring water, 2 sparkling water, 2 Sprite , packet of nuts and chocolate bar, refilled every day.
Bathroom- not the biggest but ample, whirlpool bath and shower, soap dispenser on wall in bath, soaps, cloth, scrubber, puma stone all provided, hairdryer on wall although not the most powerful. Ladies take your own shampoo and conditioner as not supplied or you can buy from the wee shop on level -1, not too expensive.

Food-- excellent choice in main Buffet restuarant, both breakfast and dinner served in main and lunch served in Taurus Restuarant on level -2. There are 3 A la Carte , Fish, Cuban and Turkish. We tried them all and the Cuban is by far the best, Turkish next and then fish.
Pool bar serves food from 10am till 6pm although when we arrived it was 5.50pm and hungry and they were closing but still made the effort and made us food as main buffet does not open until 7pm, again excellent service.
Beach bar is open 10am til 6pm and although not on the beach it is 5 minute walk,
Pool bar and Beach bar serve slightly different menus.
There are hot and cold drinks machines on the beach which is a great idea and very handy.

Beach is lovely and clean ans plenty of beds. Water is great and there are watersports if you want to try.

If you are sitting at pool bar you get real glass for your drinks or Large hard plastic if you are away from bar at pool, very sensible.

The wee guy who cleans the pool area is brilliant, he works all day to keep area clean and will go and get you a brolly if you ask him.
All the staff are very friendly

Drinks-- Tuborg Lager, own brand vodka and other spirits, White and red wine are great
You can also get champagne (turkish if you want) free at bar.

Breakfast- plenty of choices, chef will cook you omlette, fried eggs, always scrambled eggs, or healthy option if you prefer.
You will never go hungry in this hotel.

Animation team- Hugo, Kemal Mehmet, Nicoli, Ali and the bossman, What can I say. They keep you entertained from 10am until night time, Darts, shooting, yoga, strechting, dance lessons, cocktail games- frisby and golf.
BEST LAUGH WE HAVE HAD.
Night shows included comedy, Grease, Belly dancing, Hugo and his fire breathing, nail board and broken glass show, AMAZING.
All inside as ampitheatre was closed as still early in season.
Live music 3 nights a week, male and female who were very good and had everyone up dancing.

Excursion- we went to John Denver at Correct Riesson, out of hotel turn left, left at taxi rank and it is the first one on right hand side of road across from Amazon waterpark, he has a big picture of Troy on wall, tell him you want Scottish prices, haha, he is very good.
Get the Hamman, very cheap but brilliant, bus picks you at hotel and you get pampered for nearly 3 hours. You can get extras, like mud pack and medical massage but the basic one is great. IT is much cheaper than hotel.
We also went on the boat trip but it was mad, They take you out to sea then up a fresh water river to an island that is littered with crap, you then have lunch, chicken or fish then further up this manky river to then get a bus to Mananvget market. We stayed on the boat as had enough of buses. The people who went said they had to wait almost an hour for bus to bring them back. It is a long day and bus goes round various hotels dropping people off so its late when you get back.

The Germans-- Yes there are plenty of other nations there, Germans, Dutch, Belgians, Swedes, Russians, Turkish. Most of the people we met were great, good fun and polite, this includes all the above. There are some who are not polite but this happens no matter were you go. The Germans expect a high quality in a hotel so if they are in same hotel as you, then you know it's good.
Sunbeds- if your not fast your last, we brits queue for our food and in shops, we also think that we can just walk down and get the same sunbed everyday, not here. As the hotel got busier second week we had to get down bit earlier to get beds we wanted, its just the way it is.

WIFI-- The hotel has wifi- sometimes, we were on the same floor as reception and could get it certain times of the day on laptop, it just depends. There are Computers you can use in the hotel so not a real issue

Hairdresser- the hairdresser in the hotel is excellent, very reasonable and friendly. He has a female who works with him who does the nails and stuff and a young apprentice.
The turkish shave gents is a must plus get a hair cut. its great. Ladies he is also very good with cut, blow dry etc.

Most of the prices are in Euros, because of the large German contingent. We took Turkish lira and sometimes found it difficult to get change. If you take lira do not get anything bigger than a 20 as when we gave 50 note we were getting change in mixed lira and euros, or take euros or english money as they will not accept any scottish currency.

