We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Verde
1.5 miles from Reserve, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Monteverde
Kloten, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This Hotel is a little bit out of town, but you can just fall out of the door and you'll be in the reserva for a good hike or for perfect views of the province of Guanacaste and the Nicoya Peninsula. The rooms are easy but clean, it just might get a little bit cold at nights. A nice breakfast is included in the price (we paid 15$ pp per night in low season). Definitely the best thing about this place is the staff which is really friendly and helps out wherever they can. It's a quiet place and in the evenings you can enjoy sitting at the fire in the restaurant or play pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Hotel Villa Verde was a beautiful place to rest our heads while we spent time exploring Monteverde. The grounds are lovely, and the buildings in excellent condition. I could not have been more impressed with the wonderful staff and the gracious owner of the Villa Verde--by far the hardest hotel to leave on our tour! The meals we ate at the hotel restaurant were delicious and plentiful, and served very professionally by an attentive staff. The amenities were very useful, such as laundry service and internet capability. Our experience at the Hotel Villa Verde was fabulous and I definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I spent 9 day's touring Costa Rica, we spent 2 nights here at Hotel Villa Verde, i would recommend this place to any body traveling to Monteverde . the manager Nils Fernandez is a very gracious host, they train young students to become hotel and restaurant employees and managers,they have a young trainee his name is Julio very helpful very personable.....
give them a try.... you will want to go back again...
ken billings

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Villa Verde for 2 nights. The location is nice if you are looking to spend most of your time in the reserve, however, it is not a good value overall. My room was the worst that I encountered in Costa Rica (and I paid far less for others). The room smelled, the shower was consistently cold and quite dirty. Beds, linens, pillows and towels were all quite old. When I called to make a reservation the front desk said that Breakfast was included. However, at checkout time I got hit w/ a charge for Breakfast that could only be paid in cash. I ended up paying over $200 for the two nights. Simply not a good value for what you get. The front desk was helpful in booking activities and future travel arrangements but I just didn't trust them. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed here with an Explorica group. The distance from town was a bit of an issue~it's not within walking distance. Although the front desk and dining room staff was friendly and helpful, the maid service was severely lacking. There were no hand towels or washcloths, and the pillows smelled moldy. A muddy bathmat used by maintenance was left on the floor of the bathroom, and we discovered a moldy coffee filter in the coffee maker. The supply of hot water was inconsistent at best, non-existent at worst. We arrived on a Tuesday evening and left Thursday morning...........I was one of the lucky ones and had a tepid shower Wednesday evening; some members of our group did not get showers at all. The poor maid service and moldy pillows were aggravating, but the lack of hot water was unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

the manager was not helpful when it came to booking our trips and advising us on the local activities- did not tell us the office closed at 9:30
and they moved our room due to their mistake - the bathroom door was broken and when i complained moved us to another room the door was broken as well
we would very disappointed with the managing of the place- the place itself was very beautiful

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here with a high school group (EF Tours). The rooms are wood lined and very, very rustic. Beds were hard and there were mouse droppings on my bed spread. One of the kids had a live scorpion in their room, so there must be a room with a nest, as previous guests commented about it here on tripadvisor. It is chilly in Feb. in Monteverde, but the hotel was unable to provide additional blankets for us; however, we were able to get a few additional towels, so we laid those over us, as well as any extra jackets we had.
Dining area is cute, but also rustic. They had a fire in the fireplace in the evening, but it doesn't seem to draw at all so the entire room was very smokey. They serve the meals here, and they were pretty good - fruit, veggies plus two entree choices.
There is a pool table in this area, and a disco area on the resort where they unfortunately allowed the kids to purchase unlimited alcohol. Since it was exclusive for the hotel, we didn't think we had to hang out and hover over the kids that evening, but obviously we should have.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Verde

Also Known As:
Verde Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Villa Verde Costa Rica/Monteverde
Address: 1.5 miles from Reserve, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.