We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Valle Campanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Valle Campanas
Save
You added Cabanas Valle Campanas to your Saves list
450 meters west from the cemetery of Santa Elena , Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My partner, best friend and I checked in March 6th 2014 and stayed for a total of three nights and I think we really lucked out and picked the perfect place to stay.

You get an entire "cabana" (a mini house) for an extremely reasonable price, they give maid service, there is a kitchen, hot water etc. The property is amazing as its a sugar cane farm. There is a great look out to watch the sunset. They also grow their own, bananas, plantains, coffee, fruit... etc etc etc so breakfast which is VERY cheap for what you get is amazing. I think it was some of the best food I had on our trip and I still crave the cheese she makes... One option was Pancakes with fruit, homemade syrup, home grown honey, home grown coffee, a platter of fruit, fruit juice, cheese... I almost didn't need to eat lunch and it def. sustained us though our hikes.

The cabanas are very quiet and a good distance from each other to ensure privacy. There is a bus that comes around and picks you up and drives you to various booked tours for free which Raina will arrange for you.

Raina is very nice, welcoming and helpful...never made us feel like we were intruding. Lots of bird watching on the property (Motmot, Tucan, humming birds) .... ask for a tour of the plantation its really great you get to try fresh sugar cane juice and you get to see the pet Agouti!

In short I think its a great place for couples, friends or families. I would def. want to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, depends on the size of your party as to which cabana you will want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
144
128
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Driving into Reina and Leo's property, after the dusty, rocky road to Monteverde was a profound relief!

The farm is meticulously and beautifully landscaped, a serene and quiet retreat. The cabins are simple, but well outfitted, absolutely immaculate and quite comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the shower and bathroom all worked great. I note that some reviewers have had issues with hot water in the past; Leo has changed the system so that there is now hot water all the time. (The sheets are the really nice 100% cotton ones from Costco, the same I have at home!)

The kitchen was equipped for simple meals; a small electric stove, coffeepot with coffee, fridge, sink and microwave. We actually ended up eating dinner at home for two of the nights we were there, as we wanted to stay on the property and enjoy the quiet and the lovely view. We also made coffee for ourselves in the morning before we went up for breakfast, just to enjoy drinking as we watched the quiet morning views.

There's a hammock for the upstairs balcony which we enjoyed using several afternoons, as well as a small table and chairs in front of the cabin.

Aside from the perfect accommodations, Reina, Leo and their two children were an honor to meet. They are running a small farm, along with the cabins, on which they grow bananas, plantains, sugar cane, coffee, onions and other products. Reina gave us a tour of the farm, which included spotting many birds (a delight for my husband, especially, who is an avid birder). They also gave us a demonstration of making sugar cane juice, and samples to drink as we toured the grounds. We were also delighted to purchase some of the coffee grown there; our friends have been grateful for it. Additionally, Reina's breakfasts were wonderful: fresh, farm-sourced food and drink. We loved trying the different juices she offered, and the amazing local fruits! We thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated all of their efforts on our behalf.

While there was complete privacy to the cabins, it was also nice to know that Reina and Leo were there to answer all of our questions and take excellent care of us.

We did not have a car, and were able to get around quite easily. We walked to lunch at a soda recommended by Reina one day, an easy 10 minute walk there and back. To get into town, taxis were $2-3 each way, and were readily available.

We were incredibly sad to leave and mostly wished that we had spent our entire week there! We did about 2 1/2 days of touring the parks, birding and exploring and wished that we had left more time for just hanging out at the cabin and seeing the wonderful birds and breathing the clean, fresh air of this amazing location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staying here really enriched our experience in Monteverde. Reina is an incredibly gracious hostess and a fabulous cook! We really enjoyed our time with her. She was also a tremendous resource for finding activities and planning our time there. Our family of five stayed in the Family Cabin El Mono and there was plenty of room. Very comfortable and clean accommodations! Our kids got to milk their cow, feed their pigs and agoutis, drink sugarcane juice that Reina's husband pressed fresh for us ... such a fabulous experience here! We felt so lucky to have stumbled upon such a great home stay. We LOVED it!!!

