We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kerme Ottoman Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kerme Ottoman Palace to your Saves list
Kerme Ottoman Palace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Koyuncu Sok. No:32, Akyaka, Turkey (Formerly Ottoman Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Akyaka
West Sussex
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here at the end of October. We wanted a quiet week away from it all - somewhere we could relax around a pool, wander into a local town for food and just get away from it all. The Ottoman Residence was perfect for this! The hotel itself was spotlessly clean - every time we left or came back to our room someone was cleaning something!!!! All the staff were very friendly, the room was spacious - ok the bathroom small but its a bathroom - it was still perfectly usuable!! The decor is lovely and you really feel like you are in an authentic hotel.
Breakfast was very smiliar everyday with a few variants but with a wide choice you could still vary what you had every day and if we're honest how many of us vary our breakfasts at home every single day!!!! The point is - it was all fresh and tasty and there was plenty of it. We had lunch in the hotel a couple of times and again very tasty and fresh with a good selection of meals to choose from. We didn't eat any evening meals in the hotel simply because we like to walk into the local town each evening.
The town itself is very traditional turkish, lots of restaurants and a few bars. We never had a bad meal and found that we would get recommendations from other guests around the pool of a day. The general view seemed to be that the restaurants along the beach where not as good as the ones in the centre of town and everyone agreed that the fish restaurants along the river were very good. Having had a couple of meals in the fish restaurants we certainly agreed.
Every night we would have a two course meal each, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. There was usually bread and olives too and portion sizes were generous so we were always well fed every where we ate.
I note some of the comments on here that are negative and think maybe it may help others considering this hotel to put a opinion to them:
The orange juice at breakfast - agree it was like squash not juice and if you wanted to have proper juice you had to pay. I agree this is odd due to the vast amount of oranges they must have access to - i wouldn't let this stop me returning to the hotel though
The packs of dogs - yes there are a lot of dogs wandering around both night and day. This is a traditional Turkish town - these are predominantly not stray dogs they are owned by the locals and it is the local way to let dogs roam around unlike in the UK where we have them as house pets. Akyaka is a traditional town and this is part of that - if you won't like this then don't go - find a more touristy place to go - perhaps that would be different. The dogs certainly weren't threatening though - just wandering around their domains
The duplex room versus the standard - we had a standard room and as mentioned it was perfectly nice. I guess it depends on what you want but we spend so little time in the room that as long as it is clean, the bed relatively comfy (lets face it you won't get 100% perfection - again this is a traditional town/people/approach) and clean - all of which our room was then we are happy with that. If you look for the height of comfort and sophistication in a hotel room then this is probably not the hotel for you. That doesn't make it a bad hotel - its just not that kind of hotel.
One small downside for me - the rooms all face over the main restaurant so if you wish to sleep in you may struggle due to some noise, from staff setting up for breakfast in the mornings. That said i am a light sleeper when not at home so i suffered from this more than my husband who wasn't bothered at all! Again not a reason not to go just to be aware of.
Overall i think any complaints are due to the traditional style and approach of this hotel which is perhaps not what some people like which is fair enough. Its a good hotel in a lovely location and if you want to relax, get away from it all and experience real Turkey then I would say The Ottoman Residence is a good choice to make.
We would return - although this may not be for some time as we have so many other places on our list!!!! I wouldnt hesitate to recommend though so go and enjoy :o)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kidderminster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I went to this hotel as part of work we stayed for 3 nights , the staff were excellent, the food was lovely and I COULDNT FAULT IT!
I would recommend this hotel to any of my customers and woul dreturn on my own holiday here also.
loved the settings and surrounds of this hotel, if you want to be a bit closer to the beach than this hotel I would recommend the yucelen apartments with anatolian sky as they are excellent situation and beautiful hotel standards also

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was our first visit to Turkey but won't be our last. Akyaka is a lovely village and we had a great holiday there. However the hotel was not as good as we had hoped. The specifics were
1) The room. We had a duplex room which sounded great when we booked it but was badly laid out so the shower room (mould growing on ceiling) and toilet with washbasin rooms were small and located right by the entrance door whilst all that was upstairs was the beds and a wardrobe. This meant a walk down the steep wobbly staircase if you needed at night. The stair was lit by a PIR light (uses a sensor) which could turn off half way down. The beds are very hard - wooden boards with foam mattress and the sheets are rough bobbly cotton. The room was generally very dark so needed lights (which were few and poor) on much of the time.
2) The breakfast - little variety, poor quality ingredients. It was edible but not memorable in any way. It only improved one day when tour reps were visiting perhaps thinkinb of using the hotel next year.
3) This a building designed for the summer. The main atrium roof is open at the edge all way round so in October makes the room cold. As the food and drinks are not the hottest, this means meals and guests get cold quickly. They had to deploy patio heaters indoors for the people dining in the evening
4) Proximity to the village - the walk by the river is pleasant by day (except where the path has been dug up by new building work), but at night you run the gauntlet of the feral dog packs. It isn't the hotel's fault but Akyaka has more than it's fare share of abandoned dogs and cats and at night you can encounter packs of dogs. We were not bitten or threatened but it can be off puuting at night to see half a dozen dogs racing towards you in the dark!
5) General attitude - perhaps it was the end of season thing but the hotel staff were not as friendly as people in the village. We ate out mostly but other guests confirmed plates were whipped away by the staff to the point of annoyance.

