We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Monteverde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monteverde Lodge & Gardens to your Saves list
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Monteverde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This is a great destination in Monteverde. It's close to the cloud forest and also the town of Santa Elena, where you'll find restaurants, a few bars, etc. The gardens behind the lodge are gorgeous, and there's a path to the private reserve. You can also keep hiking and visit the butterfly gardens and another biological reserve. Both hikes and the butterfly garden are beautiful and worthwhile.
The Lodge is nice and staff are very helpful and cordial. There's a large restaurant and bar and a nice whirlpool. The restauant opened at 6 am, making it convenient to use since we left early to see the sights. We ate all breakfasts, along with some lunches and dinners at the lodge. All were good and, while not a bargain, reasonably priced. We didn't have a problem with slow restaurant service as some other reviews indicate.
We stayed first in a "standard" room--no. 214. It was very nice--gleaming "hardwood" floors (it's fake hardwood, but looks nice,) windows overlooking the gardens, 2 queen-sized beds, big bath. Unfortunately, we had to leave that room after 2 nights because it was booked. We then moved to room 113--a "garden" room. Avoid the garden rooms. They are much smaller, darker, and have flimsy doors that open to a narrow, dark hallway. There's a door that opens to the gardens, but there are tables and benches just outside that are open to any guest. It was awkward when a small group was sitting just outside our door talking. We could hardly tell them to leave, but.... Between the flimsy door on one side and the door to the garden, we felt virtually no privacy.
Don't let my comments about the garden room deter you from booking the lodge--just avoid the garden rooms.

  • Liked — Proximity to nature
  • Disliked — The garden room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    169
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
176
300
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed at the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens at the end of December with the 3day/2 night all inclusive package from Costa Rica expeditions. We were given an upper level (second story) standard room and we loved it. If you can, get an upper level room since I heard some people who were staying in ground floor rooms complain about noise they could hear. The sound insulation isn't the greatest and you can hear your neighbors, but I thought it was tolerable.

The food, in my opinion, was among the best I've had in our two week trip. It was very well prepared and quite tasty.

We did the night hikes at both Monteverde Reserve and the Ecological sanctuary within walking distance from the hotel. Enjoyed both immensely.

My only complaint is that the front desk does not let you know of activities that they are not authorized to recommend, so I had to find out about the night hike at the Monteverde reserve by myself.

  • Liked — Location, room, and food.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

The hotel is in a beautiful location. The reception staff were friendly and very accomodating.

Our room was clean with lovely white bedding and overlooked the beautiful gardens. The gardens lead onto a forest trail - great for exploring.

From the restaurant you can observe the many humming birds living in the gardens. The food is tasty but the restaurant staff were inattentive and slow.

The town is a short (and cheap ) taxi ride away.

  • Liked — view from our window
  • Disliked — slow restaurant service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Monteverde Lodge was an excellent place to stay and a lot of fun. Went with my girlfriend and we were very pleased. The hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good and reasonably priced. We made our reservation through anywherecostarica.com (Joel is one of the people working at Anywherecostarica - extremely helpful with recommendations!) Overall, we were very pleased! This was one of the best 2 hotels we came across in Monteverde (can't remember the name of the other one but you'd probably recognize it as also very nice as you view other hotels in the area online). As very active 30 year olds, we covered mostly everything to do there in 1 and 1/2 days. If you want to make the most of your time in Costa Rica, stay in Monteverde at the Monteverde lodge for 2 days and 2 nights then move on to explore the rest of the country. I would really recommend renting a car (the drive is a very rough one and a fun part of the experience looking back), the SkyTrek zip lines and going on Suspension bridges as well.

  • Liked — price, great service, nice hotel, good restaurant
  • Disliked — weather a bit dreary
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

We stayed two nights at this hotel and would give it a positive review. We had a standard room which had 2 beds, and a small area to sit looking out a picture window to view the local nature. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are very nice with lots of nice flowers and trees to walk around on a small path. There is a large indoor hot tub, which is nice after a long day of hiking.

We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was very good and not too expensive, although the dining room may look a little fancy. There is also a nice bar with a fire pit and board games to visit after dinner.

The one and only thing that takes away from this hotel is the road to get to Monteverde. We drove from Arenal to Monteverde and the road was an utter mess. There was a foot of mud in places and rocks sticking up high enough to hit a high-clearance vehicle. Be sure to have four wheel drive and nerves of steel. The road leaving Monteverde to the Inter-American highway was not as harrowing.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and style
  • Disliked — Drive to get there
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Monteverde Lodge for 2 nights in February of 2007. This is an ecolodge and throughout our tour of the rest of the country, we stayed mainly at upscale hotels, so this was quite different. However, overall, it appeared to be the best option in the area.

The location of the lodge is very convenient to downtown Monteverde and also to the nearby Ecological Sanctuary. The check-in process is seamless and the people who work at the desk are very helpful in suggesting things to do in the area and arranging them for you. The restaurant associated with the hotel is quite good. It also has a great bar where you can play cards/ wind down in the evening- very laid back atmosphere. There is also a hottub- but be forewarned- it is solar powered and if there is no sun that day it is cold!! The rooms themselves are clean but the linens and furniture are somewhat outdated. The grounds themselves are very nice with a garden you can stroll through. Overall we were pleased with the property.

When we were in Monteverde, despite it being the drier season, it rained quite a bit. We did a canopy tour in poor weather and this was still great. We also visited the Ecological Sanctuary and saw monkeys, birds there- was actually a better self tour than the much more touristy Cloud Forest Reserve (which was crouded- humingbird garden great!). There is a frog exhibit in town, but this was marginally entertaining at best. The town of Monteverde is small and not quite what we expected. Overall, Monteverde was somewhat of a letdown- our only disappointment in Costa Rica. This is, of course, just an opinion, and may have been slightly influenced by the weather.

However, if you are visiting Monteverde, the Lodge and Gardens is likely the best accomodation in the area.

  • Liked — gardens, restaurant
  • Disliked — rooms outdated
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We spent two nights at the Monteverde Lodge for our honeymoon. It’s an ecolodge…no TV and no extra electric items. They also heat by solar panel! We had one of the cheaper Garden View rooms. The room was kind of small but we really didn’t stay in our room too much. The walls are pretty thin and we heard the people in the pool area. The grounds are beautiful. We walked around their trail and to the look out. It was absolutely wonderful. The hotel staff is great. We did eat at the restaurant twice and found the food to be wonderful. We also went to town and ate at the Treehouse Café. This restaurant is a must. There is a huge tree growing in the middle of the restaurant. We sat outside under the branches both times we ate there. The food is wonderful and they give you a coupon to use their internet service for 30 minutes.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monteverde Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Forest View Downstairs Rooms. 12 Forest View Balcony Rooms. (A little more expensive, but worth it. See What Reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips") 1 Downstairs Room is Wheelchair Accessible. • Beds: 2 Downstairs Rooms and 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 King Bed. 10 Downstairs Rooms and 10 Upstairs Rooms have 2 Double Beds. • All rooms have: In-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: Personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: Cuisine: What a Costa Rican Grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: Quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and T4B so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.