We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Hare Krishna Orchid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Resort Hare Krishna Orchid to your Saves list
Resort Hare Krishna Orchid
Sunrukh Road (behind Prem Temple) | Near NRI Green,vrindavan, Vrindavan 281001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Vrindavan
New Delhi
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great stay average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

stayed here on Holi, the resort is clean and nice and rooms are excellent, big and spacious ... The service is average (May be because it was a peek season) best part is the little swimming pool and the garden around it .... Take a dip and sun bath in the little lawn with a book :) ( If you are a fan of walking ... Prem Mandir is near by and so are other main Mandir )We were more in a Holi party mode and loved the generosity of hotel staff .. They opened the pool and added colours to it. Restaurant offers limited options and food is not that great. Try eating from local joints instead .. Or prefer Ala Carte to restaurant buffet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
42
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I, my wife and kid stayed at Hare Krishna Orchid resort on the night of 8-Apr-2014 during our brief visit to temples at Mathura and Vrindavan. My wife had selected to stay there for its proximity to Prem Mandir, a must- see beautiful modern temple complex in Vrindavan. The resort is a bit far from Mathura railway station and our auto took over 30 min to reach there on 8th morning. Once we reached the place, the friendly reception staff helped us quickly finish check- in formalities. Our luggage was transferred to our room in the ground floor in a sturdy large indoor trolley. The room was amazing for the price we paid, with ample facilities to even cook, something you don't get to even see in hotels. The room was air-conditioned, with all new amenities such as a fridge, coffe maker, LCD TV, plenty of wal sockets to charge all your gadgets, and the like. The toilet was amazing as well with a shower temple, beautiful ceramics and toiletries. They have a good restaurant that serves pure vegetarian food as one might expect, being in a temple town. The food quality was great as well, although being South Indians, we had some acclimatisation issues with North Indian stuff, but there were always sandwiches and toasts when one wanted to avoid drastic food changes. The hotel has a couple of taxis and autos on call for visits to Mathura and Vrindavan temples, something we fully made use of in the time we were there. They have a good swimming pool though we couldn't get to use it for want of time.

All said, I don't know how some other readers have had quite contrasting experiences, but with mine, I have little hesitation in recommending Hare Krishna Orchid for families visiting Mathura and Vrindavan.

Room Tip: Rooms with the pool view on the ground floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this property solely because of the encouraging reviews it had received on tripadvsior, I believe this property was created with lots of care and love but it has not been taken care of since ages and is just left on poor maintenance & unskilled staff.

We stayed at room # 429 and 430, the rooms were pathetic, wall paint as well as wallpaper were torned off, the bathroom fittings were rusted, toiletries were minimal and substandard. Toilet had spiders & webs right beside the WC. The Sofa in drawing room was full of dust. In general everything was in a state it shouldn't have been. (do check the images that I have uploaded along with my review)

The attitude of some of the restaurant's staff was pathetic, I wonder who even inducted them into service industry. On day 1, when I inquired about the buffet charges, I got the response, " I am busy for next 10 mins, so can't help". 10 mins later heard another pool of guests complaining about the staff's attitude & cleanliness in the dining area.

Day 2 was full of even more surprises. The breakfast timing was 7:30 AM, when we went for breakfast at 8:05 AM, I was greeted with the question: " What's the time?, when I mentioned that it was 8:05, I was told, "Ohhk, wait for 10 mins and we will get it for you". Breakfast options were VERY minimal and the food quality was pathetic.

The Swimming pool had a whitewash brush & a cloth lying inside, it appeared that it hadn't been cleaned since a long time.

The only positive was the little children park which my kid enjoyed.

Overall it is the worst property I have ever stayed in and would never ever recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harekrishnaorchid, General Manager at Resort Hare Krishna Orchid, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

We feel extremely sorry for your inconvenient with us.. and i would like to assure that this kind of things will never happen with any of our valuable guest.. i came to know about your inconvenience regarding the room , it was a totally miss communication between maintenance,house keeping and Front office. the room no 429 was actually under maintenance but the information came later from house keeping to Reception but till that time the receptionist hand over the keys to you.and it was another mistake that they decide if guest will complain about the wall paper then we will change to another but you did not ask to change or complain so it happen wrongly. and about restaurant the boys said you about 10 mins , i totally against this word he should say for a min if he is busy or any thing ... but when i came to know about this matter i found that he wanted to be assure first about your Room Plan mean the food is included with your room or not but i again say that time duration was unexpected...in all mean i would like to say sorry for all this because it was our part....

jai shree krishna
Regards
Jay Indolia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Traveled to INDIA in February 2014. On en route to city of Agra visited the Hindu temple & decided to spend one night in vrindvn city. We Chose this hotel as was near to temple just as a walk in customer. The tariffs are a rip off for hideous room and size. Bathrooms very unhygienic. We checked out in 02 hrs & Demanded complete refund but the staff was very rude. We then spent night at another hotel called Kridha which had better rooms. Thankfully had a good sleep at this one with clean & comfortable beds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this place for over a month. Dec 2013 to jan 2014. It's very difficult to find such a beautiful location in Vrindavan. What made the stay memorable is the caring nature of the staff an the cleanness of the rooms. Room service is so quick to come an clean the room. The only issue is the road leading to the venue which is a very bumpy ride. The rooms are spacious with built in kitchen sinks an a desktop. Great for catering for families. Each room has dining table an comfy sofas with great views on ground floor rooms. Over all an memorable stay an I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was a great experience staying here. The staff members are very supportive, The Kitchen team and room service needs to pull up a little bit and try and introduce some variation in food.

We stayed in room number 221 and 223 which was a interconnected room. We celebrated Holi in the pool area. Overall a nice experience. A special mention - Thank you Mr. Raj (at the reception), you are simply outstanding and we are planning to visit again in the month of May or June. Also the GM of this resort - Mr. Jai - a very soft spoken and helping human, A real pool of some very talented staff members.

Good Job Guys - Keep it up.

Room Tip: Go for room number 221 and 223 - if travelling with family. These 2 rooms are interconnected and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Finding good accommodation in Vrindavan is not an easy task, especially just before Holi. I ended up in this hotel which self-proclaims 5 stars but which could be at best considered as a poorly maintained 3 star property looking more like a holiday apartment block on the side of a pot-holed dirt road.

My bathroom had been approximately cleaned, the toilet had not been flushed from the predecessors, and the shower floor was so greasy that it had become slippery. Bed sheets had not been changed and were stained. The A/C remote control had run out of batteries. Breakfast was minimal: no bread, no jam, no juice, just rice, greasy paranthas... but awkwardly excellent sandwiches!

Now if you still wish to stay there, you know what to expect...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Hare Krishna Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hare Krishna Orchid

Address: Sunrukh Road (behind Prem Temple) | Near NRI Green,vrindavan, Vrindavan 281001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Vrindavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Vrindavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are please to inform you that we have an amazing property of 100 rooms (categorized:Standard, Deluxe & executive), named hare Krishna Orchid with other facilities like swimmming pool, Multi Gym,Sauna bath, Steam bath,Kids Park,Marriage Lawn, Open Air Theater and Saloon in Vrindavan near by bypass to Agra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Resort Hare Krishna Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Hare Krishna Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.