We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Colina Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colina Lodge
150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ladysmith, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and had a excellent second floor room. The balcony has seating and tables to sit out with a beer or wine. Owners are in contact with all local tour operators so can help with planning activities.
Good value and great staff. Only gripe I had was the shower which ran either hot or cold at it's own whim....you had to take advantage of brief periods of transition from one to the other.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
15
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Colina in March 2012. Our room was small and had two beds headboard to headboard crammed into it. We believe one of the beds was taken from the room next door which was being worked on. There is no wifi on the premises. The description said that a chef was on staff and that breakfast, lunch, and dinner were offered. There was no chef, no meals except breakfast, and breakfast was eggs, toast, and fruit. The ceiling paint was peeling badly, and there wasn't even a chair in the room. The lighting was poor. It wasn't a room that you would want to spend any time in. Downstairs in the dining area, there were several cats and dogs roaming about freely, even on the tables. If you're allergic to animals, stay away! The hot water in the shower was nice!

The location is pretty far from town and walking was difficult at night. It was close to the cheese factory, the Quaker school, a cafe, and a few other things.

Nanci, the owner, was friendly. She lives in another area on the premises and was generally unavailable. One night, a door somewhere nearby was banging open and shut loadly every 15 seconds or so on a windy night. I had to get up in the middle of the night to figure out where this door was and find a way to secure it.

We asked Nanci about whether it was safe to keep an ipad in the room. She said that she was "pretty sure" that the cleaning lady wouldn't steal from us. She offered to hide our valuables for us. This is not very reassuring.

We were not expecting an elaborate room for the price of our room at La Colina. However, we expected something that we would be somewhat comfortable in. We weren't. It is among the worst rooms that we have ever stayed in. We would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. For a better quality room, you could stay at the hostel in Santa Elana for les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdwatchergirl506, Owner at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I am nice and do care about each person staying here,our rooms are different colors and different sizes so we show people more then one if it is available to do, to make sure you are happy. If you are not I will help find you a place that does. If you ask me more then once,if your things are going to stolen from your room and we have a new cleaning girl on her first day, I will offer to keep your things safe behind my desk for you. Our website does have a picture of our dog Remmey helping at front desk, he is also sometimes found on the sofa watching his show's ,we do have a friendly turkey that may follow you around, Mr. Goat, chickens and a hairless Chinese crested "Zero" who loves to sit on a lap. We are located out of Santa Elena in Monteverde, a 10 minute walk to 4 great restaurants as well as the famous Stella's bakery,Cabure chocolate factory,the bat cave, the Monteverde cloud forest reserve, the New Curi Chanca reserve and the cheese factory. We have a tour desk and are happy to help you arrange things. Please speak up if you need something or are not happy with something when you are here, I would rather help you, then to have you not say anything until your vacation is over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. We expected it to be basic and have been used to basic hostels on our travels around the world but La Colina was beyond basic. Here is a summary of our stay.
- The sheets were dirty and damp and smelled incredibly strongly of wet dog. It was disgusting to sleep in the bed for even one night
- the breakfast was horrible, I am not sure how they managed to make eggs taste as bad as they did
- the restaurant and rooms were dirty and the windows and doors were not secure.
- it was far away from the center of town and unless you had a car it would be very isolated
- the service was average and not very well organised

This hostel is cheaper than some others we found but for $45 a night the quality of room was not acceptable when we found one that was so much better just up the road for just $65 a night. The only positive was that the shower was hot - I needed it after sleeping in that bed.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdwatchergirl506, Owner at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I realize you can not please everyone all the time, however our rooms are cleaned thoroughly before each quest arrives. So it is surprising to hear someone report an experience such as this. I am a very friendly helpful person, and always show guests different rooms because each one is a different color ,size and in a different location on the property. I ask if you are happy with the room because I care and am more then happy to help you find another place if you are not. On our website, we our clear we are not located in Santa Elena, we are in Monteverde 10 minutes walking to 4 great restaurants,art galleries, the children s eternal rain forest,the cheese factory and two reserves. The difference is waking up to a rooster crowing or car alarm. We have animals, a goat, Mr Goat, a friendly turkey, Larry, who follows people around sometimes, cats who think they own the place. I can not help the road being dusty during dry season, just as in rainy season, things are wet and muddy. But we very careful to keep our seasons from intruding on the comfort of our guests. Your vacation,your time and your comfort is important to me. I can confidently say I have never had a complaint before this about breakfast. If you want your eggs cooked in a special way just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