Room Tip: The Family Cabin El Mono comfortably sleeps 5 and could fit two more kids, if need be. Beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Cabanas Valle Campanas was by far our favorite place in Costa Rica. We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Locally owned, amazing service, local food, animals, amazing gardens. You'll drink coffee, eat beans and more that are grown right on the property.
Their cabins feel like small homes. Immaculately clean. Hot water. Even a fresh flower welcomed us as we walked in. They all have outside space to lounge, hangout, regroup, eat (including hammocks). You can cook in your cabin, or the owner (Reina) will give you excellent recommendations of places to eat in town. Trails on the property run through their huge gardens/plantations, as well as out to a magnificent overlook for sunset. Reina and her family were amazing hosts. She walked around her gardens with us telling us about the fruits, vegetables and animals they have, as well as anecdotes about Costa Rican life. They are real people wanting to share their little piece of paradise with others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We really loved the Monteverde area and staying here was one of the best things about it. The cabinas are nicely done and extremely clean. The view from the balcony is incredible. The property is gorgeous. There are two trails on it; one of which leads to an incredible sunset view. Reina is a terrific host. The hospitality is amazing, and the recommendations from her and Leo as well as their son were great. We loved the tour guide Danilo and the restaurant El Marquez. The highlight for us visiting a finca, recommended to us by the host family. We rode gentle horses with a farmer to two beautiful and natural thermal mineral water pools overlooking river rapids.
Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our second time at the Cabanas, and we were not let down. Reina and her family and staff are just pros at what they do. The place has gotten even better since our first visit 5 years ago. Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We could have stayed the whole week here.
Breakfast is just awesome. what a great meal for $8.00
We took the tour of the property and everyone in our group of 10 was very impressed.
I just cant say enough about how wonderful our stay was.

Our kids had a great time, playing with Reina's kids and neighbors, We almost had a new daughter.

Reina, We love you and the Cabanas, we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We had two cabins. One El BOBO and a single cabin for my older parents. El BoBo was great for 8 of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and wish it were more. We stayed in the 2 level "standard" cabin. It was nicely decorated, had a functional kitchen set-up, and a beautiful view over the valley to the west. The view was so nice that on our second night we brought a picnic (all local foods bought at "wholefoods" near Stella's, but not THAT Wholefoods) to our upper level balcony and watched the sunset and listened to the birds. Reina, the hostess, should be teaching classes on how to be hostess. She was very accessible and gave us many recommendations on anything we asked about. Her breakfasts were very good. BUT, the real pay-off here is not visible right away. She and her family have a plantation hidden behind the beautiful landscaping and they are growing coffee, many types of plantains and bananas, onions, avacodos and many more things. She has a trapaiche (spelling may be off) where they press their own sugar cane and make sugar and tapa de dolce (ask her t show her molds and how they cook the cane)....she made us a glass of cane juice! And she showed us the sloth with baby in the tree. If you come here, spend a few hours looking around and learning what an organic farm, hidden from view, is like. Not a downside for us, but no room service althought the "honor" fridge in our cabin was stocked. Long walk to town, but plenty of cabs around town and Reina said it was about $3. All I can say is that this was the best of the 3 accomadations we had is CR and when I retrun to MVerde, we will stay here.

Room Tip: 2 level cabin had a nice view and upper deck with hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Valle Campanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Valle Campanas

Address: 450 meters west from the cemetery of Santa Elena , Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valle Campanas is a small owned business. A warm comfortable to stay while visiting Monteverde Costa Rica.We offer private and comfortable cabins that include a fully equipped kitchen making it ideal for families or visitors who wish to stay in Monteverde area for one or several days.In the summer you have an excellent chance to enjoy beautiful sunsets from the cabin’s balcony. In the morning, we offer breakfast served in our home’s kitchen or it can be delivered to the room to enjoy in kitchen of the cabin or in the garden .A personalized service in which we take pride, hoping to make your visit very memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Valle Campanas Hotel Monteverde
Cabanas Valle Campanas Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Valle Campanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.