We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wonderful sandy beach and fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butikhan Hotel

Butikhan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Butikhan Hotel to your Saves list
Butikhan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Asagi Mah. Sahil Seridi Emek Sk. No 33, Gundogan 48000, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Gundogan B&B and Inns
El Granada, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place, wonderful sandy beach and fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

During a business trip to Istanbul we stole a few days to escape and this hotel was a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly it is family owned and operated. Breakfast tables are steps away from the beach.
The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are nice. The hotel has across the street a newer high-rise with fantastic views and very modern. If you want something more updated this is the building to stay in.
The food is OK but with a very short walk you can go to the "Tailor Mustafa's beach Café" and have some wonderful Mezze and fresh fish at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: Take the bus into Bodrum not a cab. The bus is very close a short walk to the hotel and cheap. The c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a 3 weeks holiday, really liked Gundogan, it's a beautiful place, however the hotel was very basic and to be honest was expecting a little bit more for the prices charged. Rooms were very dark, especially the bathroom, plus the shower wasn't very clean and we had constant wet floor thoughout our 3 weeks stay. The rooms were only cleaned on request and was carried out to a very average standard. The staff were pleasant but could have been more friendly, the service in the restaurant was at times very slow and the food was ok, but not great. Breakfast lacked variety and there seemed to be a race every morning to find an available table which wasn't very nice, we often had to stand around waiting for other guests to finish their breakfast, or request an extra table to be put out, which again wasn't very nice as it would at times take a long time to sort out. The hotel room's safe was not bolted down, and on one occasion locked us out of it, we spent quite a while waiting for a technician to come out and fix the fault. Then a few days later we got locked out of our room so we had to again wait for the technician to come and sort out the electronic door code, again this took some time... this happned twice. The hotel has 2 swimming pools, however only one functiong one which is a lot smaller than what it appears to be in the photos shown. The other pool is empty with only a very flimsy corden around it as a 'safety barrier' which I personally didnt think was very safe at all, especially at night where there wasnt enough lighting on the surrounding grounds. The hotel has lifts, however these too are out of use which wasnt very practical. The grounds surrounding the hotel leave a lot to be desired, the hotel looks onto the piece of land which is really run down with a lot of rubbish and unkempt buidlings. The hotel's beach was nice, however we had to ask the hotel's waiters to find us available sunloungers every day as this seemed to be the only way to find an available place. This turned out to be a nice little tip earner for the waiters as the best parts of the beach always seemed to be given the highest tip payer... Wasn't happy about that at all. Overall had a pleasant stay, would return to Gundogan, however would prefer to try another hotel, would recommend, however not sure whether you would be really getting what you are paying for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa/Turkey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

BUTIKHAN HOTEL has a very good vıew and pretty small place.If you want to be very very lovely and helpfull stuff have to vısıt butıkhan.Rooms are so clean and enouh bıg.Specıally executıve rooms so new.So close to seasıde.Beatıfull sea.We want to be come there agaın.

Room Tip: executıve rooms so new than the aothers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've spent last week in this hotel with my fiancee. As it is seen it is a boutique hotel with a natural and green environment, so you should not expect more luxury. Gundogan is a peaceful place and this hotel is located in the centre of Gundogan. The cheery staff were really friendly, we felt home. We have also enjoyed the meals which were delicious. Being located in the centre of Gundogan makes the beach and the see priceless. If you are looking for a relaxing and quiet place to rest, this small and comfortable hotel could be great for you:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on July 20, 2012, and found it to be absolutely disgusting where hygiene was concerned. Our bathroom had not been cleaned in forever, and there was green mold growing in several places. We had to use flip-flops when in the shower as it was dirty and smelled really bad. The toilet seat had not been wiped clean, and there were water stains on the floor. The sliding door to the balcony had not been cleaned either, and there were fingerprints on it. We tried to keep stuff in the drawers but there was dirt/crumbs/dust in them. The tv satellite box was also hanging by a wire, and there was trash in the hallways. There was also a sign that said "please notify reception if you want your room cleaned" so clearly rooms were not cleaned on a regular basis. On our way to dinner, we went to the reception to ask if we could get a clean room but there wasn't anyone there, so I would not say it was a 24-hour front desk as advertised. We took pictures of the neglect and showed them to the front desk at check-out. We were offered a 100 Lira partial refund (after paying 130 Euro for the room) but the manager did not come to apologize himself, and we would have been much happier with a complete refund after inhaling mold all night. We notified them that we would be writing a review in the absence of a refund, but they did not seem to care. The area around the hotel also seemed to suffer from neglect and had trash scattered everywhere. The beach was also just a tiny strip of sand. In general, this was more of a dirty, downmarket motel, and was grossly overpriced for what it offered. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butikhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butikhan Hotel

Address: Asagi Mah. Sahil Seridi Emek Sk. No 33, Gundogan 48000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gundogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gundogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Butikhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Butikhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butikhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.