No scottish football is shown, they will tell you in the bars outside hotel that they will get it for you but after 3 beers they will tell that they can't get game. They have all the English premiership games, German, Dutch, Even lower league english but no SPL. And remember people, Turkey is the fake capitol of the world, everything is fake, they will tell you it's real, much cheapness, but it's fake, some very good fakes I may add. BARTER BARTER BARTER.
Overall--- briliant hotel, fantastic staff and service, great food, had a brillaint holiday and will be going back next year but slightly later in month.

Waiters-- Halil, Beyram, Kerim, Mezut, Cengiz, you are all a credit to the hotel, it was a pleasure, your attention to detail and service was exceptional..

TIPS--- Tip the waiters early on, not right away as that is silly, but you will know who deserves it and the ones I have named above were well deserving.
We tipped the girl who cleaned our room twice, once 1st week and then day before we left, also make sure it the regular maid.

A special thank you to the female Thomas Cook rep in hotel ( sorry forgot your name ) I had ordered flowers for my wife as it was her birthday just before we left. The hotel had not ordered them but the rep came into work early and went and got them herself and delivered them to our room. Excellent service.

It was my birthday when we were there and the A la carte we went to put on a fine show with decorated table, excellent service, birthday cake that my wife had requested, all free of charge, plus the whole restuarant sang happy birthday to me, which was great.

A big thank you the the Alba Family for a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Spent a week from 8 may to 15 may and not a thing to complain about apart from the thunderstorms and that was something nobody could control. First time all inclusive and only booked a week but next time it would definately be two weeks. Mainly german people but everyone was friendly to us. Food was delicious and plenty of choice. Loads to do so did not bother going far apart from the Thomas Cook trip to a show one evening which was worth every penny. Did not like the thomas cook trip to the turkish bath as the young guys were a little too personal ! Preferred the spa in the hotel and had a few massages. Did a good deal too with the manager at the spa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

10th - 17th May. Fantastic hotel. Unfortunately it poured down for the first couple of days! Spent a day in the Spa/ indoor pool which was lovely but we were glad when the sun finally got its proverbial hat on!! The sea is much warmer than the pool and close enough to walk straight back to your hotel sun lounger to dry out, so get yourself down for a dip!
Best points ...no kids!! and the Thomas cook trip to Turkish baths! best money Ive ever spent, ( £25 ish.)
Worst points... air con not switched on because " too early in season" we had no option but to leave our patio door wide open, and at the mercy of the mosquitos! Unfortunately our room was located above a small zoo which is situated in the hotel grounds next door. Monkeys made so much noise! ..however , we did get a little repreive from them at 5am when the Prayer call came over the tannoy!!
Loads of options for eating and drinking at any time of the day. The beach bar is especially nice and very relaxing. Met some lovely people of all ages who made the holiday complete. Although I would deffo go back I would have to leave it untill mid season when the air con is in use!

Room Tip: Avoid sleeping above the ZOO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We enjoyed our holiday in every way. Our room was very spacious with a lovely sea view and balcony. All the staff were friendly and helpful, made us feel very welcome especially Sunny and his team in the spa. The massages and Turkish bath were very good value. We needed a hard earned rest n that is exactly what we received.
The food and service in the restaurant was excellent .
The evenings in the hotel were very entertaining,especially the Bulgarian husband and wife duo, the lady did a very good Tina Turner, and it was different watching the Germans dancing.
The only fault I have is that there is not much to do in Colak i. It is not a fishing harbour like Fethye and we went early season. We did get the dolbus into Side, and we aso walked there on the beach one day. Would definately return but can only go late or early seaon as we don;t like too much heat
dancing

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed with wife and 2 friends from 10-17 may 2011.Georgeous loc on the seafront,clean,with v/good variety of buffet and al la carte food choices.Room ok,hard beds,no air con as centrally operated & told it was too early in season although temp was in the high 20s.Most bar staff expected tips,heard one say to our group thanks for nothing(we had tipped though) all staff spoke to us in german first as mainly a german resort hotel no problem though.There is a dress code in all restaurants but was not enforced at all, complained to the thomas cook rep,would be nice to find out from other travellers if that has improved.One german wore the same sleevess T,shirt for 2 breakfasts and evening meal(he was not alone in not wearing clothes fit for this 5star rated hotel), Iam not a snob but this area could be better. Do Not Book The organised rep trip to Side market and river cruise as Thomas Cook guests we got the oldest and worst looking black metal hulled Gulet ever, everyone of the 40 english travellers were appalled,but were told this boat does the same as all the others,maybe, but it was not as described in the brochure.Complained to the rep who would make enquiries!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.