So, if you are looking for all modern conveniences and a stuffy staff this is not your place. It is like visiting an eccentric favorite aunt in her old house full of fascinating stuff and interesting stories.

First of all, the rooms are small but clean, and decorated in a wild array of colors and patterns. You can stay in the rooms above the main hall or in the small lower building. We stayed in the 'yellow' room which, in addition to the yellow walls, had polka dots, zigzag patterns, a down-home wardrobe for clothes, and handmade furniture in fun zigzags and dowels and whatnot in the bathroom.

Nanci, the owner, is friendly and funny and makes you feel like part of the family. Her dogs (even more random breed mixes than the usual random breeds roaming Costa Rica) and kids (typical American teens) are around and everyone is helping out. There was a big community dinner when we were there, with a really nice Thai meal cooked by a friend of Nanci's, and we were invited. We also went to a meeting at the Quaker meeting house across the street which, again, gave us a real sense of the community. Monteverde's history is bound up in the local Quaker community, and La Colina is part of that history as it was built by one of the early founders of the community.

Nanci is a gem - over and over again she made things easy for us by calling taxis, giving inside tips on where to go, etc., and in fact she saved our bacon when we got to the bus station in Sta Elena to ride back to catch our flight home from San Jose - only to discover the last bus of the day was full. Nanci contacted a taxi friend who drove us the 4 hrs to the airport for well below the going cost and then refused a tip.

The place does need upkeep and Nanci seems to have that in hand. While we were there she was repainting rooms, rebuilding doors, replanting gardens and generally spiffing everything. I certainly will go back there if I return to Costa Rica. Especially after a really unpleasant stay at Tabacon resort in Arenal, I found La Colina a very grounding and restoring place.

Room Tip: Ask Nanci to give you a tour of the rooms and choose the one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This artful lodge has bright colors, beautiful mosaics, and a lovely porch to enjoy the birds and fireflies from. The wooden accents add to the overall cozy feel of the place. Since it is up the road a ways from town it is quieter especially at night. The downside of this is that it is far from internet and restaurants as well, so keep that in mind if you do not have a car. The rooms also don't have access to a kitchen or fridge so prepping you own food isn't an option. Some websites advertised the attached restaurant, but they unfortunately only serve breakfast (which was delicious).
This lodge is roughly mid way between St Elena and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve. You can walk to either along the road, but it is quite a distance and the narrow road has many motorbikes cutting the corners close and large buses.
Most evenings were pleasant but the kids of the owner tended to use the common area as their personal living room, which was awkward and noisy. I felt like I was intruding if I entered or needed to ask a question of the owner.
All together this is a quaint lodge that is evolving into something special.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side got a nice view of the setting sun, rooms on the east stayed a little cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place has a special magic. I stayed here with my two daughters, ages 5 and 6, for several weeks this summer. If you are looking for a place with charm and character, look no further. The polished wooden floors and beams give it a warm, rustic feel, which is complimented by richly painted walls and colorfully mosaicked hallway. There are balconies, rocking chairs, and sunsets rather than a TV in each room. The owner, Nanci, and her two teenage daughters are friendly and laid back, making the place feel like home rather than a hotel. They happily arranged numerous outings for us, and they are very knowledgeable about the area.

