We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Monteverde” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Establo to your Saves list
El Establo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay in Monteverde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and through the hotel booked the following excursions: day hike in Monteverde Cloud Forest, night hike on the hotel's grounds, and Sky Trek ziplining.

Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and pleasant. They even recommended places to eat in Santa Elana which were fabulous. The breakfast, which is included, was much better than I was expecting. The only downsize for us was that, as other's commented, the walls are extremely thin. If someone is blowdrying their hair in your hallway, you will most certainly hear it. There was a family with many kids on our floor and it was a bit distracting.

The location is great, a quick and easy walk into a cute little town (or a $3 cab ride, you can't beat that)

Room Tip: the higher your room, the better the view- but this also comes with a further walk or shuttle ride t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    366
    191
    73
    46
See reviews for
273
480
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

After reading some of the bad reviews i expected a yucky rustic cabin with constant noise. But i was happily surprised. This is a really great place, no idea why all the bad reviews. The rooms are really comfortable, great views from the room with balcony, large beds, large luxury bathroom with bath.

Yes, i guess the walls are thin, but we weren't really woken up, we had tours to go to also in the morning.

The lodge itself is massive, we took an hour hike just to explore the lodge and didn't make it to the top. its basically many buildings nestled into the mountain, very natural, peaceful, great views of the forest below. We didn't have time to try the pool. We ate at the restaurant once, its very upscale, white linen, etc, the priceis high, the food is very international, but i'd say its so-so, nothing special, not really worth the high price, but not a big deal, saved time from going into the city. If you want food, there are lots of places in town, and its just a $3 taxi ride down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My family and I stayed at El Establo about a week ago. As we were being dropped off at the hotel by Gray Line, our driver said, we were staying at the nicest hotel in the Monteverde area. It's a beautiful, rustic looking hotel with buildings built into the mountainside. We were in the 500 building, probably about half way up, a little far for me to walk up and down, but my daughter had no problem walking up the paths. There are shuttle buses that constantly run up and down. Whenever we called for a shuttle, there was one waiting at the door, before we could even walk down the hallway. The room was a good size with a large bathroom. It did get a little warm in there at 4:00 when the sun came through the window. There was no air conditioning or ceiling fan, but there are vents above the sliding door, so if you left the curtain open at night, you did get a little breeze. Free breakfast was included, but restaurant was closed that week for lunch/dinner. Breakfast included a nice selection of food and it was pretty good. There is also a more expensive restaurant on property, Laggus. We had desserts there one night - a trio of petite desserts for $8 (ordered a couple). They were tasty and we devoured them in no time flat. There is also a bakery/sandwich shop at the bottom of the hill which was pretty good. ATM machine too. You could walk down the street about 10 minuets and find a few shops and restaurants. We also took a cab into town for a few dollars. I believe the hotel had 2 pools and a tennis court, but we didn't get a chance to use them. We did do the Night Walk for about $25 per person. You were given a flashlight and walked around trails at night looking for animals. It was fun. We saw a really beautiful sunset from on top of the mountain. We also saw a couple of Coati roaming the grounds during the daytime and there are some peacocks and other birds along one of the paths. They also have zip lines/canopy tour. Wi-fi was available in "common" areas. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This very expensive hotel has some positive features, notably the lovely property and the great views. But the inconveniences and the oddities outweigh the positives. The property is located on a steep slope, so that if you are an older person (my wife and I are 65+), it is difficult to get around. The only option is to wait for the shuttle bus, which is extremely unpredictable. Sometimes it arrives fairly quickly, while at other times one has to wait for a long time. The rooms are also very strangely designed. There is no cupboard space, and no drawer space at all. The bathroom is roomy, but designed so that one cannot get to the sink without closing the door. Also, there is no light in the shower area, so that one has to shower in the semi-darkness. Through most of the day, only one restaurant or bar is open. This is located at one end of the property, and therefore difficult to get to. There were no towel racks in the bathroom, and strangely enough, no holder for the toilet paper! All in all, a lovely property, but the rooms are not very well or thoughtfully designed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I guess this place is more about couples as having to use a bus to get around the buildings and areas of the spread out resort would not be ideal for children, that's not to say there's nothing for children to do as there is two swimming pools, a playground, sports pitches and a few animals.

Having said the above the resort is clean and the views are incredible.

The restaurant is nice but expensive so you may want to try the local restaurants off resort.

There are some great nature trails on site and also zip wires all paid for in the reception.

If you want peace and quite and lots of walking/bus trips this is the ideal place but as I say in the title atmosphere is something the venue is lacking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

There is no doubt the view is what works here. But it all ends there. Buildings are located on a very steep and long hill. It would take a serious hike with water and many rests to climb up to your room. The only path is the main road filled with nasty smelling diesel shuttles. To go anywhere you need to call a shuttle and it's a long wait.

Walls are paper thin. You WILL be waking up at 6 or so no matter how well you sleep. Doors slamming, echoes in the hallway, the sound of people waiting for the shuttle.

Room amenities. None. Safe is a consumer grade box where you need to leave a $35 deposit to use it. Poor lighting, horrible shower, zero ventilation (there is no fan, heat, or ac).

Pool (you need a shuttle to get to it) was small and unappealing. There was a guy selling drinks from a cooler.

We stumbled on the restaurant by accident. The building has no sign on it. It looked like someones private suite. We walked into the upstairs bar and there were no signs, our anything. . It was bizarre. The only guy there was a bartender. When we asked to see the menu, it was clear it was going to be a weird night. He spoke no English (our problem, not his). When we tried to give him our order, he looked really frustrated and pissed off.

Just a weird place and not recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, lucky we got a room in the 300 series up from the restaurant. We were actually surprised as we got a bedroom with a loft. Very very nice view and very nice room. Breakfast was included, pretty decent for the area. About a 10 minute walk to central town, lots of restaurants to choose from, mostly a tourist trap. I wouldn't walk though, pay a taxi for $2 USD, as theres a steep hill to go up/down. Small convenience across the road to buy water. Service excellent, no complaints. There's a computer and phone that you can use to make local calls. Only downside is the washroom is very dark, I know they try to save energy, but they could use an extra light.

Room Tip: Choose the 300 series rooms for close to the reception/front desk/ breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#7 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#11 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.