We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve

Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve
6 km (4 mi) north of Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645 5390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

For some reason I thought this was going to be a bit more "wow", but it was fun none the less. However, there are higher ones in actual Monte Verde (not Santa Elena), or so I've been told.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great birding guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Birdwatching in the cloud forest can be very challenging, so hiring a guide makes a lot of sense. We spent a morning with Johnny, a very experienced birder and long time employee of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve. He was really amazing, as he knew all the bird calls and was able to make their sounds, thus attracting the birds. He knew their habits and habitats so could soon spot them. Even though he has been birding for many years, he is still enthusiastic about being out in nature and showing the beautiful birds to interested visitors. Johnny can be reached between 8-9 p.m. central standard time at 506 2645 5390

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well organied night hike with great opportunity to view wildlife.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We finally saw those sloths. The guies communicate animal locations to maximize your chances of seeing wild life. Besides the sloths, kinkajus, coatis, we saw 2 pitvipers and a taratuntula. Our guide was energietic and mad the tour trully fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Monkeys!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Another awesome place to see in Costa Rica. The forest is very beautiful and different from Monteverde Cloud Forest. It is a bit smaller - the hiking paths, but still amazing with nice point of view. And the most awesome thing was that we saw a lot of monkey!!! At one spot they were everywhere jumping around. Really great experience - must see!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We saw monkeys.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Lots of great flora and fauna to see. We did not hire a guide and were on the trail by 10:00. Beautiful walk along the El Negro trail. Very little wildlife until we crossed the 3rd bridge. There we saw about 20 capuchin monkeys with babies cross above us, play and eat for about 30 minutes.
Well worth the horribly ruff road to get there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.