We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Lion Inn
Save
You added White Lion Inn to your Saves list
Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cray B&B and Inns
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked for 2 nights and stayed a 3rd on the special Winter Warmer deal. Cozy, warm and very welcoming. Very clean and very comfortable. Tasty and reasonably priced food, with walks a plenty in both directions to work off those extra calories. Dogs are also welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been regular visitors to the White Lion and have stayed more than a dozen times in the last four years. It was sad to see the previous owners move on last August so this was our first opportunity to sample the hospitality of the new owners Val and Mark.
We need not have worried and enjoyed another fantastic stay. We were made very welcome and service was excellent.
It is true to say that the old pub was beginning to look a little tired. What a difference now! In six months the whole place has had a thorough cleaning and redecoration. The chintz has gone from the bedrooms and new colour-coordinated soft furnishings, stylish artwork and general repair and tidying gives everything a more contemporary and stylish appearance.
Meals are still very substantial, good quality and great value for money. The full English breakfast will take some beating.
The White Lion remains our favourite Dales pub. It has been given a new lease of life and Mark and Val are clearly committed to continue with improvements.
Dogs are made very welcome and the resident Akita is the softest and calmest dog we have ever met.
Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at the White Lion on their Winter Warmer deal. This works out at £40 a night for a double room B+B as long as you eat in in the evening too. This was no hardship, the food at the pub is very good and so is the beer, both are also reasonably priced. Mark and Val are welcoming and are working hard to make this a popular destination for Dales walkers, I hope they succeed.

The room and its en suite were both quite small, but they were adequate, they were clean, and the bed was comfy.

From the front door we did two superb walks, the more memorable was a climb of Buckden Pike in the snow, it was a wonderful walk. This is a beautiful part of England and a very suitable B+B to use as a base to explore it from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ive stopped by this place many times as ive walked the Dales, ive even driven there with friends and sampled the delightful menu.. So it was nice to hear that the new proprietors have kept the 'old' chef on.
With real ale and great food, places like this are NOT to be considered 'Out of the way'.

Room Tip: Sorry, i hav'nt stayed overnight, but it is on my 'Things to do' in 2013
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarcroft, Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hospitality with friendly hosts. The bar served a good selection of 'proper' beers. We had good wholesome food with great service. This is a great centre to explore, by foot, on-road or off-road cycling the wonderful country side in this part of North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from our fourth stay at The White Lion, making it our most visited Yorkshire Dales Inn. Mark and Val, the new landlords, were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. They are refreshing the decor without losing the unique atmosphere of the inn. They have solved historic problems with the bedrooms being cold in winter - ours was nice and warm. Our little Jack Russell was also made welcome. Food good as ever, as was the beer. The feature open fire was very welcoming. We are sure to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just spent a lovely few days at the White Lion. Mark and Val are doing a fantastic job at re-vitalising the place. Great company, good food, comfortable and warm rooms. Lovely place to stay with good walking. Look forward to visiting again soon. Best wishes, Karen and Andy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Inn

Address: Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cray
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Cray
White Lion Inn Cray, Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.