We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip”
Review of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve

6 km (4 mi) north of Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645 5390
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 28 attractions in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
49 visitor photos
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    43
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hanging bridges tour, plenty of wildlife and interesting surroundings. Perfect hike, not too long and plenty to see. We also went on a canopy zipline tour that was amazing, You literally went through the clouds and the staff was fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Santa Elena Reserve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had limited time so only toured this park and Curi-Cancha de Vida Silvestre. We choose this park as we were told it was less crowded and better chance to see animals as it is not as dense foliage and cloudy as Monteverde. We did the 7:30 am tour and our group of 4 had a private tour as there was only 1 other family there with another guide. Unfortunately we did not see much in the way of wildlife possibly because it was a beautiful sunny day and apparently the birds and such like a little cloud cover. We did see coati and black birds that had turkey like features. Cost was $29 with guide and $2 for the van shuttle from our hotel.

Silvestra Zipline park is 5 minutes walk down the road so this made a good double feature.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“one of our favorite places to go in the Monteverde area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited the Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve several times during a six month stay in Costa Rica, and we liked it more than its larger and more famous neighbor, the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Both showcase the amazingly beautiful cloud forest ecosystem. But the reasons we liked Santa Elena more are (1) it's much less crowded and (2) it's a community-operated reserve. the Santa Elena Reserve is also a good launching point for those who want to hike down to the San Gerardo Biological Station. Just like in the Monteverde Reserve, visitors are highly advised to hire a guide to point out the creatures you might otherwise miss. We strongly recommend Orlando Morun as a guide - he's wonderful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Nature Paths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm glad we had a chance to visit this beautiful forest in Costa Rica. While we didn't see much wildlife since it was raining the day we went, just walking through the lush, rainforest landscape was a real treat. I'm sure if we had done the guided tour we may have seen more. We heard that the late night tours were the best. the trails here are well-maintained and are not very strenuous. I would recommend this as a good family vacationing tour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent a morning here during our trip with a fantastic guided walk through the most breathtaking cloud forest. The guide was wonderful and knowledgeable and also clearly passionate about what this little known reserve stands for. For some reason this is one of the lesser known and lesser visited parks in Monteverde meaning that there are few visitors and tours are small and intimate. The landscape and trails here are gorgeous and provide an opportunity to really experience the cloud forest without the hustle and bustle of Arenal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.