We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make all the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Viandante

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Viandante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Viandante
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“People make all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The hosts make this a most special place to stay. The place was clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast just fine, the view wow!!! Grace knew just the places to tell us to visit. They had prepared a great map that got us around with no trouble. We had a great time and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    43
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
87
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

El Viandente is a wonderfully cozy lodge that my husband & I thoroughly enjoyed during our 2-night stay there. We arrived late after being driven through pouring rain & were kindly welcomed by the owners who suggested we help ourselves to a hot cup of tea or coffee upstairs (there is always coffee & tea brewed in the dining area - which has big windows and beautiful sunset views). The rooms are cozy with pine walls & ceilings and cute wooden beds. You will wake up to the sound of roosters crowing nearby (which you think may be annoying but is actually refreshing & makes you realize how far away and in what a beautiful place you are in!). The town of Monteverde is really beautiful - you can walk around the areas from this hotel and explore which is great for those without a car. There are a number of restaurants nearby to enjoy too.

Also worth raving about are the breakfasts here - tons of delicious food to enjoy each morning! This place had the biggest breakfasts of all the places we stayed at in Costa Rica. They even made it a bit earlier for us one day when we had an early tour. Fresh cooked sausage, local cheese, eggs, toast, cereal & a hot cup of coffee... great way to start off the day!

Overall, we loved this hotel. It had a cozy lodge feel & the owners were wonderful. If we ever return to Costa Rica and Monteverde (which I hope we do!) then we will DEFINITELY be coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Welcome stop after the arduous drive in from Arenal Volcano. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful. Advice on hiking was offered as well as the numerous attractions found in Monteverde. Breakfast was adequate. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and activities as long as you were willing to tackle the short but steep hill into downtown (we walked down and then paid the 900C to taxi back as I was 6 months pregnant). It was a little noisy with the neighborhood dogs and some traffic but nothing that was really an annoyance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

There is a lot to like about this place: breakfast was good, the rooms are clean and the bathroom in excellent condition. Wifi was decent and the TV had a number of channels, including several in English. Centrally located and the people who run it are very nice and helpful. Also some impressive views from which one can see the ocean. The only thing I would knock them for is a bed that wasn't the most comfortable in the world -- rather stiff -- and a lack of adequate drainage in the shower that resulted in water quickly rising around one's ankles. That said, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

After spending 10 days in a luxurious rented house on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, I was worried that this budget option (all the other hotels were overbooked in Monteverde for Christmas) was going to be a downer for the end of our trip. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised : the familily room was large and bright, we had room to "expand" with our suitcases, beach bags and mess. There was TV in English and French, which was handy one night after a hiking day. We slept very well with and without the wind (weather was trrible the 1st night), the room was clean and safe (we left our belongings in a locked suitcase when on the beach we had to lock everything in a special closet before leaving anywhere) and enjoyed the breakfasts. The Italiano-American couple was very nice and helpful in giving us advice on fun things to do. Free high speed internet on 2 computers in the entrance. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed at El Viandante for two nights. The couple that owns the hotel are very pleasant and extremely helpful. They gave us great suggestions for things to do and helped us book two tours and a shuttle van to our next destination as well. The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. The water in the shower wasn't very hot but it didn't bother us. The breakfast is fresh and tasty. This hotel is a quick 10 minute walk to the town below where there were some very good restaurants. A great value for the price, I highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a night at El Viandante last week. The owners (and their young daughter who we met) were lovely and made every effort to be helpful. The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom had several packaged bars of soap and a hair dryer. The decor left something to be desired (e.g., a very cheap lamp that looked like it was purchased with no regard to its appearnce), but that was not a problem. Breakfast was good (cereal, fruit, eggs, toast, coffee, juice) though the milk was starting to turn (I admit I'm especially sensitive to this). Computers, books, and magazines were available for general use.

The biggest problem was that we were there on a cold night (55 degrees F outside) and there was no heat on in our room. We had to sleep in several layers of clothing. There was also no air conditioner, though that of course was not a problem. There was limited warm water. Finally, while trying to be helpful, several pieces of information the owners provided about major nearby attractions were inaccurate (e.g., group tours at Monteverde Cloud Forest are only available at certain very limited hours, but when we showed up there were official guides standing ready to take anyone for the group rate).

So while these were not my favorite accomodations in Costa Rica, we found El Viandante to be suitable and a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Viandante

Address: Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Viandante 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Viandante , 13 new rooms all with private bathroom , hot water(no electric showers), cable tv, wireless , free internet. New breakfast and dining room with amazing view of Nicoya's gulf and the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Viandante Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Viandante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.