When we first arrived, we sat on the front porch and immediately saw blue morphos and other butterflies hovering over Nanci's butterfly garden, and within minutes we heard howler monkeys nearby in the surrounding cloud forest. Over the course of our stay, we saw countless species of wild birds, butterflies, and mammals on the hotel property, including hummingbirds, mot mots, a toucan, a sloth, howler monkeys, and a martillo. The bird watching and night hike guides regularly take people in the vicinity of La Colina, because it is brimming with wildlife. My daughters were delighted by the pet turkeys, guineas, and chickens on the property. Nanci's daughters showed them chicks hatching and allowed them to hold the babies. The girls also enjoyed watching the local dairy farmers walk by every morning with their oxen laden with jugs of milk to deliver to the cheese factory. In short, they were never bored at the lodge. They were always outdoors exploring and learning new things.

The lodge is located a short walking distance from the historic Monteverde Cheese Factory, which has an ice cream parlor that my girls insisted we visit almost daily. It is also walking distance from the Friends School library which includes a huge children's section and is open 24 hours. In other words, when you're Jonesing for a good book late at night, you can grab your flashlight and head over. There are two different yoga studios within walking distance, and there is a small grocery store where you can purchase groceries. La Colina makes its kitchen available to guests. If you want to go horseback riding, a nearby stable will bring the horses right to the lodge. All of these places are accessible by lovely trails through the cloud forest. If you want to go further, there is a school bus which stops directly in front of La Colina several times a day. You can ride cheaply to restaurants and shops in Monteverde, Cerro Plano, and Santa Elena, and it also goes directly to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. For hikers, the reserve is only 3 km away, and it is a scenic walk. Despite these conveniences, the lodge is still private and isolated. The views are only of the surrounding cloud forest.

I recommend this place for families, couples, and outdoor enthusiasts looking for some place unique and charming to escape, unplug, and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

La Colina is really better described as a hostel. We planned on staying 3 nights but after one hard night with mosquitos buzzing and the smell of mildew, we cut short our stay. There is a sense from the place that there were better days here but that it has gotten rundown. No screens on the windows - no soap in the bathrooms or extra toilet paper.
Lots of dogs - not sure if they live there or not. No breakfast of even the offer of it... all and all a big disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdwatchergirl506, Owner at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
We listened to our guests and have changed with the economy. We have dropped our prices and opened up the kitchen to our guests. We have monthly rentals at a budget price,so people can stay longer and really get to know the area and experience a different culture,use our kitchen and feel at home. We do have breakfast available, if I am here, I was not the kids and I were in the states visiting their 90year old grandparents for summer vacation.To address the little soaps wrapped in paper, we no longer use them. My two tree hugging daughters who attendant the environmentally friendly school here came up with the idea to spend more on refillable pump bottles of soap, to save trees. There is nothing a hotel in a Cloud forest can do about the smell of dampness,bugs , or stray dogs looking for food, we all have them. We do what we can, feed the really bad one's, spay or neuter and try and find homes for them. We found homes for 8 animals this year. There is no animal shelter here. If your window did not have a screen, the hardware store may have been out at the time..I do respond to emails and do let people choose with or without breakfast. I do not have the new website up yet, anyone with questions just email me .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
Suites, Free Pa...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
#1 of 1 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#6 of 6 in Santa Elena
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Hotel Montana Monteverde
#3 of 6 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Cabanas La Pradera
Cabanas La Pradera
#15 of 46 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Capulin
Cabinas Capulin
#1 of 8 in Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Suites, Mid-ran...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#9 of 46 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina Lodge

Address: 150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Specialty lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colina Lodge is a beautiful mountain lodge located at the edge of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. 150 Meters from the Monteverde Cheese Factory, you will find our rustic, log cabin style hotel full of art and bright colors, with a cozy warmth in our dining room where most nights you will find an old wood stove burning. The views and sounds are simply breathtaking! You will wake up every morning to the sound of the famous Bellbird, fresh air and a view of biodiversity like you wouldn't believe. At La Colina Lodge, you will find art, music, beautiful community, great staff, nature at your doorstep, and lots of love! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Colina Lodge Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Colina Lodge to your Saves list