We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Verde is a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Verde
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1.5 miles from Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
“Villa Verde is a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we been in Villa Verde Hotel for three days and we enjoy everything there, the rooms are very confortables , very clean and quite with full hot water, the food is very delicious and very good services at the restaurant, we enjoy ours dinner infriont to the such fireplace in the center of the restaurant, Nils ( the manager) was very helpfull with all ours activities and always he is smilling, everythin at villa verde were very nice. We enjoy a lot becouse we can see Tucan, Quetzals, sloth and we enjoy the ziplinning ( canopy tour), we recommnended this place

Room Tip: Try to stay en on the left side between roon 8 and 17 they are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
12
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our time in Villa Verde Hotel. It was affordable, clean, friendly and close to all area attractions. The location is very quiet and peaceful and great place to relax after a full day of adventures. Neils is a great host and was very helpful explaining the different options available. I highly reccomend staying here. While in Monteverde be sure to check ou 100% Adventures Canopy Tours and doing the Superman line. Thrilling and breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O-shima, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

excelente atmosfer breackfast kindnes staff.
confatable bed room.
to cloud forest 15min walk.
we can get there befor anyother people in the morning.
I saw oring mapaches , hammingbirds an many others animals :I ac recomende this place for stay and enjoy the good anture in Villa verde Hotel

Room Tip: Just go and check rooms and beds infront to the mountain in Villa Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel when we visited Monteverde recently. The hotel is in a real need of an overhaul! The rooms are runned down and dirty! There was no telephones in the rooms, our room had no door to the bathroom and we didn't have running water from time to time. My daughter had stayed at this hotel a year ago and said that it had changed for the worse. The only positive thing I can say is that the food was good. I was very disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I do visit this place for last 15 years, with groups and never had any complaints, the people who work at the Hotel are very nice, there is hot water, and yes there are no swimming pools in Monteverde Hotels, and yes you can found some time scorpions (no poison) and other insects, off course you are in the Clouf Forest, and for sure this is not a 5 stars hotel this is a Humble Place, and they try the best way to please all the visitors,
Last week I was there with Bill Wegman -former M-L-B-pitcher for the Milwake Brewers,
He is a Christian Pastor in Ohio now , we went there with some members of He's Churh,
and He was very happy with Villa Verde Hotel,
Ronald Gonzalez R--Ronnie--Tourist Driver/Guide

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is very pretty from the outside and in most of the common areas. It was truly surprising how dirty the rooms were. Small unmfortable beds were filled with bugs. The wooden shelving was hideous and the bathroom was cramped. A room on the second floor wreaked of smoke, you could barly breathe. The door wouldn't lock and barely closed. The only redeeming part to the hotel was the lovely staff. While they didn't help in the rooms, the dinner service was great and they even invited us to their church for Easter eve service. Truly kind local people. The sloth sanctuary across the street is fabulous however!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This Hotel is a little bit out of town, but you can just fall out of the door and you'll be in the reserva for a good hike or for perfect views of the province of Guanacaste and the Nicoya Peninsula. The rooms are easy but clean, it just might get a little bit cold at nights. A nice breakfast is included in the price (we paid 15$ pp per night in low season). Definitely the best thing about this place is the staff which is really friendly and helps out wherever they can. It's a quiet place and in the evenings you can enjoy sitting at the fire in the restaurant or play pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#14 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#7 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Verde

Address: 1.5 miles from Reserve, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Villa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verde Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Villa Verde Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.