We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, clean and nice grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Somers, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, clean and nice grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Nice hotel, very well maintained, and staff very helpful and courteous. Close to the center of town and right across the street from a brand new supermarket.
Rooms where spacious enough for the four of us and a nice view of the garden and pool. A bit noisy one night w/ folks out in the common area later at night. Wouldn't have been a problem except it was an warm night with the window open, but no reflectional on the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    121
    87
    32
    16
See reviews for
90
128
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Being this hotel eco-friendly there are some things that maybe you won't like. No A/C, no fans, no fridge no elevators (my room was on the last floor!!). They have some problems when it comes to managing large groups and individuals. My first morning there, I didn't have a place to sit for breakfast because everything was arranged for a large group. A family of 4 had to have a quick breakfast because they were occupying the groups tables! Rooms was OK and it had an excellent view. Is very close to the small town of Santa Elena.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Room was cramped and DARK. Lighting was extremely poor. We only had one window looking out to a dark hallway which was busy so we had to keep the curtains shut. There doesn't appear to be any heat or air and just two shutter windows. We were in a room directly behind the kitchen and it was noisey. Design is poor to have rooms behind the kitchen/dining area where the band plays nightly. Beds are very uncomfortable with springs poking out. Decor is dated. Included breakfast was limited. On the up side, staff is very friendly, room was clean & pool area and garden is beautiful with nice views.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I have to say, after reading the reviews of this hotel, we were a little scared of what we might find. This hotel in no way deserves a poor rating. While it is not a five star experiance, it was clean and comfortable. The buildings themselves are beautiful, and right on the side of a wonderful hill. We awoke to some incredible views of rainbows in the morning, as if we could reach out and touch them. The food in the restaurant is quite tasty, and not overpriced. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke pretty good english. The rooms were comfortable, but with two children were a bit small. Wasn't really an issue, we were always out and about. The bathrooms were big, and the showers were nice. Room was very clean, as was the entire hotel grounds. It was about a 8-10 minute walk to santa elena, so wonderful location. Absolutely great stay, and would recomend to all...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Everyone in Costa Rica said you have to see Monteverde but we strongly advise again it because of the rough roads!!! Hotel was fine, staff girl was very nice! We didn't get to see the pool. Shower did not drain very well. Not sure of quality of other hotels in area but next time I'd check something else out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Pros: The pool was wonderful and a luxury for this area, beautiful grounds, walking distance to the main street in Santa Elena, restaurant on site, comfortable bed, hot water shower, breakfast included, free wi-fi

Cons: The rooms were very basic and nothing special, had to pay to use the in room safe, the poolside bar is under construction, the top floor room was horrible during high winds, it sounded like the roof was going to get torn off at any moment.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My sister in law and I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is situated right on a main road outside of town across the street from a new grocery store/ retail complex that was mostly empty. It's within quick walking distance from the frog exhibit and close to the serpentarium. As was stated in other reviews, there is no a/c or fan, you can leave the balcony door opened, but you hear street noise and the music in the restaurant (which is open till around 10.) Our room was located across from a glassed in sitting area, but to use the cross ventilation, you had to have the curtain open and there you were for all to see. We didn't have a problem with old furnishings or nasty towels, but the beds were very firm. The room was quite small with no good place to put your suitcase. Breakfast was included with our rate and was cooked to order not a buffet. They were building a deck, but we we're in our room during the day, so construction noise wasn't an issue. There is an outdoor pool and small garden area with some nice sculptures. The front desk was helpful and friendly enough. Monteverde is a gorgeous place, I would recommend staying further out of town in a more natural setting, but if you want convenience it was clean and had some nice touches.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.