We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale location and unbelievable value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirador Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mirador Lodge to your Saves list
Mirador Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Santa Elena de Monteverde, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fairy tale location and unbelievable value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We had the greatest couple days. The rooms all had magical views of the forest and when the weather was clear, we could see Arenal. Truly felt like living in the clouds. The staff was absolutely incredible and went out of their way to make our stay better than we could have dreamed. Gorgeous trails leading to beautiful waterfalls...and and restaurant was delicious. All of this and such value...would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. A MUST visit

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids, mi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Although the road to get to Monteverde was INTENSE, and the road to this hotel more so, once we arrived everything was great. Spectacular views. Very nice people. The place is no resort. If you want umbrella drinks and five star accommodations, this isn't the place for you. The rooms are a bit on the roughing it side, but clean and very quaint. The hot water and electric only work for a few hours a day, in the morning and at night, while the generator is running. Still, we loved our time here. It was very serene and beautiful. Every night at about one I would wake up and see the Volcano erupting in the distance. Unbelievable. The restaurant was OK, good breakfast, OK dinner, but you could probably find something better in town. And I don't recommend the horseback ride they offer at the lodge, I don't think the animal welfare laws are maybe quite as stringent down there. Overall, though, a great stay. Just look at the pictures.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar grove, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

We booked through AnyWhere Costa Rica, who are generally great at making reccomendations...however, after sharing our experience with their gen mgr, he admitted they have been having numerous problems with Mirador since it has been under new ownership.

We were supposed to be picked up in Arenal, ferried across the lake, then taken by horseback to the lodge (this is a service provided by the lodge for mucho bucks--it is part of a tour they provide). They were one hour late to Arenal, then 2 HOURS LATE picking us up from a bodega next to Lake Arenal. We kept calling and they kept giving us excuses about being 5 minutes behind. More like 3 hours. No one spoke a lick of English, therefore the "tour" was useless. The horses were not healthy looking.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Mirador Lodge is a family-run establishment that offers simple accomodations and a quiet atmosphere. Electricity can be sparce, but all part of the eco-package since it depends on the flow of the waterfalls for its electricity. The food was delicious and made up of unique twists on local fare using common ingredients (we had a fabulous ayote soup one night and their banana pancakes are fabulous), though quite pricey since there is such a high transport cost out to the lodge. We had a great night view of Arenal volcano erupting in the distance, after a disappointing cloudy view in La Fortuna. It is a long journey to and from the lodge and I wouldn't recommend it if you are playing on hitting up the night life in town. It can become quite foggy at night and difficult to maneuver the winding path back to the lodge.

  • Liked — The view and the food.
  • Disliked — The price and the humidity.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

This a hotel for adventure. The must is the fantaastic view to the volcano. In clear nights you can see the lava coming down.
Unfortunately the hotel is quite basic, although the big rooms.
The hotel is located 20 minutes away from the town on a mountain road (signs quite poor)
Restaurant quite expensive for offered quality, although good breakfast

  • Liked — Arenal's volcano night view
  • Disliked — dinner and it's cost
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolina del sur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

We just got back from a trip to Costa Rica and spent 3 nights at the Mirador and absolutely LOVED this place. We stayed here two years ago and were afraid that things had changed, but happily it is still the same!! We were with teenagers and all of them said that they did not want to leave, and of all the places we stayed (beach, Arenal, San Jose) this was their favorite. The food is some of the best we have ever had in Costa Rica and the chefs were so accomodating with all of the kids. The bar is great, we bought wine in town and they kept it cold for us , and then served it to us at dinner. We also ended up mixing our own drinks with some of the best juices ever!! (Try the guava strawberry!!) The cabins are great, very clean. We knew going in that the electricity goes off at 10 pm, so we made sure everyone brought flashlights . The kids LOVED this, we all said that we can stay in Hampton Inn etc anytime, but this was really different for them. The water was nice and hot in the morning. The staff was so sweet, very accommodating. They booked horseback riding for the kids at a great rate, and massages for my friend and I. The recepcionist called a taxi to take us to the massage and then into Santa Elena.Very reasonable. We also celebrated a birthday and they hid the cake in the kitchen and helped us with the candles etc. I really can't say enough about this place. I was very disappointed that so much of Costa Rica has become even more americanized (this is my 3rd trip) , but happy to see that the Mirador is still a COSTA RICAN mountain lodge with great views, nice people, good accommodations, and great food. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — the cabins, the staff, the food
  • Disliked — not enough road signs
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

stayed here for four nights. staff made us feel as if we were a nuisance. cabin was dirty with blocked shower, bedlinen was more holes than sheets and mildewy. logburner was so rusty, cabin filled with smoke and food appalling, not a pleasant experience at all. after three months still trying to get some satisfaction over our complaints.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Lodge

Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Mirador Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Monteverde
Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirador Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.