We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, worth the drive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monteverde Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Toucan Boulevarde, 6941-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wireless Internet
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel, worth the drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed for a week in February, and had an absolutely wonderful time. The rooms are clean, the views are fabulous, and the staff courteous and helpful.
Prior to our trip we had read many reviews, here and elsewhere, of the Lodge, and even those that liked the hotel seemed to have a problem with the restaurant. We have no idea why. The service was great, the food well-prepared and tasty.
During this vacation we did stay for one night at the Peace Lodge, a very nice small hotel adjacent to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens. The Monteverde Lodge is clean, but relatively plain. No mini-bar, no TV, no amenities outside of what you need, but they cater to the eco-tourist type who are there for the cloud forest, the flora and fauna. The Peace Lodge has all the amenities, we had a beautiful room, jacuzzi on the balcony where we could relax and watch hummingbirds. But the food at the restaurants at La Paz was sub-standard, and the service lackluster at best, not what I expected given the quality of the room, and the price we paid. Comparing the two, I preferred the Monteverde Lodge.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — The accessibility from the major road
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    155
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
154
268
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

This is a nice little hotel with beautiful gardens and friendly staff. The rooms are nice and the beds comfortable given Costa Rican standards. We went for two nights with our two children (3 and 6) and they were, unfortunately, 2 of only 5 children we saw there the whole time. Because of this, we felt like we often had to keep them very quiet. They wanted to walk through the gardens but there were people sitting and reading and we constantly felt like we were disturbing someone. The staff, of course, were very friendly to the children but I did wonder if I had violated some "no child" policy or something. I highly recommend the hotel - especially if you are traveling without children. The restaurant is very good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not exactly kid-friendly
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

I was also afraid after the bad reviews. We found the hotel to be in a nice secluded location but not too far away from town. It was the nicest accomodations that I saw in the area. The hotel was attactive and very clean. I found the food to be very good. The staff was very accomodating. The gardens are beautiful! I highly recommend it. You have to realize that some areas don't have world class hotels and some people are never satisfied. After so many complaints I had really lowered expectations of what to expect and my expectations were exceeded. I had no complaints.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow restaurant service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed here March 13 - 15, 2007. We had a room on the first floor near the jacuzzi. The room was fine - linens were nice. Everyone was helpful - the bartender was great. We had beautiful weather which we did not expect. There was not as much nature on the grounds as i thought that there would be. I think next time we would pick a place that had TV and pool.
Monteverde is a very special area and we were priveleged to have seen it.

  • Liked — the beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — no tv or pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

The room smelled of mildew. Bathroom has gruesome stains or greenish black mold and fungus growing between the tiles. The cheap pillows were worse than an airline pillow. Bedspread was worse than dog blanket that I had to throw it inside the closet. The bed was very uncomfortable with springs sticking out
Nice fire place by the restaurant but the food was expensive, $30 for a dinner. Without your own car, you are stuck. Taxis to town could add up. Remember this is a cloud forest, down pours most of the time, hard to walk on a muddy road.
This hotel is pricey, $146 is a rip off for a smelly room without breakfast. Glad we checked out the next day. They refused to refund us for our unused night.
Avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — owner is american who does not understand about customer service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: 1 Toucan Boulevarde, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Forest View Downstairs Rooms. 12 Forest View Balcony Rooms. (A little more expensive, but worth it. See What Reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips") 1 Downstairs Room is Wheelchair Accessible. • Beds: 2 Downstairs Rooms and 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 King Bed. 10 Downstairs Rooms and 10 Upstairs Rooms have 2 Double Beds. • All rooms have: In-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: Personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: Cuisine: What a Costa Rican Grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: Quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at hotel: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.