We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, eco-hotel in a gorgeous area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Concord, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Quirky, eco-hotel in a gorgeous area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Poco a Poco in Monteverde for 2 nights, as part of a tour. We were greeted as a group with a welcome drink and enthusiasm from the staff. In walking through the paths to get to my room (room 20) and going by the spa and hot tub and bar and pool, it reminded me of wandering through Hansel and Gretel land. Gardens and interesting plantings and circuitous decking and sculptures in the gardens.

My room didn't have a view and most rooms don't, so "expectations being everything," don't expect one. The reddish sunsets up on the deck are stunningly beautiful and colorful, but most people wouldn't see them from their room.

I liked my room. It had everything. The only issue was the bed was way too hard. Beyond that, the room had a 32" flat screen TV, an iron/board, plenty of storage, a FANTASTIC bathroom/shower and the bedding and drapes were this *very cool* micro-fiber fabric in natural colors --- light greens, beiges and browns. Accents of natural wood, on both the doors and ceilings. Floors were tile.

Let's face it ---- this is not a FANCY resort, but it is a very nice *green* resort, with modern conveniences and wi-fi in the rooms (thanks Poco a Poco) in a stunning setting which can take your breath away.

There is a computer in the lobby for those who didn't bring their own tech-apparatus. There is also a breakfast buffet in the morning (not the best we saw in 10 days of wandering Costa Rica) but it sufficed. The fruit on the buffet was abundant, and that's mostly what appealed to me.

One thing that is special about Poco a Poco is "music." They seem to be into music. There is music in the lobby sometimes (equipment set up there) and there is music of some sort in the restaurant each night. The first night we were there, it appeared to be "wailing" (fortunately it was over at 9pm) but the second night was nice soft guitar. Obviously, the owners of PocoaPoco appreciate music and offer opportunities for local people (or maybe visitors) to play. Frankly, coming from a music family ---- I appreciate that gesture from the owners of this hotel and would stay there again, just for that. Maybe the music is not so good some nights, and better other nights ---- but there is LIVE music at their hotel. Wow. Very much appreciated, even though the music might not be to people's tastes. Live musicians need a place to play and Poco a Poco has offered a venue in Santa Elena and the Monteverde area. Keep this in mind (and bring earplugs) if live music keeps you from sleeping. They don't play too late though.

The hotel is near town and you can walk downtown easily, for restaurants and souvenir shopping, if you don't mind a steep incline. There is a huge grocery store about a block away (no fridge in the units though) and down the steep hill are a collection of local restaurants. We ate at the Tree House, which has a varied menu.

My benchmark of anywhere is --- would I return? I would definitely stay at this place again. Staff was friendly (slow, but with smiles) and there is a happy hour from 4 to 6pm. It's a very comfortable place -- centrally located to town and plenty of amenities, while being "green".

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    139
    100
    38
    17
See reviews for
108
154
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is just ok. This hotel is so basic and offered nothing above average. The staff had no knowledge of the area. They did not recommend or suggest anything and you had to really prompt them to respond to you. The wait staff were poor at best. We ordered a bottle of wine from our waiter but he left and never told the other waiter..we sat for sometime before anyone could figure out that we needed to finish our order and get our wine. Yet the wait staff spent a lot of time setting up and waiting on a bunch of high school students who were there on a class trip. Our room was right outside of the laundry room but again the high school students who could care less were in rooms with a view. The hotel has so much potential someone needs to take charge! The owners were there when we were but never as much as thanked us. Unlike the hotel we left where the owners thanked us and called us by name!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaldwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The only thing that was excellent in this hotel was the Staff. Rooms are tired and dated and beige. More of a motel as very noisy with traffic. Pool and jacuzzi ok but small. Restaurant expensive and average. Good live music though. Nothing else worth mentioning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a motel 6, I am probably giving this hotel to high a rating. The rooms are terrible. Ours was on the forth floor with no elevator. The wind noise was unbelievable making it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was ancient. I have to say the staff was great as was the breakfast.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms painted a depressing brown color. Very few natural light, a bit depressing. Two very inconfortable iron chair on a tiny balcony, overlooking the kitchen aeration system. The staff refused to give us another room. Upon our checking in, the staff was pushy about their Spa and massage service. Mini swimming pool. It took an hour to have our dinner served, even if the restaurant was not full and we have ordered the chef specialty (a simple chiken breast with mango). Decent accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a tiny bit of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend for 2 nights at Hotel Poco a Poco, a nice eco-friendly resort in Santa Elena, outside Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. We both appreciated the climate change awareness that this hotel offered, and the green touches pleased us both. Busy with activities, we didn't spend too much time at the resort, but enjoyed our stay. The enormous library of movies was a nice touch (we rented one but never got around to watching it), and the front desk was extremely helpful in organizing tours.

We ate dinner one night in the on-site restaurant, and had an ok experience. I ordered a steak, but was brought the wrong one (at the time I was too hungry to wait on the right steak, so just ate it, and it was fine).

Our only major complaint was that the 'pool bar' was really not staffed. We tried to get a drink and relax in the hot tub one evening, but no service seemed to be available.

The room was clean, the bed comfy, etc. Walls are a little thin, so we could sometimes hear our neighbors, and work being done outside.

The location is great - walking distance to amenities in Santa Elena, and only a 3k drive to the Cloud Forest reserve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I was in room 27. It is near the road but there is so much wind noise (Monteverde/St Elena is seriously windy - like a hurricane at times) it made no difference at all.

I found the room to be large with a decent bathroom. King size bed, LCD tv and very clean. It felt boutique

The front staff are efficient and helped with booking events for me. One cloud forest tour operator screwed up and didn't pick me up - the hotel paid half of the taxi to get me to the cloud forest regardless. (reservations falling through has been a VERY common experience for me in Costa Rica).

Best of all is the restaurant - really great food, great live music and well priced.

I needed to recharge at this place and I did just that. The hotel is walking distance to 'town' if you want a drink or to eat at a local restaurant - there's a bit of a hill to negotiate but it's not too bad unless you are ancient.

Breakfast is good and served in the restaurant.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.