So it is an ok hotel, not great and perhaps you could do better nearer the village or renting an apartment .

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a week in Oct 2011. Lovely setting and the resort of Akyaka is beautiful. Staff not professional and need more training. The reception staff excellent, Umet gives out incorrect information. Manager disinterested probably due to the end of British visitors. Breakfasts very poor compared to other hotels in Turkey. No bread selection, poor watered down orange juice, no yogurt drink, fruit poor trying to make maximum profit. Pool freezing. The pool boy was excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Food in restaurant very average and overpriced. Food at restaurants in town far superior. Rooms need updating, wet room needs scrubbing. Niall friendly but not interested in tightening up on the staff. Love the resort and this hotel could be amazing with a lot more care and attention.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in the Ottoman Residence in late July, and it was absolutely boiling. The hotel was lovely, small and boutique, but as we went for a wander into the village, we discovered that the beach was packed and dirty (something we really hadn't been expecting, for a "quiet fishing village").
This hotel is wonderful for relaxing by the pool, (definitely not for those who want to go clubbing at night, but that's already been noted), which is where we spent most of the week. It was so hot, being midsummer, that walking up the hill into the village was actually quite difficult, and it stays hot even when the sun is going down.
The food in the restaurant was decent, we ate at the buffet twice, but you could find cheaper food elsewhere - the fish restaurants by the river were truly amazing. The fish is taken fresh out of the river, fried (whole) and presented to you on a plate with chips/rice, salad etc. head, scales and all. We loved this, it was some of the best fish we'd ever had, but it might not be for everyone. Also, be warned: as the fish restaurants are on the river, be prepared with mozzie repellent! (this is a general rule for the hotel, being quite close to the river itself, the whole village can be a bit mosquito-filled in the evening. If you come prepared, this shouldn't be a huge issue though).
We ended up with the room that had been reviewed as the worst (110) previously on here, and were a little annoyed with the loud banging during the night, the lack of balcony (and the fact that the balcony opened out right onto the entrance pathway), however, for the last 2 nights we got ourselves moved to another on the side overlooking the citrus grove, which had more space and a much better view (and more privacy). Besides, for "the worst room", it wasn't particularly bad.
As for the service, some of the staff were lovely, and very helpful, very friendly, but some were a little over-friendly and over-attentive, which made us a little uncomfortable at times, especially at the reaction to being unmarried women!
Overall though, we had a very relaxing holiday, met some nice people, and had some good food - the fish restaurants along the river are an absolute must.

Room Tip: If it's in high season you wont get much choice, but those on the left side as you come in overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent a week here, having chosen the hotel for its size (40 rooms) and its position, on the banks of a beautiful river, backed by mountains, and within walking distance of the resort of Akyaka. This was my 8th visit to Turkey, and it was good to find that small,personally-run hotels still exist- although it seems you have to seek them out nowadays! The staff were all one expects of the turkish people- friendly, helpful..one of the waiters phoned his mother for her recipe for fig jam when we said how we had enjoyed it at breakfast! Other reviewers have criticised the food at the hotel, but we enjoyed it, and felt it offered a good choice, given the small size of the hotel. All fruit and vegetables come daily from the hotel's own organic garden, and the chefs took great pride in describing the various dishes to us.
I think we were lucky with our room (210), which was a duplex with a loo and good-sized shower on both floors. Apparently most of the duplexes only have a facilities on the ground floor, and be warned that the staircases in the duplex rooms are quite steep with open treads!
We didn't use the pool, which was very cold, and 1.7m deep throughout, but the area around it and down to the river is a great place to while away the hours. The town beach shelves very gently, and the water is crystal clear, as it was at all the beaches we tried in the area.
Akyaka town is fairly uninspiring. We didn't find any restaurants we would recommend in town, but the fish restaurants to the right of the hotel have beautiful settings and delivered good food and service. The town market is well worth a visit, with local produce of all kinds on offer, and lovely people selling it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was the last hotel that we stayed at on a tour of Turkey and we were looking forward to it from the brochure description. The brochure photos have not been updated since it opened and the hotel now needs updating. Our room was adequate but the bed was not comfortable and the pillows lumpy. (We had to ask for new pillowcases on the second pillows in the wardrobe as they were very dusty). The bathroom was little more than a cupboard with a shower that looked old and tarnished (it did work surprisingly), but the tiles needed a good clean. The best thing about the hotel was the staff -friendly, obliging and hardworking. We did ask to upgrade but as there was a wedding party in the hotel was full. After staying in other Turkish hotels on our tour we were used to the lurid orange squash at breakfast, but were not impressed by the breakfast buffet. The food in general was not of a high standard -we only ate there one evening (the Saturday night fish BBQ) which was overcooked and overpriced. Restaurants nearby offered much better food at reasonable prices. We felt that there was serious 'penny-pinching' going on at the hotel -made particularly evident when we had an early start to the airport for our home journey. We were offered a breakfast box -it was a cheese salad roll with no drink or fruit. Would we stay there again? No.

Room Tip: There were only a few rooms on the second floor that seemingly had better facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerme Ottoman Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerme Ottoman Palace

Address: Koyuncu Sok. No:32, Akyaka, Turkey (Formerly Ottoman Residence)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Akyaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Akyaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kerme Ottoman Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kerme Ottoman Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Residence Marmaris
Ottoman Residence Hotel Marmaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerme Ottoman Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.