We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Bosque

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Bosque
Monteverde, Costa Rica | camino a la reserva Bosque Nuboso, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here two nights and loved it!
The location is not walking distance to Santa Elena, but there enough things close by. It is also right on the road to the reserve.
Best part was seeing all the animals and birds right from the hotel! We saw capuchin monkey, many different birds including toucans ...etc right at breakfast. They have a little stand where they place fruit on so that is what attracts all the birds. Many ppl sat outside just watching!
Went to the night tour behind the hotel and felt it was a waste.
No ac nor tv but ac wasn't needed.
For $55 a night including breakfast this was a good deal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

During our 6-month stay in Monteverde, I got to know the family that runs El Bosque. Irma offered to teach me how to cook a traditional picadillo and tortillas. What a fabulous cook! She has lived on the farm that is now El Bosque all her life and still cooks on a wood stove. Seeing the property and watching her cook (with herbs growing outside her door) was a highlight during our time in Costa Rica. The hotel has lovely gardens, with traditional foods growing outside the kitchen door, and is located in a central but very quiet location in the small town of Monteverde. It is not in the larger Santa Elena (which non-locals call Monteverde), but rather in Monteverde proper, close to the local market and CASEM women's-cooperative craft shop, walking distance to the Cheese Factory, the Friend's meeting house, the Bat Museum, Curi-Concha reserve, Bajo del Tigre (part of the Children's Eternal Rain Forest), and my favorite restaurants (the CASEM "soda" and chocolates at the Argentine Cafe).

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was literally scared to stay at this place. There is no lighting at night, the lights in the room are dim (at best), you can hear people right through the walls, and people would randomly walk by peering into our room windows. Keep your curtains closed! There were no security deposit boxes like they advertised, so I had to keep my money locked in my suitcase and hope that wasn't stolen. Hiking trails lead you by peoples' houses, trailers, and abandoned vehicles. Maids enter without knocking, and clean at awkward times of the day (like the evening when you're trying to get ready for dinner or going out). It was hard to sleep because of how much noise the hotel makes at night - the gates slam with the wind, the windows in the bathroom flap open and shut because we couldn't get ours closed, and the roof sounds like it's going to blow away.

The only saving grace was that the hotel is a short walk to a good bakery and lovely restaurant.

Room Tip: If anything, book one of the family-sized rooms located near reception. I heard that these weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The landscapes are beautiful, gardens everywhere. Location, very close to town which makes it easy to access and is on the way to the National Park. Villas are very clean, you have everything to cook in there, nice main area, very spacious living room and kitchen, hot water, you don't need AC in Monteverde, tv in the living room area only. Staff was great, very accomodating and helpful, they can assist you on booking tours and there is plenty of information about activities right at the front desk. As there is no washer/dryer make sure you bring clothes that can get easily dryed in the room.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have double beds, so if you are traveling with friends of kids, and don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought this was a great place to stay in Monteverde. The hotel itself is well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. We were able to book a night walk through the forest right behind the hotel and the guide pointed out some great insects and animals.

The rooms are simple (no t.v) but they are clean and spacious.
There is an Italian restaurant 2 steps away that serves excellant wood oven pizza and local dishes too.

They have wi-fi, but my room ( #16) was too far away from the signal to be able to connect to the net. If you need wi-fi, take a room that is closer to the reception or the breakfast hall.

Room Tip: They have wi-fi, but my room ( #16) was too far away from the signal to be able to connect to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotel El Bosque is a great place to stay while in Monteverde. The owner and all personnel were extremely helpful. They answered all of our questions about the area and called for transportation whenever we needed it. A hardy breakfast was served each morning with plenty of fresh fruit (bananas, pineapple, cantaloupe, watermelon, papaya, mangos, and fired plantains), juice, coffee, toast, scrambled eggs, and so on. Our room was clean, had lots of HOT water, contained a small refrigerator, and had comfortable beds. The grounds were well cared for, with plenty of blooming flowers and trees. Miles of marked trails surround the property, so one can go hiking and photograph the many and varied flowers along the trails.

It is only a couple of miles from the hotel to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, the Orchid Garden, the Butterfly Garden, Santa Elena, shopping and a little farther to San Luis Waterfall, Santa Elena Cloud Forest, and the coffee tours. A delightful night hike is also conducted on the property each night for an additional fee. Our guide safely showed us raccoons, coati, agouti, tarantulas, fireflies, glowing click beetles, scorpions, and many other insects that inhabit the night. The Monteverde Waterfall, a short distance from the Hotel El Bosque, was a nice mile round trip to a pleasing waterfall of some 25 feet in height with a couple of large fig trees displaying their massive root systems on the banks by the waterfall.

This hotel will be my choice next time in Monteverde.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and friendly place! Excellent location and treatment. Love the environment an good vibe here. Recommended :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Address: Monteverde, Costa Rica | camino a la reserva Bosque Nuboso, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family operated hotel, started in the mid 90´s with the philosophy of preserving nature and make every one of our guests feel like at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
Hotel El Bosque Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Bosque to your Saves list