We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Lion Inn
Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cray B&B and Inns
Crewe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Called at the White Lion at Cray for tea while staying in Starbotton. Place was very quiet and we were unsure whether to stay for food or just to have a drink. Luckily for us we got talking to a couple outside and asked if they had eaten at the pub. They confirmed they were staying there and the food was lovely. So glad we decided to stay the belly pork stuffed with black pudding was amazing. Definitely one of the best we have ever had. We will definitely be going back when we are next in the area as we were spoilt for choice with the menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    39
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This pub is amazing, what a beautiful spot, great walking. At the end of the day had a refresh in the accomodation upstairs which was 1st class and very comfortable. Then downstairs to the bar for a beer and the great pub food, spent the evening by the log fire with a bottle of wine, brilliant. Already looking to return in November.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderful hosts - nothing too much trouble. Food great, beer great, fire lovely. We stayed for four nights, my parents for three - we could have happily stayed for much longer as the area has some fantastic walks and for once we didn't get drenched whilst walking in the Dales.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This pub is in a beautiful spot, tucked at the end of the valley. Spectacular country for walking, or cycling, as we were. Great, welcoming atmosphere with new owners who are really enthusiastic about their pub and the comforts it offers. A torn tyre on one of our bikes in the middle of nowhere was not the disaster it seemed - Val and Mark helpfully gave us a lift to a cycle shop. We therefore didn't get to try the rooms out, but hopefully will be back, based on this experience!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked for 2 nights and stayed a 3rd on the special Winter Warmer deal. Cozy, warm and very welcoming. Very clean and very comfortable. Tasty and reasonably priced food, with walks a plenty in both directions to work off those extra calories. Dogs are also welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been regular visitors to the White Lion and have stayed more than a dozen times in the last four years. It was sad to see the previous owners move on last August so this was our first opportunity to sample the hospitality of the new owners Val and Mark.
We need not have worried and enjoyed another fantastic stay. We were made very welcome and service was excellent.
It is true to say that the old pub was beginning to look a little tired. What a difference now! In six months the whole place has had a thorough cleaning and redecoration. The chintz has gone from the bedrooms and new colour-coordinated soft furnishings, stylish artwork and general repair and tidying gives everything a more contemporary and stylish appearance.
Meals are still very substantial, good quality and great value for money. The full English breakfast will take some beating.
The White Lion remains our favourite Dales pub. It has been given a new lease of life and Mark and Val are clearly committed to continue with improvements.
Dogs are made very welcome and the resident Akita is the softest and calmest dog we have ever met.
Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at the White Lion on their Winter Warmer deal. This works out at £40 a night for a double room B+B as long as you eat in in the evening too. This was no hardship, the food at the pub is very good and so is the beer, both are also reasonably priced. Mark and Val are welcoming and are working hard to make this a popular destination for Dales walkers, I hope they succeed.

The room and its en suite were both quite small, but they were adequate, they were clean, and the bed was comfy.

From the front door we did two superb walks, the more memorable was a climb of Buckden Pike in the snow, it was a wonderful walk. This is a beautiful part of England and a very suitable B+B to use as a base to explore it from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Inn

Address: Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cray
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Cray
White Lion Inn Cray, Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Lion Inn to your Saves list