We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, charming, excellent location for adventure tours/food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint, charming, excellent location for adventure tours/food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small hotel with quaint features; charming grounds with beautiful view; nice swimming pool and hot tub though we didn't use it; we r a family of 4 (with 2 teens) so a good room was a must - the room was great and beds comfy and clean; internet access excellent; tv in room for when kids need a diversion; Hotel restaurant very good and has live music in the evening; breakfast also excellent. Very close to town which was important to us with a constantly starving teen boy who needs to eat every 5 minutes (also close to supermarket across road). We ate in a local Soda - Maravilla - which was good value also. Also our tours started early nearly every morning so we needed to eat breakfast at 6.30am - the restaurant was open then and friendly enough. I would recommend this Hotel for families since we had no problem.

Room Tip: Individual cabin room close to ground floor had internet and was close to reception, restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    154
    110
    39
    18
See reviews for
121
177
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was there about two years ago. The hotel looks good from outside, but not so great inside. The bedsheets were yellow with stains on them. Had to ask the staff to change them. Also, the rooms smelled of humidity. I guess it wasn't their fault, but still. Not much to do around either. There is a little town nearby (walking distance) where there a few places to eat.
Instead of staying here, look at Tree House Hotel (near Hotel Poco a Poco) which looked nice. It was only $25 per night and the rooms looked similar to this hotel or better. Plus, at the Tree House hotel, they had a nice ambience (looked cool and had good food). Recommendation: Not worth it, stay at the Tree House Hotel instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, we try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make this better next time.
thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August. The room was fairly shabby with holes in the duvets cover and in need of new furniture. The beds were comfy.

The standard of cleanliness wasn't great - had to clean bird poo off the bathroom floor and kill a few bugs when we arrived. Fine if you are in a hostel but not for a hotel that advertises itself on being a boutique hotel.

Rooms were very noisy as there is traffic noise from the road and really thin walls so you can hear anything outside.

The staff were the main positive of this hotel. Really friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear trip advisor user: thank you for your review and your compliments about our service. Also for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, we try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make this better next time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrysburg oh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We selected Poco a Poco as our base in Monteverde - it is a great location and the hotel was quite nice. We had dinner in the restaurant and our meals were quite good as well. The grounds were beautiful and the facilities very nice. Our room was quite nice, and for a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A very good stay with comfortable beds a great pool,
Restaurant was also very good and they had entertainment when we were there. Great service all the way around. I would recommend this hotel. for anyone considering.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here as the first leg of our nine night Costa Rica vacation. They let us check in early as soon as the room was ready which was nice because our flight got into San Jose, CR was very early that morning. The last part of the ride from the airport was quite bumpy as the roads were not paved but the views were stunning. Our driver said it was a free massage.

The Hotel was clean and the staff was quite helpful to us as we had never been there before. There are no elevators but a staff member carried our bags to the 4th floor for us. The grounds are well maintained and the included breakfast buffet was good. Dinner at the restaurant was good as well. We never took advantage of the pool/spa but they looked refreshing and clean.

The location is good and there are restaurants, grocery store, and a pharmacy all withing walking distance. Also withing walking distance is a reptile tour and great coffee shop. We would definitely stay here again. Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved it and the town around it. If you have a chance go to the coffee and taco place on the way to Main Street. The pool is heavenly after spending all day in the cloud forest. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful when I was sick.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.