We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we hadn't gone so late in the day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve

Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve
6 km (4 mi) north of Santa Elena, Costa Rica
2645 5390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Attractions in Monteverde
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't gone so late in the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The paths through this reserve are much narrower than the Monteverde reserve, but well marked and graveled. We went late in the afternoon ( after 3 pm) so didn't have much time to explore before dark. Wish we'd planned more time here -- good if you want to avoid the tourists and just have a beautiful hike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    55
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Monteverde is awesome, but it's popular among folks willing to make the trip. Do yourself a favor and drive a little further along a (rough, rough) road to Santa Elena. It gets a fraction of the visitors to Monteverde, but it's absolutely beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk through the rainforest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful peaceful walk through Santa Elena. Our hostel suggested we arrive early, so we took the first bus we could get on (before 7am!). We opted to do the guided tour, and were so glad we did! First off, it can be nearly impossible to spot wildlife in these forests because they are so big and dense. The guides are experts, and our guide could even recognize various birds and animals by their calls. We were there the day after a big rain. We didn't see a huge amount of wildlife (the guide was surprised, normally the day after rain, animals are very active), but the walk through alone was worth the price. We learned a lot about the local flora and fauna, and even got to see a plant that has been around since the time of the dinosaurs. The trails are actually gravel and are very well maintained... at one point you have to climb up quite a few stairs, so be ready for that... But I'm not in the best shape (unless you consider round a shape) and I made it fine, so don't worry. We chose Santa Elena over Monteverde because it was less expensive, and it was definitely worth what we spent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Santa Elena Reserve ha some well maintainde trails, and the scenery is beautiful. The amount of plant life in there was unbelievable! We did not see much wildlife, but that was likely because we got there around 7am. I would probably spend the money on a taxi to get there earlier in the future. Cheap transportation is all over Monteverde though. All in all, a fantastic hike!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Small but full of flora reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

we liked this small reserve even if it is small. The Cloud forest is excellent, We consider than even prettier than Monteverde. Entrance fee is cheaper than monteverde 14$ instead of 18$. The trees are filled by epyphites.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 

Been to Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Elena Cloud Forest Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.