We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Viandante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Viandante to your Saves list
Hotel El Viandante
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Nature!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Friendliness and helpfulness were boundless. We had wonderful days here and Renzo and Grace were very responsive to our needs. We would visit this hotel again immediately and this time stay longer! Renzo showed us the interesting corners of Monte Verde and a biologist (entomologist) I must say I was absolutely overwhelmed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello sascha

thank you so much for your great review. Hope to see you again.

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    44
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
90
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel El Viandante 3 weeks ago for 3 nights and absolutely loved it!!!! The room was clean, large and perfect for our 2 teen kids, my wife and myself. The price was great and what was even better was Renzo and Grace. They are so warm, help you with any planning you may possibly need to have a great time and in the process they make delicious breakfasts. Renzo even had taken us on an unbelievable hike. We're coming back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Steve K

thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you for another amazing hike.

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in El Viandante for two nights and loved it.
If you judge a place by the latest and fanciest amenities, then this might not be the place for you.
However, if you're like us and you like friendly, welcoming hosts who are willing and enthusiastic about helping you have a great holiday, then you should stay here.
It is run by Grace and Renzo and their super-cute children and a couple of cute stray cats.
Every morning we were greeted with a delicious and filling breakfast, which we ate whilst enjoying great views of the town and the mountains behind. We also got some great photos of the sunset from here.
Grace and Renzo will give you great advice on what your plans are and will help you make arrangements if you require it. They also know where the good food is in town.
You can walk to town in about 10 minutes or a cheap taxi will do the job in 2 minutes.
Our room had ample space and was comfortable and warm. The bathroom was nice, clean and had plenty of hot water.
We loved our stay and would happily come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Michael

thank you to post a review. Hope to see you again.

renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hotel El Viandante really contributed to the very positive experience we had in Monteverde. After blowing way too much money on a subpar hotel in Arenal, Hotel El Viandante was the complete opposite... we couldn't believe what an incredible deal and value we were getting.

Husband-and-wife team Renzo and Grace were the perfect hosts at their charming hotel, easily engaging in casual conversation with the guests and providing recommendations and directions during our stay. The rooms were spacious and cutely decorated. As a bonus, the complimentary breakfast was also delicious.

If you plan to visit Monteverde, I couldn't recommend a better place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Shrug 4

thnak you for your great review. Hope to see you in the future.
Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Service was the name of the game here. Grace greeted us warmly when we arrived and provided detailed help with the best places to eat and visit during our stay in Monteverde. Renzo helped us on the second day to suggest and then book our next place to stay. The hotel itself overlooks the town and the view at breakfast was spectacular. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

As an aside, we stumbled onto the Bat Jungle as we were leaving the reserve. This is an extremely informative exhibit/tour that I am sure a lot of people bypass. The Bat Jungle was one of those great finds that happen on trips when you least expect it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello Kram53

happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our small house/hotel

Hope to see you again

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Grace and Renzo are warm, well-informed, and helpful hosts. Grace’s recommendations for places to visit and activities to enjoy (e.g., night walk, cloud forest, waterfall, hummingbird gallery, restaurants) were spot-on; she also served some delicious breakfasts that included local cheese and coffee. (Complementary coffee and hot tea are available all day.) Our rooms were large and comfortable, and the dining area provides a great view. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay one more night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello CollectNoMoss

it was a pleasure for us to having you

Hope next time you will stay longer....

Renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I planned an extended family trip for 8 which included teens and grandparents in their 70s. The hospitality of the owners began months in advance when they provided itinerary and transportation advice for our 2 week adventure. Upon arrival at the hotel, we found it to be as charming as anticipated. The rooms were comfortable; the breakfast and view was delightful. Grace and Renzo provided excellent advice and booking assistance on tours and restaurants in the area. My entire family enjoyed their stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elviandante, Owner at Hotel El Viandante, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello pokeygirl

thank you so much for your review.

We had a great time with your family
Hope to see you in the future

renzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Viandante

Address: Frente Hotel Sapo Dorado, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Viandante 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Viandante , 13 new rooms all with private bathroom , hot water(no electric showers), cable tv, wireless , free internet. New breakfast and dining room with amazing view of Nicoya's gulf and the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Viandante Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Viandante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.