We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Valle Campanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Valle Campanas
Save
You added Cabanas Valle Campanas to your Saves list
450 meters west from the cemetery of Santa Elena , Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family of six (us and our 4 young adult children), stayed for 3 nights in the El Bobo cabin. The accommodations worked great for us, were clean and very comfortable. Reina and her family are wonderful hosts, and very helpful in arranging transportation, tour guides, and recommending restaurants. We loved Reina's generous breakfasts that included items from their farm such as butter, cheese, cream and sugar, syrup, coffee, jams, and various fruit. A hot main item was included with each breakfast which was always delicious! Touring their farm was delightful where we were given the opportunity to drink sugar cane juice and also milk their cows!
We highly recommend this wonderful place! Accessing Monteverde does require driving on a bumpy unpaved road but the scenery and wonder of this cloud forest region are worth it! We hope to return.

Room Tip: Our cabin was generous in size, had 2 full bathrooms and a kitchen. An outside table and hammock we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
137
113
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Cabanas Valle Campanas for two nights and didn't want to leave. Reina and her family were incredibly welcoming and the property was stunningly quiet, peaceful and verdant. The individual cabins provide a lovely private place to relax, and are set apart from one another, surrounded by trees and grass. Ours had a balcony overlooking a beautiful valley and forest, with a hammock that we set up in the evenings. Reina helped us choose activities during the day, restaurants at night, and gave us a guided tour of the property and gardens, during which we were treated to a refreshing glass of freshly made sugar cane juice. We also helped feed and milk the family's cows, and saw the endangered agouti pacas they keep as pets. These are experiences you simply don't get in the average hotel, not to mention Reina's deservedly famous breakfasts, which no one should ever pass up. These were the best meals we had our entire time in Costa Rica! We would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

So much more than the cabins (which are fine). But, as others have said, Reina goes out of her way to welcome you and make your stay memorable. She brought breakfast to our cabin, invited us to milk the cow, showed us her oversized, endangered rodents that she's trying to breed and ran her sugar can juice-making machine. Fantastic (but tough to find) and worth the bumpy trip to get there.

Room Tip: All the cabins are one-offs but all are self-contained units with their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de Nueva York, Nueva York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family stayed at Valle Campanas for two days. That was the best time in our trip in Costa Rica. Reina and the family are so friendly, and made every effort to make us feel like home. They not only showed us their beauriful farm and garden, but aslo invited us to feed the baby cow, and milk the mommy cow! When we visit Costa Rica next time, we will stay at Valle for longer time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We only stayed one night at Valle Campanas but wish we could have stayed longer. Reina and her husband were very welcoming. The cabin was comfortable, clean and had enough room for our family of 5 (three kids between 9-14). My only gripe would be that the floor of the upper level squeaked very loudly (it would wake someone who was a light sleeper; fortunately we slept soundly). The whole property is very peaceful and Reina showed us all around including their farm and a demonstration of an antique sugar cane press.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cabanas Valle Campanas for 3 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Reina and her family. Reina was so willing to take the time to talk with us and make us feel comfortable. I was a little nervous about zip lining, and she shared her personal experience with each of the companies, helped us choose which one we wanted to try, set up the whole thing, and was excited to talk with us about how it went afterwards. This is just one example of the care, attention to detail, and time that Reina invests in her guests.

The cabin itself was great. We cooked one meal in the little kitchenette and that was fantastic. We spent a good amount of time walking around the beautiful grounds, enjoying the birds, and relaxing on our cabin balcony. Overall - excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staying at Valle Campanas on April 2013 was one of the highlights of our trip. We were a family of 4 with a 2.5 year old and a 4 months old baby. Our son LOVED the animals, he helped milk the cow, hugged the dogs and was excited for the pigs. Reyna and her family were awesome and helped us book all the activities we wanted, and spoiled us with all the richness their farm has to offer including their yummy fresh cheese and milk.
The cabins are equipped with a kitchen and on the second floor there is a nice terrace with a hammock you can relax in. The only thing that might be a downside is it's a bit far from the city center if you don't have a car, so we had to take taxies, but it was worth it as it was so peaceful and quiet. We highly recommend staying at cabanas Valle Camps as, at least for 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Valle Campanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Valle Campanas

Address: 450 meters west from the cemetery of Santa Elena , Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valle Campanas is a small owned business. A warm comfortable to stay while visiting Monteverde Costa Rica.We offer private and comfortable cabins that include a fully equipped kitchen making it ideal for families or visitors who wish to stay in Monteverde area for one or several days.In the summer you have an excellent chance to enjoy beautiful sunsets from the cabin’s balcony. In the morning, we offer breakfast served in our home’s kitchen or it can be delivered to the room to enjoy in kitchen of the cabin or in the garden .A personalized service in which we take pride, hoping to make your visit very memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Valle Campanas Hotel Monteverde
Cabanas Valle Campanas Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Valle Campanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.