We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rainforest trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve

Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve
6 km (4 mi) north of Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645 5390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 29 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
Shingle Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent rainforest trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great, well-marked trails, with lots of stuff to see. MUCH less crowded than Monteverde. Could go back and spend a couple of days just hiking in this forest, skipping Monteverde altogether.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    47
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“amazing time in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

wonderful hike to do instead of Monteverde Cloud Forest. Was my second trip here. Husband enjoyed it this time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This a breath taking place. A must see. Its had to imagion u r actually walking in the clouds. The zip - line was a one of a kind experience, u are emersed in the clouds n the beauty of the forest below. It's a real thrill speeding through clouds n being do high above everything.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I came here for a morning tour and a hike in February, and had a lovely time. They don't have nearly as many people here as they do at Monteverde, so you feel like you have the place more or less to yourself. My tour guide was wonderful...unfortunately just before I was supposed to start on my tour, thinking that I would have it all to myself, a van full of Midwestern birders showed up. But what can you do? We had a really nice walk through the cloud forest, and sometimes I felt like I was in Jurassic Park. My only complaint was that we didn't see any animals -- but that may have been because it hadn't been very rainy lately, so they were all hiding. So ultimately it was a very nice walk with amazing scenery, but I wished there had been some monkeys or something running around!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had an excellent guide named Orlando. He is very knowledgeable, speaks english and takes his job very seriously.
Anyone interested in plants and trees should not miss this sanctuary.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.