We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodations.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent accommodations.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Rooms painted a depressing brown color. Very few natural light, a bit depressing. Two very inconfortable iron chair on a tiny balcony, overlooking the kitchen aeration system. The staff refused to give us another room. Upon our checking in, the staff was pushy about their Spa and massage service. Mini swimming pool. It took an hour to have our dinner served, even if the restaurant was not full and we have ordered the chef specialty (a simple chiken breast with mango). Decent accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a tiny bit of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    134
    98
    38
    16
See reviews for
104
148
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend for 2 nights at Hotel Poco a Poco, a nice eco-friendly resort in Santa Elena, outside Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. We both appreciated the climate change awareness that this hotel offered, and the green touches pleased us both. Busy with activities, we didn't spend too much time at the resort, but enjoyed our stay. The enormous library of movies was a nice touch (we rented one but never got around to watching it), and the front desk was extremely helpful in organizing tours.

We ate dinner one night in the on-site restaurant, and had an ok experience. I ordered a steak, but was brought the wrong one (at the time I was too hungry to wait on the right steak, so just ate it, and it was fine).

Our only major complaint was that the 'pool bar' was really not staffed. We tried to get a drink and relax in the hot tub one evening, but no service seemed to be available.

The room was clean, the bed comfy, etc. Walls are a little thin, so we could sometimes hear our neighbors, and work being done outside.

The location is great - walking distance to amenities in Santa Elena, and only a 3k drive to the Cloud Forest reserve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. I was in room 27. It is near the road but there is so much wind noise (Monteverde/St Elena is seriously windy - like a hurricane at times) it made no difference at all.

I found the room to be large with a decent bathroom. King size bed, LCD tv and very clean. It felt boutique

The front staff are efficient and helped with booking events for me. One cloud forest tour operator screwed up and didn't pick me up - the hotel paid half of the taxi to get me to the cloud forest regardless. (reservations falling through has been a VERY common experience for me in Costa Rica).

Best of all is the restaurant - really great food, great live music and well priced.

I needed to recharge at this place and I did just that. The hotel is walking distance to 'town' if you want a drink or to eat at a local restaurant - there's a bit of a hill to negotiate but it's not too bad unless you are ancient.

Breakfast is good and served in the restaurant.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

5 of us shared a room with 3 beds (that was great thanks) and although the hotel is nothing fancy, it was clean, well maintained and sufficient for our needs. The location is excellent and you can walk into town. The pool was clean and the hot tub was nice after a long day doing tourist things. We would book here again if back in the area.

Jonathan??? the waiter was exceptional. Very attentive even at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. The pictures are much nicer than the actual rooms and property. The rooms are VERY small and the walls are paper thin.You hear everything, including the howling wind, so sleeping wasn't great as well.The breakfast is very mediocre. This is the only place where I found the coffee to be subpar. The best thing about this hotel was the staff --who were very kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 in our room and my only complaint was that the room was very small. We barely fit the luggage with all 4 of us. We loved the location we could walk into town and the views are great. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was mediocre but the staff there is great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Only spent one night here. The hotel was nice enough... clean room, typical CR buffet breakfast which was fine by me, 5 minute walk to next town, Santa Elena which had more amenities and stores. The staff were pleasant and helpful. As someone else mentioned, the cloud forest was a bit of a disappointment but I am glad that I went. No need to go back, though. I can easily recommend the Poco A Poco for a place to stay.

Room Tip: I did not notice that room location might affect the comfort or noise level as this is not a busy ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.