We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome in the dales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Lion Inn
Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cray B&B and Inns
newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“warm welcome in the dales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just spent a lovely few days at the White Lion. Mark and Val are doing a fantastic job at re-vitalising the place. Great company, good food, comfortable and warm rooms. Lovely place to stay with good walking. Look forward to visiting again soon. Best wishes, Karen and Andy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    40
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ducklion
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay all I can say is I was delighted by the whole weekend, bar area brill, rooms very clean and warm, food fantastic, breakfast big, Val and Mark are very good hosts and made all of us very very welcome, we will be returning not just to stay but will also be using it as a stop off for when walking in the dales for a quick bite to eat and a nice pint after our walks, you will not be disappointed just go and relax by the way there is WIFI

Cheers both for a fab weekend

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having stayed at the White Lion on a number of occasions we were a little concerned in hearing it hand changed hands. We need not have worried. Mark & Val are doing a stirling job. Rooms are being ungraded and the food is spot on as always. Although it was December with the frost ice & snow, we were given a warm welcome both by our hosts and the pub itself with its central heating and open fire in the bar area. If your looking for a out of the way break this is place for you, traditional dales pub with excellent services.

The Clayton Tribe.

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the ground floor area which are earmarked for those visitors with fourlegge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having enjoyed our visits here before - most recently about five years ago - we were a bit concerned when we heard the inn had changed hands in August. No need to worry, Mark and Val, the new tenants, could not have been more friendly or welcoming and the inn remains unspoiled. They are refurbishing the rooms one by one, not an easy job when guests are around, and plan to freshen up the public areas after that. In the meantime, the big open fire still warms the bar areas, the good central heating plus free-standing heaters keep the rooms cosy. We enjoyed a beautifully comfortable bed in a not over- large room, nicely decorated and properly clean. The en suite was rather cramped but contained the usual loo and basin plus one of the most efficient showers you will find anywhere. Good quality bed linen and towels added to the comfort. The friendly bar area, which also contains the tables for dining, is flagged and includes a rare bull-hook game. Food, really of the pub-grub type, is home-made from locally-sourced ingredients and is tasty and plentiful. Specials during our three-night stay included excellent roast partridge and a delicious rabbit casserole. Breakfast, prepared by Mark, is first class. Despite the lack of a separate dining room or a dedicated drying room (for wet walking gear) this inn is still a little gem and we shall certainly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very warm welcome for wet and weary walkers. Excellent meal. Best night's sleep for a long time. What more could you ask? Room was a little dated but understand the new owners are working on that. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If your not a 'dog person' asked for a room that doesn't accommodate dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A group of us arrived on a walking trip on a very wet day in September . Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming - drying our wet stuff by fire and not worrying about our muddy boots and dishevelled condition. Food in evening and next morning were both excellent and we wish the new owners well - they certainly proved themselves to us.

Room Tip: Great location for walkers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here during a weeks walking in the Dales. We arrived totally drenched. Our wet clothes were taken from us and dried which was very much appreciated. Our room was of a comfortable traditional old Inn type quality. The choice and quality of food was excellent as was the hospitality. Having only recently taken over the Inn our hosts certainly gave us the impression that they are going all out to make this a successful venture. I wish them all the best and would recommend a visit here on your travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Inn

Address: Cray | Upper Wharfdale, Cray BD23 5JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cray
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Cray
White Lion Inn Cray, Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Lion Inn to your Saves list