We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 4 in our room and my only complaint was that the room was very small. We barely fit the luggage with all 4 of us. We loved the location we could walk into town and the views are great. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was mediocre but the staff there is great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    123
    89
    34
    16
See reviews for
94
130
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Only spent one night here. The hotel was nice enough... clean room, typical CR buffet breakfast which was fine by me, 5 minute walk to next town, Santa Elena which had more amenities and stores. The staff were pleasant and helpful. As someone else mentioned, the cloud forest was a bit of a disappointment but I am glad that I went. No need to go back, though. I can easily recommend the Poco A Poco for a place to stay.

Room Tip: I did not notice that room location might affect the comfort or noise level as this is not a busy ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Monteverde in general was a disappointment, but this is the place to visit in order to visit the magnificent cloud forest and go on canopy tours.

Room was average. Bed was good, but no fridge to keep fresh food and drinks.
The bathroom was second-rated and dirty and not worthy a "4-star hotel".

What the hotel calls spa is in fact an average-sized jacuzzi and a tiny children's pool. You can get overpriced cocktails from the bar if you can find the bartender.
The included breakfast is excellent. A typical Tico buffet with delicious fresh fruit.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and arranged both tours and transport for us.
When checking out, I discoverex that they had added 13% to the bill which was never mentioned before. The rates were already ridiculously overpriced for an average standard hotel set in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not big. However, it makes up for it through a well designed layout. Our kids loved the heated and covered pool tucked into a corner with enough sitting room. The breakfast was good with just enough choices of food - typical fare of fruit juice, fresh tropical fruits, Fried plantains, a rice and bean dish, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast, cinnamon rolls and a tropical fruit chutney. The restaurant is somewhat expensive for dinner or lunch. However, the hotel is walking distance from the downtown district which has plenty of restaurants. The front desk and the staff were friendly and polite, and knowledgeable about the area. We had a great time and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here one night, the hotel was nice and clean, beautiful view. The restaurant had excellent food and the server was very nice. They played live music which was very cool. We left our iPod in the room, and the hotel was more than happy to send it back to us. Definitely recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is well located in Sta. Elena, in a few steps from a nice supermarket, from the frog's and snake's showcase. The hotel is located near the city's downtown, shops and restaurants.

Services are great and the lady from the reception does her best to provide you the best, such as find you the tour that may best fit o you and your friends and family.

During the night, the plastic roof was too much noisy due to the rain drops falling. The continuous sound wakened up not only me but my wife and kids.

The breakfast does not have many options for non-americans tourists such as us. There are few options of bread, for example.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had to stay for one night in Monteverde as roads were horrible to come here on a day trip. We booked the room one night before our arrival and staff was accommodating and were able to give us a 10% discount on booking. The hotel was older but very clean. Rooms were nothing fancy but included a safe and free wifi. No fridge. Walking distance to Santa Elena downtown (we went to Bar Amigos for some excellent bar type food and people watching). This location is close to Sky and selvatura zip lines and the site of night tour (highly recommend)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 42. it was on a higher floor with a balcony and a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: 100 m Este del Ranario de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel’s analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.