We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Best Location in Monte Verde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Bosque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel El Bosque to your Saves list
Hotel El Bosque
Monteverde, Costa Rica | First right after Restaurante Tramonti, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is the Best Location in Monte Verde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed here recently with my daughter so we could hike and see birds and animals. We had hiked and birded here last year. The jungle is all around and within walking distance we have seen Families of Howler Monkeys, toucans, aqouti, Quetzals, etc. The hotel is in surrounded by gardens. The owners have to update several things, but say they are working on it. Ask for a newly upgraded room. This hotel is in the jungle and it is simple, but beautiful. It is near 3 wonderful resturants (including the famous Stella's Bakery, a wonderful Pizza and Italian Resturant, and a wonderful European Resturant and Bathouse) a coffeehouse with music at night that you just have to experience, a craft store and a small American private school with very friendly owners. It is within walking distance of the cheese factory, Quaker Meeting House, and the Children's Eternal Rainforest. I recommend with reservations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
23
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here. little outside of town, but good choice. easy to walk into town. Night walking tour at hotel was very neat.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

El Bosque is not in Santa Elena, so if your goal is a wild night life, this is not the place for you. It's a good place for a full night's sleep, surrounded by nature. We found the room fridge really useful so that we could eat our own food instead of high-calorie Tico restaurant food. But if you want a restaurant, Stella's is across the road, and a gourmet pizza place it next door. We favoured the little grocery store next door and loaded up on fruit, veggies, bread, pb&j, and yogurt. The hotel is also next door to the best souvenir place in Monteverde, the CASEM Co-op. We were walking distance to the trails in the Children's Eternal Rainforest, and an easy bus ride to the cloudforest park. As well, El Bosque offers guided night hikes in the jungle. The only downside was the distance from Santa Elena. However, in many ways, that distance helped us focus on activities, rather than on touristy glitter. The rooms are very basic by North American standards, but very adequate. This is a budget hotel that provides good value and good service for a budget price.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had reservations at a highly rated B&B, but they told us that we had never confirmed. They were nice enough to help us find another place at a similar price and sent us here to the Hotel El Bosque.

It looks a bit like a motel, but the grounds are lovely and the rooms were spacious. The guys who run the place made sure we saw the gray fox that was wandering the property and showed us some tarantulas they'd found in the garden.

Like someone else said: you're in the forest...there's going to be bugs. We didn't have any in the room, but there ere some on the porch.

You're close to a couple of restaurants, a convenience store, a crafts store and the cheese shop. You are not close to downtown....at least not close enough to walk easily. And yes, it's dark...it's dark all over town. There aren't a lot of street lights. Didn't you notice the miles of dirt road to get into Monteverde? You're not in a city, you're in a village that's developed a lot of tourist-oriented services at the end of a long, bumpy dirt road.

Go. Have a good time. Don't expect plush hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

My flight to SJO was delayed by several hours and we didn't get to Monteverde until after midnight. They accomodated our late check-in and was very helpful the next day when we asked for directions/suggestions, etc. The room was clean, grounds were gorgeous and great location! Walkable to atm, super market, internet cafe, bakery, local crafts store and delicious restaurants while still being in the middle of nature. My only complaint was the color of the walls - they were too dark! Overall, great value, great hotel, would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarchi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

I live in Costa Rica and had friends from the US decide last minute to visit over Christmas. I'd never stayed here but chose it for the location - you can walk to Stella's EXCELLENT bakery/breakfast/lunch place, the Women's craft cooperative, other good hiking trails, the Cheese Factory, a little supermarket, and 2 very good restaurants. The Argentinian place across the street had incredible dinners, almost more than you could eat, for $8.
The staff was wonderful, and the guy at the reception woke us in the morning if there were animals hanging around out front. My car was having problems and he was so helpful in hooking me up with a local mechanic.
We did the Night Tour they offer, and because the place is a little lower down (drier) , we saw alot more than I had seen on an earlier Night Tour in the Cloud Forest Reserve. The guide knew his stuff and obviously loves what he does.
Ask for one of the newer cabins - we got the Family one for 3 adults and a teen and had lots of room to spread out. Only 1 lamp in the room, plus an overhead light, so it was hard to read at night - tho we were so tired from hiking we always went to bed early! The beds were new and very comfortable.
Yes, there can be spiders, etc. The room was spotless, but come on folks, it IS in the forest! Breakfast was not included, but they are building a restaurant on the grounds which should be finished soon.
For us, it was a perfect choice, and gave my friends a sense of the charm of the "real" Costa Rica, rather than staying in a shinier, more upscale place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We did not go to Monteverde/Santa Elena for the nightlife, shopping or all the extra activities like zip-lining or horseback. We went to hike and get away from it all. The Bosque was perfect. We shopped at the small grocery and CASEM very close to our hotel and ate at Stella's Bakery. We were able to walk back from the Monteverde Cloud Forest after a hike and stop at the Cheese Factory for ice cream. We could attend the Wednesday Friend's Meeting.
It is out-of-the-way, friendly and yes, dark but so are all the hotels in this part of Monteverde. There are no street lights. We enjoyed the howler monkeys howling very early in the morning and the hummingbirds that are seen around the area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Address: Monteverde, Costa Rica | First right after Restaurante Tramonti, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel, located in a beautiful property surrounded by more than 60% primary forest. -Our family (i.e. our staff) is super friendly and we truly understand the value of exceptional customer service. -Our facilities are clean, cozy, and very peaceful. Our Mission: To create a memorable experience for all our guests, inspired by passion for service and nature. Our Vision: To be known and remembered as the most customer-oriented hotel in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
Hotel El Bosque Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.