We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bats bats and more about bats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wildwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“bats bats and more about bats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are interested in bats and the various species of bats, then go have a tour with Fabio at the Bat Museum in Monteverde C.R.
He is very knowledgable and taught us things we never knew. The grand finale was when we went into view the live bats in captivity. Fabio even entered the glass enclosed domicile to feed the bats in order for us to see their behaviors. Unfortunately, we arrived just after bat lunch so the feeding was not as lively as we had hope for. A good event that was mostly indoors on a colder day. Fabio was an excellent tour guide. The children on the tour just loved it. A good day for the family

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    91
    16
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trust me, Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Looking for a way to fill an afternoon in Monteverde, we saw the reviews on trip advisor and took a chance. Best decision ever. Tour guide Vino should be given an ecological medal for his passion and purpose. He totally engaged us and made bats totally fascinating. Our two kids ages 15 and 12 said it changed their opinions on bats. We now understand their importance in our ecosystem.Thanks so much Vino for the great experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited the bat jungle at feeding time, 3 pm and it was most informative and educational. The guide was most knowledgable and had excellent English. We were able to take photos of the different species of bats as they were feeding no flash photography of course. The bat cave is behind glass so no concern of bats coming near you. Check when feeding times are , as that is the best time to go. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour for the talk and to see the feeding and the entrance fee is very reasonable . We highly recommend it to families with youngsters as it is most education
.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting! Thanks Fabio for the tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting to spend on hour here and learn about the bats!!!
Fabio is very knowledgeable and we really enjoyed the tour! Not worth without explanation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing bat jungle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bat jungle was one of the highlights of my Costa Rica trip. The first half of the tour, a very well informed guide (with very good English) told us about the different kind of bats there are, where they are found and what they eat (ranging from fruit to animal blood!). Who knew that one bat can eat up to 5000 insects in one night? You can have a look at real skulls, touch replicated heads and find out how many bananas you would need to eat if you ate as much as a bat (335 a day for me!). The second half of the tour you go visit the 80 bats that live in the cave. You want to be there at either 9am, noon or 3pm when the bats are fed and you can see them grab food, eat it and even fight over it! What's also really neat is that you can hear the bats communicate and use echolocation. All in all a very informative experience that left me amazed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.