We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Okay."” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Okay."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in such lovely hotels in Costa Rica. This one was less lovely.
My room was fine.
The restaurant had good food, but buffet breakfasts are never my favorite.
My room's view was of a tin roof.
The pool was not at all shaped for swimming.
Location was fine. Staff was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    123
    88
    33
    16
See reviews for
93
129
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a room for a few days and then had to cancel a month ahead because of illness in the family. We contacted the hotel about a refund and were advised it would not be a problem, but to do it Poco said we would need to decline the charge on the credit card. This was done and the funds were refunded but when the booking date passed they had put the charge back through, and did not respond to my travel agents request for an explanation.
My fault for not following through with the steps necessary to finalize the dispute (I was not home when the cc co. mailed me) but the decision by Poco to run the charges through again was made knowing why the cancellation and what we had been told.

We have since rebooked our trip, but will not donate any further funds to this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

we stayed here for three nights it is a nice location to town the food was good the staff were helpful and friendly. we were doing coast to coast so we were taking the hotels good to bad just going with the flow the room was basic over looking the pool and the fields were there was wild life all the time we stayed in room 34 yes I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel at a reasonable price. Beautiful view. Quiet even though it is in the middle of town. Room was lovely, service friendly and professional. Nice spa. excellent breakfast. Location was perfect near town and lots of restaurants and half way between the two reserves.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Restaurant and Pool Areas were great. The rooms, not so much. It took three flushes to flush the toilet, at least in the afternoon. Our room had no desk, chair, closet or wardrobe to hang clothes. There was a small cabinet with hangers, part of a dresser. It was very short, about two feet high. We were unable to hang a shirt in it without it dragging on the floor. We did get one guest towel for the two of us, two bath towels, and two wash clothes. I will say that the shower was very nice and appeared to be new. The first room we were shown had a missing slat in the outside door. The first night, at the hotel, dogs barked late into the night. We found out that there are three of them on the property next to the hotel. The paint, in the rooms was drab and dark and the furtniture appeared old. The staff appeared somewhat indifferent and during the nights there is only a security guard on the property, should you have a problem. We met some other guests who were so unhappy with this hotel that they considered leaving, when they first arrived, and later cut their stay short by a day, after seeing Monteverde. We later found out that this is a "green hotel" which reuses the toilet water to water their plants. A machine removes the toilet paper from the water and this may account for the flushing problems in the afternoons. We both thought that the restaurant had great food. The short walking distance to town was a plus. The mattress was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good Things: close to downtown
Not so good things: We had no hot water. When we told the front desk at 5:30am, they said maintenance would be in soon and they would take care of it. At 7am, they still had not checked on it. We said they could enter the room, if needed, as we were headed out for the day. When we arrived back at 4:30pm, they said they checked the property hot water heater and it was working fine. I checked the room....no hot water. I finally got the general manager who didn't believe there was no hot water......I brought him to the room and said that I would go to the spa and take a shower if it wasn't hot. He came in the room and ran the water for a good 5 minutes.....came out and agreed there was no hot water. He said he would solve it while we were out to dinner, or we could shower in the spa. Turns out we had to shower in the spa. Biggest frustration was that for ~$250/night, they did not even offer us a free dinner at their restaurant or a bottle of wine or anything. The hospitality was definitely lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We hadn’t planned to stay here – we wanted to try Arco Iris, which was booked, – but my husband, myself, and our 5-year-old son really enjoyed it. The pool was delightful – nice design, covered (from sun and rain), with a small swim-up bar, along with a hot tub. There was a kids playhouse (equipped with a kid-size toilet, btw) that my son adored playing in, the grounds were lovely, the restaurant served yummy food, and we enjoyed our 3rd floor room, where we felt like we were sleeping in a treehouse. It was a little more than we wanted to spend, but we think it has one of the few pools in Monteverde, and the convenience of having an onsite restaurant that was excellent (we opted not to have a car on our visit) was really nice. A little refrigerator in the room would have been nice to have, but, for two days, that wasn’t a problem for us.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms like Number 48 are a farther walk from the lobby with many steps up, but are wonderf...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
Suites, Free Pa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Las Orquideas
Las Orquideas
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 63 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.