We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Monteverde
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The only thing that was excellent in this hotel was the Staff. Rooms are tired and dated and beige. More of a motel as very noisy with traffic. Pool and jacuzzi ok but small. Restaurant expensive and average. Good live music though. Nothing else worth mentioning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    114
    85
    31
    16
See reviews for
86
123
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a motel 6, I am probably giving this hotel to high a rating. The rooms are terrible. Ours was on the forth floor with no elevator. The wind noise was unbelievable making it impossible to sleep. The bathroom was ancient. I have to say the staff was great as was the breakfast.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms painted a depressing brown color. Very few natural light, a bit depressing. Two very inconfortable iron chair on a tiny balcony, overlooking the kitchen aeration system. The staff refused to give us another room. Upon our checking in, the staff was pushy about their Spa and massage service. Mini swimming pool. It took an hour to have our dinner served, even if the restaurant was not full and we have ordered the chef specialty (a simple chiken breast with mango). Decent accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a tiny bit of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend for 2 nights at Hotel Poco a Poco, a nice eco-friendly resort in Santa Elena, outside Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. We both appreciated the climate change awareness that this hotel offered, and the green touches pleased us both. Busy with activities, we didn't spend too much time at the resort, but enjoyed our stay. The enormous library of movies was a nice touch (we rented one but never got around to watching it), and the front desk was extremely helpful in organizing tours.

We ate dinner one night in the on-site restaurant, and had an ok experience. I ordered a steak, but was brought the wrong one (at the time I was too hungry to wait on the right steak, so just ate it, and it was fine).

Our only major complaint was that the 'pool bar' was really not staffed. We tried to get a drink and relax in the hot tub one evening, but no service seemed to be available.

The room was clean, the bed comfy, etc. Walls are a little thin, so we could sometimes hear our neighbors, and work being done outside.

The location is great - walking distance to amenities in Santa Elena, and only a 3k drive to the Cloud Forest reserve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I was in room 27. It is near the road but there is so much wind noise (Monteverde/St Elena is seriously windy - like a hurricane at times) it made no difference at all.

I found the room to be large with a decent bathroom. King size bed, LCD tv and very clean. It felt boutique

The front staff are efficient and helped with booking events for me. One cloud forest tour operator screwed up and didn't pick me up - the hotel paid half of the taxi to get me to the cloud forest regardless. (reservations falling through has been a VERY common experience for me in Costa Rica).

Best of all is the restaurant - really great food, great live music and well priced.

I needed to recharge at this place and I did just that. The hotel is walking distance to 'town' if you want a drink or to eat at a local restaurant - there's a bit of a hill to negotiate but it's not too bad unless you are ancient.

Breakfast is good and served in the restaurant.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

5 of us shared a room with 3 beds (that was great thanks) and although the hotel is nothing fancy, it was clean, well maintained and sufficient for our needs. The location is excellent and you can walk into town. The pool was clean and the hot tub was nice after a long day doing tourist things. We would book here again if back in the area.

Jonathan??? the waiter was exceptional. Very attentive even at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. The pictures are much nicer than the actual rooms and property. The rooms are VERY small and the walls are paper thin.You hear everything, including the howling wind, so sleeping wasn't great as well.The breakfast is very mediocre. This is the only place where I found the coffee to be subpar. The best thing about this hotel was the staff --who were very kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde
Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.