We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins El Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins El Sol
La Lindora, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Monteverde B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at El Sol in October 2012. I am an avid traveler who has stayed all over the world and will say 100% hands down that this is the most magical, relaxing and beautiful place I have ever stayed at. The pictures and words do not do it justice. Costa Rica is an enigmatic country, and EL Sol is as close to heaven upon the clouds as you can get. The rooms, views, food, staff accommodations are remarkable, as it the peace and tranquility one discovers when staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    12
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's peaceful, beautiful, relaxing. Most wonderful setting overlooking the mountains. As mentioned in other reviews, the cabins are lovely, clean and comfortable. The kitchen offers all the basics if you feel like cooking but the food delivered from the neighbors is delicious, no need to cook really. We enjoyed the pool and sauna, the amazing sky at night and the quiet surroundings. You will need a rental car as El Sol is outside Santa Elena. And the streets really are an adventure, try to arrive before it gets dark.
Javier and Elisabeth are very special hosts and made our stay pleasant and relaxing.
Yes there are cheaper options in the town. But when we return we will make sure to stay at El Sol again. It's just one of a kind. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a two week trip to Costa Rica where we finished up with three nights at El Sol.

We were warmly greeted and shown our cabin where the view actually made me forget how to speak. What a cool place. Unlike some of the other reviews below, the weather for us did not cooperate but it didn't matter a bit, the views were cooler and we had the entire Santa Elena Reserve to ourselves.

Night tour with Javier highly recommended! We saw a ton (a sloth, kinkaju and porcupine for mammals) and Javier is super knowledgeable about all things Costa Rica- and most things not about Costa Rica.

Great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are planning to visit Monte Verde or Santa Elena, consider this wonderful place. It gives so much more privacy and pleasure than a standard hotel. This is far beyond your imagination. The cabins are all handmade and SO beautiful, I can hardly describe the creativity and brilliance of this work. Furthermore they give you 100% privacy with an astonishing view over the valley. You have to see for yourself!

On our arrival we were welcomed by the adorable Javier. I just don’t know how else to put it. We were so lucky to meet him. Javier knows about everything of the surroundings, of the plants, the animals, Costa Ricans etc. This charming person who speaks fluently English and Spanish will make your stay even more special than the place does itself. We had such a good time with him. He invited us to his home, which is even more gorgeous than the other cabins and made us feel at home instantly. Together we planned our program for the next few days. The ones with Javier were the best by far. If you like photography, Javier is your man! He takes all the time you need and helps you to get the best photos. He even lent out his tripod when we were on our own. Together with Javier we were incredibly lucky to spot 3 male bellbirds in Curi Cancha, which is rare or even never seen before. Also we spotted a colourful quetzal (it should not be here this time of year?!) and a side striped palm pitviper. This completed a perfect day with a wonderful guide.

In the morning breakfast is brought to your cabin in a lovely basket, the beginning of another beautiful day! We stayed in the smallest cabin, which was just perfect for the two of us. It has a full equipped kitchen and a romantic bathroom. Every now and then a group of white-fronted parrots gathered around the cabin. Hummingbirds are just in front of your veranda, while you relax in one of the rocking chairs.

Besides from the extraordinary pleasant stay we had at Cabins el Sol, our email contact with Elizabeth, Javiers mother, was also very enjoyable. We highly recommend a stay of several days here... this is such a great place!

Just follow the sun :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We lucked upon El Sol and stayed for 3 nights in August. Choosing to stay at El Sol, "outside" of town, away from the active busy little town center of Santa Elana 10 minutes up the road (by car), was just right for our family to come home after a full day of hiking/zip lining/exploring to our sweet, rustic, colorful, and peaceful sanctuary of El Sol. Cooking in the kitchen was a delight and felt like cooking in my own home, swinging in the hammocks and listening to the birds, and sitting by - and in, the pool overlooking the most glorious hills, was just plain good for the soul. For those who want a quiet retreat, wonderful owners - really helpful setting up tours and guides for us, El Sol is a special, special place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Three days at El Sol was definitely not enough. After the warm welcome we received, it just kept getting better and better - even the weather cooperated!! We stayed in a room in the "villa" and were totally impressed with the decor and the attention paid to every detail. Everything is spotlessly clean and the decor is so pleasing to the eye. It is lovely to wake up to the sounds of the birds outside your window and know you have the whole day ahead to just enjoy the sights and the sounds. The pool and sauna were beautiful and we spent the entire first day just enjoying the grounds and the people around us. It is a totally different experience from most places we stayed and we thought it was PERFECT!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at El Sol for two nights of our honeymoon. It was the first "hotel" that I was sad to leave. It is not a hotel at all, but a home away from home. Javier was an excellent host and gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, arranged for massages, and a horseback ride to a private waterfall (complete with a home-cooked meal by our guide) and took us on an amazing night hike with all sorts of beautiful creatures and photo opportunities. We had two meals at the cabin that were prepared by the neighboring farm that were excellent. We cannot say enough positive about this location. The view from the cabin was amazing, and we wish we had planned to stay a third (or more) night. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: The cabin was away from the road, and had a gorgeous view of the mountains. We were able to watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabins El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins El Sol

Address: La Lindora, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Also Known As:
Cabins El Sol Hotel Monteverde
Cabins El Sol Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins El Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabins El Sol to your Saves list