We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claro de Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Claro de Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Claro de Luna
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Santa Elena de Monteverde, 5655, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Monteverde B&B and Inns
San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Near to the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were here 1 night and had a great experience with the hotel. Very friendly staff. We had one of the rooms in the back of the garden and not in the main building. Big rooms with a porch.
You can walk from the hotel to the village to find a restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back of the garden. In the main building its really noisy and the rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is better than in the pictures,it looks like a Swiss chalet, with beautiful small gardens and you can walk to the center of town where the restaurants are .We stayed there 3 days with our 7 year old and love it, the staff it's amazing they went out of their way to please us. Breakfast is very good. We booked a deluxe room which has a lot of lovely details and a porche with rocking chairs in front of a flower garden. We felt like if we had a small casita (house) in Costa Rica. If we go to Monteverde again we'll definitelly stay there again.

Room Tip: They have only 2 types of rooms : Standart and Deluxe, I recomend the deluxe because you have more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had an excellent experience here. The staff are friendly, helpful, and extremely tolerant of exuberant, noisy children (ours). The setting is intimate yet afforded a lot of privacy. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the rooms immaculate and luxurious. The breakfasts were delicious. We'd have loved an in-room coffee maker, but all in all, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, but the rooms facing away from the main courtyard are very private and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My sister and I want to tell you that, thanks to you, our trip to Costa Rica was awesome! We had a great time and everything went perfectly. I cannot adequately express to you how impressed we both were with the willingness of the personnel at the hotel to accommodate and provide for our needs. The service was unparalleled. I would highly recommend your services to anyone considering a trip to your remarkable country. Susan and Suhyleen at the desk were SO helpful. I broke my camera during this part of the trip; they were willing to burn a CD of my photos on their computer so that I wouldn’t lose our pictures. Our room was very nice and the gardens were exquisite. The power went out while we were there and they were still able to take care of everything that we needed. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

It may not be luxury, but hidden in the trees yet close enough to walk to the commercial district, this friendly hotel is comfortable and well worth it's economy price. The staff makes you feel welcome, the rooms are basic but very clean and the breakfasts are nourishing and substantial. For a quiet place to stay while in Monteverde, I recommend the Claro de Luna

Room Tip: I stayed on the lower level and it was quiet, did not see rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. The last time was three years ago and was just two us. This year was with a teenager. The hotel has not changed at all since were last there. The grounds are very nice and hotel is located on a hill above the town. Unfortunately, there is not much view of the surrounding area. Staff were very much just working and not particularly friendly.
The rooms are located in a separate building from the office/kitchen, with the exception of a couple of rooms. They have small fenced in patios at the entrance and high ceilings. The rooms a very large and nicely furnished with large rustic (log/wooden) furniture. There is a skylight in the middle of the ceiling. Netting is available on the beds if you are concerned about mosquitoes at night. The beds are average in terms of comfort. There is no air conditioning, but you won’t need it, it is very cool at night. If you go out early, remember to take a sweater with you. The bathroom is very large and has a whirlpool tub and shower. The downside is that the walls are very thin and I think the sound may travel through the ceiling because every time one of you neighbors flushes, showers or worse, uses the whirlpool, it sounds like it is in your room. There is no radio or television and it gets dark fairly early, thus the comment about not such a great idea for kids. There is little to do to entertain your self. We opted to have dinner later and walked into the centre of town. After dinner we wandered through the various small stores in the area. That killed some of the evening for us.
Parking is free and is available right inside the yard, which is nice. There is not an internet computer but Wi-Fi is available and we has not problem connecting as long as we were near the front desk.
Breakfast is included and consisted of a breakfast bar with fresh fruit, rice and beans (the best I have had in all of Costa Rica), scrambled eggs, pancakes and toast and juice or coffee/tea. It was very good.
There is a grocery store, shopping, and dining, all within walking distance. I apologize for know having the names of the restaurants we ate at, we took photos of them, but our camera was stolen in Manuel Antonio. But we had great pizza and pasta (very large portions) at the pizza place near the end of the main strip. You can’t miss it as you have to walk down stairs to enter the restaurant. The food was fantastic and not too expensive. There is also a great burger restaurant just off the main strip on a side road. It is a one way heading towards the main street. On the main road, near the tree house restaurant there is a small smoothie stand. Fantastic smoothies made with fresh fruit as well as milk shakes.

All in all, if you are less interest in peace and serenity and would appreciate things such as TV and a pool. There are many hotels in the area, which from the outside, appear to be very nice and cost about the same.

Room Tip: I would choose the last room, facing the parking the lot for the best view from your patio and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We arrived at Claro de Luna and the front desk quickly checked us in and gave us a beautiful room behind the main house that had our own porch to sit out on and spacious room. They helped us set up a night walk through the rain forest that first evening and everything went smoothly from start to finish. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and the bathrooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone going to Monteverde and I hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claro De Luna Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claro de Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.