We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Castro Valley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here as the first leg of our nine night Costa Rica vacation. They let us check in early as soon as the room was ready which was nice because our flight got into San Jose, CR was very early that morning. The last part of the ride from the airport was quite bumpy as the roads were not paved but the views were stunning. Our driver said it was a free massage.

The Hotel was clean and the staff was quite helpful to us as we had never been there before. There are no elevators but a staff member carried our bags to the 4th floor for us. The grounds are well maintained and the included breakfast buffet was good. Dinner at the restaurant was good as well. We never took advantage of the pool/spa but they looked refreshing and clean.

The location is good and there are restaurants, grocery store, and a pharmacy all withing walking distance. Also withing walking distance is a reptile tour and great coffee shop. We would definitely stay here again. Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    133
    98
    38
    16
See reviews for
103
147
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved it and the town around it. If you have a chance go to the coffee and taco place on the way to Main Street. The pool is heavenly after spending all day in the cloud forest. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful when I was sick.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The reviews that I read before our trip were not very favorable, especially the coments on the staff. We had to stay at this hotel as part of our Gate 1 tour. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The wait staff in the restaurant were wonderful, as was the food. The only complaint that I had with the hotel was that there was no air conditioning and the weather is very humid. Also, my view was of the parking lot and was noisy. The internet service was hit or miss and drove my husband crazy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel has a great view, although my room quality is just average as it does not have a window. Its location is convenient as it is close to the downtown of Monteverde. The price is reasonable give that it is in Monteverde. Also the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with window or view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are small but the grounds are beautiful. We had small issue when checking in and staff was awesome with helping us out and correcting issue. The pool area is great and very nice hot tub. A complementary breakfast is included and is in walking distance from town. Hotel staff great with making arrangements for activities while in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read several negative reviews on this site, so I was a little nervous about our stay. We stayed at this hotel because our tour through Gate 1 Travel brought us here. I'm so glad it did! We really enjoyed the hotel. We adored the hot tub and the view. There were several restaurants and shops within a couple minutes walk. We ate at the on-site restaurant and loved it! Great food, and it was much more reasonably priced than we expected. The grounds were beautiful. We inquired about the sauna, and were told it was $25 for 25 minutes, so we passed on that. We ended up not using any spa services, and just enjoying the hot tub. The walls really are thin, but we didn't have any trouble-everyone was quiet after 9 pm. We didn't hear the music from the restaurant except when we were there-it was actually quite good-mellow and melodic. The bed was huge and very comfortable. They even had a computer for guests to borrow, which was good since my tablet charger didn't work. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel Poco a Poco suffered a bit in my review because it followed our stay in Lomas del Volcan in La Fortuna. Poco a Poco (little by little) was a series of buildings that have been built into the side of a hill in Santa Elena. The room did not have a view and the buildings there are not air conditioned which meant we did what the Costa Ricans do: we left the front door open when we were inside. The grounds are beautiful and the pool area and hot tub were a welcome relief after a very long day of adventure on the zip lines, hanging bridges and coffee plantation. The breakfast was good but by far the best part of staying here was the service we received from the hotel staff. My mother had the misfortune of leaving the lid on her oil-based makeup loose and when we arrived at Poco a Poco, there was brown oily stuff all over her clothes. No amount of hand washing made a difference so we asked for help from the hotel maids. They were very helpful and did a fabulous job of saving her clothes. The staff was absolutely wonderful and I'm glad we got to stayed there on our tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.