We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting, bats, bats and bats!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bat Jungle

The Bat Jungle
Frente Restaurante Tramonti en Monteverde, 5655, Costa Rica
506-2645-7701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: # 85 live bats free-flying in our huge enclosure, designed to resemble the cloud forest at night# Guided tour by professional guides takes about 45 minutes# The tour is both informative, educational and entertaining, with a focus on biology and conservation# Cleverly designed interpretive exhibits, like our giant ears, huge bat heads, and bat skeleton.# You will see, at close range, 85 tropical fruit-eating and nectar-feeding bats from the Monteverde area# Our bats fly, eat, socialize, and even give birth before your eyes
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very interesting, bats, bats and bats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came here as a group. The naturalist was really into bats, a little too batty. But that is his thing and I get that. It's kind of strange, but here is a bakery cafe above the bat area, that has great pastries, juice and wine. It is a fun way to end you tour and watch the terrific sunsets.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    85
    15
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific naturalist, lotsa bats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great experience! Learned more than I ever wanted to know about bats in general and those species that inhabit Costa Rica. Well worth a stop if you're in Monteverde.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My daughter loved it!
The talk was VERY interesting.
At first I felt like I'm going to waste my time on the 30-min talk before actually seeing the bats.

At the end we didn't want to leave, kept asking questions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bats are our science fair project now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

With the sun setting at 5:30 everynight, it can be hard to entertain the kids. The Bat Jungle really did the trick. My 8 and 10 year old LOVED it so much they came back to the hotel - quoting enless facts about bats and how important they are to our environment. The topic is now our science fair project. We even built a bathouse to install in the Spring. The Dutch Scientist was so knowledgable and very patient with our excited children. It was well worth the excurion. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I have a whole new respect for Bats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was terrified of Bats before I went to the Bat Jungle. Our tour guide was extremely informative and explained how vital bats are to our ecological system throughout the world.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bat Jungle also viewed

 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bat Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bat Jungle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.