We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be beautiful...........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Beach Resort to your Saves list
Green Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Buruncuk Mevkii Gundogan, Gundogan 48400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gundogan
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This could be beautiful...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have always travelled on a budget, we always expect to get what we've paid this is a 5 star AI but no ice-creams and sprits aren’t included. This is just missing some traditional customer services and just a few basic gestures would go a long way. Hopefully with a new manager they could turn this hotel around. The hotel is beautiful and clean, lovely setting. The weather is lovely and the food is good, some of it is freshly cooked while you wait, the bread straight from the oven is amazing. You literally stand and watch them cook it and it's straight on to the plate, the same with the fruit. The lift to the beach is good fun and the bar snack seem to be better by the beach for children, they have sausages, chicken nuggets and pancakes. There are some pushing in and even some adults pushing in front of children. The restaurant is quite small for the size of the hotel, and feels a bit cramped. If you manage to get a table in the outside area the views are beautiful. The hotel is quite far from anything and is very quiet, there is a small town a 5 minute bus journey away for 2TL and from there you can get a bus to Bodrum for 5TL. The hotel offer a coach trip to Bodrum for 13E. We did it ourselves and it's much cheaper and easy.

Most of the staff are polite and lovely, they work long hours and for basic money so I am not surprised they are not always the most helpful and enthusiastic people especially when most people don't speak to them nicely or use manners. This is one place it could be slightly better but that's down to management cutting corners/saving money and employing too many young un-experienced staff.
Entertainment staff are fantastic, always busy and make an effort to speak. Jambo-Jambo is very funny.
Sunbeds-I haven’t been anywhere when this is not a problem, I am not sure if this will ever be resolved. If you want a bed the only thing you can do it get up early and get a towel down. It is annoying when people who reserve beds and don’t use them all day.
The pools are clean and lots to choose from, the slides are good fun. The lifeguard by the slides is very sweet and makes an effort to say hello.
This is a mixed review, first impressions count and as ours was unfortunately not great due to the circumstances.
Firstly- On the beach didn't notify us of a flight time change, it was only an hour later but had it been the other way we could of missed our flight. They hadn't told us about the later time or our transfer company, we missed our transfer. Thankfully they put us on another one but had to wait an hour, then he had to do lots of drop-offs, the driver put on a horror film, with my 2 children in the bus and no seat-belts. and the hour transfer we paid for turned into 3 with waiting time. It was nearly 1am and hot, we hadn't had a drink for hours as we thought it would be a hour and we would be at our hotel. There are many cheap on line travel agents and we have used before and they have been fine, I know you get what you pay for but notifying us of something as simple as a flight change is basic.


We got to the hotel and we hadn't been allocated rooms, speaking to someone the following days, in that hotel they don't pre-book your rooms it's luck when you get there as to what you get. We were given 2 rooms as requested. I thought as a joint booking they would be next door but they were at opposite ends of the corridor. 1st room was fine, no balcony (that's not guaranteed) very clean and modern rooms.

2nd room, 1 double bed for 3 of us, I asked about beds and he said, we don't know how many beds are in each room until we go inside, they offered to go and find us another bed. This took over an hour and we really just wanted to sleep after a long journey. When we finally got into bed and tried to shut the door I realized the lock was broken, the man at reception tried his best to fix it and couldn't so said to me 'tomorrow' we had to sleep in a room with the lock not working. If it had been earlier and not a long journey I would of asked to be moved. I asked if we could have a drink as it had been a long process, he wasn't going to but then said 'ok' he returned with 1 bottle of warm water.

2nd night- Myself and 2 children woken at 1;30am by someone banging on our door, demanding in broken English 'open, it's an emergency' I tried to ignore it but they weren't giving up. I opened the door to find 2 hotel workers telling me they have come to take a bed. At first I thought it was some kind of joke as we were a bed short the night before. I said that I was using all the beds and it was early morning and my children were trying to sleep. She barged past and said she was coming in to check. By this time she had managed to scare the children wondering what was going on. With a quick apology she turned and left.

I think a bit of staff training and organising the rooms/check-in and improving the AI with things like ice-cream this hotel could be a popular and busy resort.

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get a room with enough beds- hang on to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    65
    55
    70
See reviews for
117
118
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Firstly, none of the staff seemed rude to me, merely confused and/or incompetent. Like earlier reviewers said, I spoke a couple of words of Turkish (please, thank you, hello etc), and maybe that made a difference. Their English was poor, and the room we eventually got was spacious and well-located but had very intermittent hot water, a toilet that didn't flush (this was rectified immediately), and broken doors and one wardrobe. The food was OK, you merely had to pick the fresher stuff that was made in front of you, this was pretty good.

I didn't encounter any trouble with pro-Russian bias, or rudeness from Russians/Ukrainians/Belarussians - it seems previous reviewers knew nationalities from peoples' appearances better than I - not sure whey they were all categorised as Russians by them. In addition, what one culture sees as rude is not the same as another. Queuing rules are not the same the world over. As others have said the hotel has a wonderful location and should be fantastic.

