We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and views ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hotel Monteverde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Save
You added Sunset Hotel Monteverde to your Saves list
Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and views ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Probably the nicest guy in all of Costa Rica runs this hotel. He will go out of his way to do anything for you. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the quiet little town. Walk down, taxi home would be my suggestion. Breakfast is made for you in the morning eggs, fruit, bread, homemade jam and coffee. Pizza place at the bottom of the hill from the hotel is very good. We ate there twice for dinner and you can walk there and back ( 5 min ).

As for the hotel.

Room - Pretty basic with hot water though so that's a plus. Paper thin walls though. Can here your neighbour sawing logs at night.

The property was very stunning though. You can see all the way to the ocean if it's clear. I'm not even one for sunsets or any of that jazz normally. But having a few drinks on the porch and watching the sunset was breathtaking. Never seen anything like it.

Thanks for the awesome stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
46
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The sunset hotel is named properly, you can see the sunset perfectly from the hotel. If you are feeling adventurous you can also walk down from the hotel to a small water tower where you can get an ever better view of the sunset. The hotel is family owned and run. They provided excellent service. The rooms were perfect and bed comfortable. The hotel also has a nature trail that takes about an hour to trek through. I highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Sunset Hotel, a quaint little place. Seven rooms, a small office lobby and home style kitchen attached to a spacious dining hall with a panoramic view reaching out to the Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the hiking trail, the fresh fruit and vegetables growing here and there throughout the acreage, but most of all enjoy the shower in room number seven. It is the best in all of Central America. I think the shower head is on loan from the Costa Rican National Circus and Animal Abatement Society; taken from the elephant quarters. You'll love it.

Your host, Vitelis, rocks. Fluent in English, German and Spanish, he is an accommodating man, willing to go significantly out of his way to please his patrons. He will book discounted activities (Selvatura Park, etc.) for you, easing you from the burden after several hours of traversing over jagged, dusty and rocky dirt roads and listening to your wife complaining of her motion sickness.

55$ per night is a bargain. If you're one who goes to the mountains to watch tv, this one isn't for you.

The two or three kids knocking this place are just that, punk kids. Go, enjoy, Pura Vida!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The sunset hotel has a few things really going for it. One, it's on a beautiful piece of land with a terrific view of the pacific ocean and the sunset. The landscaping is gorgeous all around the hotel with a nice trail to check out for nature lovers. Two, the owner Vitalis is nice and friendly and an excellent host. We had to go out on a tour early in the morning and weren't going to make breakfast time, so the night before, he made us some sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, and some fresh bananas grown on the property and left it in our room.

So why only 3 stars? We arrived before check-in time and our room was not ready, but were allowed to put our bags in the room while we go into town for lunch. When we got back our beds were made with the exact same bed covers from before. The only thing they changed were the sheets and pillow covers. Speaking of sheets, ours had small tears in them, so who knows how old and used they were. The room also just looked rundown. Paint peeling from the walls, the hot water knob on the faucet was missing. The last thing is that it is on a horrible unpaved road. The walk to town isn't bad, about 15 minutes since its all downhill, but you are better off just paying the $3 taxi. The hotel staff will even call them for you and the taxi arrived in less than five minutes after placing the call. The road was so bad, one of the tour buses wouldn't even pick us up, we had to meet them at the top of the road.

Overall its a beautiful hotel that needs to stay on top of the little things, like replacing old torn sheets, and maybe investing more into new bed covers, and some paint. I probably would stay somewhere else if I had to do it again.

Room Tip: Use the taxi to get to/from town. $3 ride. Taxi's are located just in front of church, next to A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The view of the gulf and peninsula is amazing. All rooms have a window facing this. I regret we didn't have time for the 30 minute nature hike on the large property. However we did see a variety of different birds outside the breakfast window (one being a white woodpecker). The owner and his son were both very helpful and had good senses of humor. Robert (son) spent an hour or more on the phone helping us with an overlooked portion of our travels. The breakfast was delicious- two eggs made how you like (farm fresh, the yolks were glowing!) and fruit and bread (we got tortillas to accommodate a gluten intolerance).
The shower was the hottest we encountered in CR. The only "complaint" I would have is the lighting is poor. There could be no bedtime reading, but we were pretty pooped out anyway.
It is a hike up a loose rock hill from town, but it is only a $3 cab if you are not up for it. Sure beats staying in town with all the bustle of souvenir shops. This would be my first choice if I am ever able to return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

simple, neat room. the hot water. a very beautiful place with a huge courtyard garden where you can see a large variety of exotic animals and birds. Very responsive hosts. very helpful.
I sure would like to once again sleep in the hotel and watch the sunset and views of the pacific bay.

Breakfast was very poor. One egg and bread with jam. Usually served in hotels at least two eggs. Our baltic men can not appease hunger with one egg for breakfast.

Room Tip: as almost all rooms have an entrance to a long veranda, which are arranged with tables and chairs, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Vitalis and his son, Robert are excellent hosts at this beautiful hotel. The view is lovely and there is a nature hike on the property. You can see the gulf from your room. There is a lovely common/dining room and the rate includes a delicious breakfast that includes farm fresh eggs cooked to order!
It is located up the hill just outside of the downtown away from the bustle and just a $3 cab ride away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hotel Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Monteverde Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel Monteverde Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hotel Monteverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.