We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing time in costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena

Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena
6 km (4 mi) north of Santa Elena, Costa Rica
+506 2645 5390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 things to do in Monteverde
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is a community non profit project, located near Monteverde, Puntarenas, Costa Rica. The Reserve has an extension of 310 hectares, covered by a majestic Cloud Forest, in which you can observe a great variety of plants, Orchids, trees, ferns, heliconias and others. Also hundreds of residents and migratory birds, as the Quetzal and the Bell bird. Entrance Fee foreign Regular $14 Entrance Fee foreign student $7 Regular Guided walk $15 + Entrance Fee Private Guided Walk $75 + Entrance Fee
Williamston, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“amazing time in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

wonderful hike to do instead of Monteverde Cloud Forest. Was my second trip here. Husband enjoyed it this time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    68
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This a breath taking place. A must see. Its had to imagion u r actually walking in the clouds. The zip - line was a one of a kind experience, u are emersed in the clouds n the beauty of the forest below. It's a real thrill speeding through clouds n being do high above everything.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I came here for a morning tour and a hike in February, and had a lovely time. They don't have nearly as many people here as they do at Monteverde, so you feel like you have the place more or less to yourself. My tour guide was wonderful...unfortunately just before I was supposed to start on my tour, thinking that I would have it all to myself, a van full of Midwestern birders showed up. But what can you do? We had a really nice walk through the cloud forest, and sometimes I felt like I was in Jurassic Park. My only complaint was that we didn't see any animals -- but that may have been because it hadn't been very rainy lately, so they were all hiding. So ultimately it was a very nice walk with amazing scenery, but I wished there had been some monkeys or something running around!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had an excellent guide named Orlando. He is very knowledgeable, speaks english and takes his job very seriously.
Anyone interested in plants and trees should not miss this sanctuary.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Almost private guided tour in early morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Got here in the early morning for guided hike and there was only 1 other traveler for the tour! Almost private for only $15-20 (can't remember exact price). Guide was fully bilingual and pointed out many animals (tarantulas, birds, frogs, sloths, etc) that I would've never found on my own. He had a huge telescope that I could put my camera on to get awesome zoomed in shots. I would definitely recommend this cloudforest over the Monteverde counterpart as it is so much less crowded and you see the same stuff. Bring a waterproof jacket!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reserva Bosque Nuboso Santa Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.