And finally, the main reason for the "poor" rating is the fact that when we came in at 11.45pm we were ignored for a while, and then given two successive rooms where there were not enough beds to actually sleep. The staff admitted to me they did not know how many beds were in each room until they looked, and did not pre-allocate rooms to pre-booked guests! In the end we paid a modest amount for an upgrade. The biggest issue with the hotel was the lack of communication and information given to the guests as they came in. Our brilliant rep, Aykan, and a friend we made in a local Gundogan restaurant, Sam, both explained they employed a lot of students and that the hotel would soon close down and was being examined by the Turkish tourist board for bad management.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is the worst hotel I have ever seen. The stuff does not speak any language apart from Turkish and the most of employees are extremely impolite and helpless. Nobody smiles or say hello or if they try to say something it is so incorrect and impolite that better they did not say anything. Rooms in the bungalows are very dirty and I shan't be mistken if I say that they are dangerous for health. LIke you are in hell. Rooms in the main buiding are better but it is not easy to relocate since you have been placed in the bumgalow. The food has no taste or tastes very bad, everything is chicken based. The various bread at the breakfast is fresh only every second or third day. Every sunbed at the pool is always occupied with somebody's towel and it is impossible to find a place. The same is at the beach. Wifi in the lobby hardly works and there is no other internet access. I think there is a big management problem with this hotel. I would not recommend to visit this place and definately will never come back. It was a spoiled time and waste of money.

Room Tip: only in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I read reviews on trip advisor about this hotel and thought how bad can it be as the hotel looked stunning. Me and my friend wanted something remote to relax and all inclusive. None of the reception staff spoke English. We got to the hotel late and they only had soup available which was fine as were not expecting anything great at 11pm. When the duty manager heard our accents he was over the moon as the hotel was apparently 95% Russians who he described as very ignorant and rude.
We got a standard room with a stunning view. This was a plus. The next morning we wanted a sunbed by the pool but no beds were available as other guest put their towels on the bed and weren’t seen till late afternoon. We went to the beach and the Russian guest were sleeping on one bed and put all their bags on another. We asked if they can move their stuff and the response was in Russian with a filthy look and they moved their stuff as if we did something terribly wrong. I am a british Indian girl who obviously doesn’t speak the language but this kept happening throughout my stay. I felt it was a racial experience as the guests looked at me in a disgusted way. My friend however was polish and she got a comment from a guest to say why we were friends. The staff mainly catered to the Russian guests and didn’t really take us seriously.
Staff didn’t speak English but most of them were very polite and as i said please and thankyou they were soo happy as other guests seemed to not know what these words meant. Other guests from the UK seemed to have the same experience with the manners. What shocked me most was breakfast, lunch and dinner time. We queued up from for the buffet and anything we wanted ran out in seconds as other guests too portions full of bread, meat, but only quarter was eaten and the rest wasted and binned. i queued up for some warm bread, and other guests started pushing in front of me as if i didn’t exist, towards the end of my stay i had enough and if someone pushed in front of me i would go back and take my place and tell them to get some manners. Even children were doing this too. We met a lovely Couple from Russia who were shocked at the people from their country too.
The last few days of our holiday we noticed less Russian guests and the hotel atmosphere had changed and become pleasant. I made a complaint but i doubt it will go far. The hotel was stunning and i would only recommend this quality.
It definitely was an experience and for the first time i was happy to be home.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the villas, try and get a room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staff have more time for the Russian . they are rude and with no manners . lovely spot but far from everything. Food were terrible .Rooms are sub-standard. service almost to none existence.
The hotel owner and manager should travel to other countries especially Asia to learn about hotel management .
have to leave the hotel and stay some where else in the end.

Room Tip: don't come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to green beach for two weeks and loved the hotel and the views but everything else about the hotel was terrible. When we arrived we was put into a room a lot like a dungeon, we had requested a room with a balcony and a sea view and was given a room underground with no view other than a big brick wall. We then went to see about changing our room and was told we had to wait because they was to busy after standing at the reception for 2 hours he changed our room which wasn't much better to the room was had before. The staff are all rude and none speak English.The food was horrible and the only thing that was half decent was the bread and chips so ended paying to eat out. The only good thing about the hotel was Kurty who sold the boat trip, he spoke very good English and was willing to help you out so if you do go to Green Beach defiantly do the boat trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

rubbish hotel.. no room service for 7 night.. didnt get the room we paid for.. terrible food.. turks hate british citizens they favour their own they say they are established 5star hotel..we felt travelodge is more accomplished.. workers/ managers swearing at us in turkish so we used google translator and gave back good as we got THEY HATED IT LOL all inclusive not worth it better off buying outside food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Beach Resort

Address: Buruncuk Mevkii Gundogan, Gundogan 48400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gundogan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gundogan
#5 Spa Hotel in Gundogan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gundogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Green Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Green Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Beach Hotel Gundogan
Green Beach Gundogan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.