We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Layout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Establo to your Saves list
El Establo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique Layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at El Establo for two days. The elevation is high enough that when the clouds roll in, they envelope the entire resort. The first day we were there it was raining and cloudy/foggy. The rooms have no air conditioning or heat, so we had our jackets on for a bit trying to stay warm while sitting in the room. The rooms were nice and the staff did a good job of keeping the resort clean. Our room had a deck but there were no chairs/table out there so you couldn’t sit outside and enjoy the view. We stayed in the 400 building so we were able to walk back and forth from the reception area and restaurant without trouble. If you stay in any building with a higher number (500 to 900), you are probably going to be dependent on the shuttle vans to pick you up and drop you off. The shuttles are very efficient. You just call the front desk and request one and it will arrive in less than 5 minutes. The breakfast buffet was decent (gotta love a place that serves jalapeno poppers at 6:30 in the morning). It is served in the restaurant at the bottom of the hill. We also tried the formal dining restaurant on the property, called Laggus, one night. It had a nice atmosphere and the food was ok, but nothing outstanding. There are a few stores and restaurants close by so there is no need for a rental car or taxi. There are a number of hiking trails on the property at the top of the hill. You can walk them on your own during the daylight, or you can go with a guide at night. I think we paid $25 USD per person for the Night Walk and I would highly recommend it. The guide was great and was able to point out so many things we missed when we went on the trails by ourselves. Overall I would rate the hotel and restaurants as good, and the Night Walk tour as great.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300 or 400 building will allow you to walk to and from the reception area, street, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    364
    189
    72
    46
See reviews for
269
478
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were here as part of a gate 1 tour (we did the plan A upgrade in our opinion money well spent). The hotel had the most amazing views. It is Eco friendly so no air conditioning (although it wasn't needed) the power was on only when your room key was present in room, so while you have a fridge it only stays cool when you're in the room.

The zip lines, Tarzan swing and rappelling were awesome. The guides were great. It's on property so it's super convenient. Only $40. Pura Vida.

The restaurant is very nice, kind of hip bar upstairs where you overlook a pond surrounded by hydrangeas. Beautiful.

We were here at the end of September, only 10% occupancy so we had the place to ourselves.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights in september , but felt like it was way over priced for what they offer , no wi-fi in rooms , the rooms have a odor (may be because there is so much moisture in the air ) , the pool was cold , the breakfast was awful and the staff was pathetic at the breakfast station .
we stayed in a king bed suite and the room was spacious and the bathroom was clean , the welcome conceirge person was very informative .. these were the only good things .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great view and huge. Rooms were great with a nice shower. Odd vent to hall however made so that you could hear what was going on in rooms/showers as you walked down the hall. Halls also very loud as they are built with stone so suit cases roll very loudly over joints. Odd design choice. We did want to stay more than one night to enjoy the amenities. Breakfast was OK but they wanted to charge extra for a pancake. Odd again. Beautiful resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at El Establo in Building #300 with a fabulous view all the way to the Gulf of Nicoyo. Our lofted suite comfortably slept all 5 of us in a stylish, modern decor. The entire complex is built on a steep mountainside, so they run a very efficient shuttle bus on call to transport guests up and down the property. The shuttle doesn't run to Santa Elena, however. At first, that seemed like a disadvantage, but we found the walk to town energizing and a good way to see things up close. It's a hilly walk, with some areas of poor sidewalks, but doable if you're in decent shape. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. We left on our third morning before the official start to breakfast, but were welcomed to fill to-go containers. The property includes acres of rainforest at the top of the hill. We hiked (take the shuttle to the start of the trail!) through the marked trails. Even saw some monkeys. We chose to walk down back to our room - a very steep but invigorating walk. The upscale restaurant on the property was pretty, but too pricey for our budget. We chose to have a "2 fer" drink in the bar instead -- just make sure you order 2 of the identical drink. Staff was friendly and helpful. This a nice choice for a high-end lodging within walking distance of town.

Room Tip: Stay in the lowest building on the property (think it's the 300 building) so you can walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Breathtaking views from the room. Waking up on the morning to rainbows and a spectacular cloud forest view was amazing. Staff was nice and efficient. Breakfast buffet was tasty ( I don't eat eggs or waffles so the extra charge did not impact me). The hotel has a feel of the Van Trap Family Lodge (could be slightly 70"s) but it is stunning. The view from the pool while working out was incredible. We had a room in the 500's and walked to the front desk which took 15 minutes downhill and 25 uphill. We wanted the exercise but the shuttle is always available. The restaurant was tasty for dinner and also had a great view. The hotel is eco-friendly (great!!) however that was a problem in terms of getting a hot shower. The hotel states that you can get 2 15 minute hot showers in the room. I was able to get 4 minutes of hot water at a time and after a 3 hour hike/horseback riding that was frustrating. I would go back to the hotel and stay and keep my fingers crossed that I can have a longer hot shower.

Room Tip: The higher the room number the further away from the reception area. Great exercise to walk up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel seemed awkward to us for some reason. Out of all the places we stayed this one left us with the feeling of glad to be leaving after three days. After talking about it we came to the conclusion it's because it's all built on a hill, a very steep hill. We love to walk but hiking back and forth to our room got old real fast so we finally started riding in their shuttles, which you have to request, that go up and down their steep hill. The last thing you hear at night and the first thing you hear in the morning is noisy shuttle vans. They also have hiking trails on their property which are in the back section and where you need a map. These trails can go for miles so be sure and take a map. Oh wait, we did take a map! But it's not accurate, and you can easily get lost. When we were done hiking there wasn't any way to contact shuttle to come get us to take us back to the room which was quite a ways down a very very steep hill. If there was an emergency while hiking you'd be out of luck since there isn't any phone service. The hotel seems to be run on a shoestring budget. The landscaping needs to be tended to and is overgrown and the rooms are very outdated. They look like ski lodge units from the 70s. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, nor is their A/C or heating. The room safe is small and we could barely fit out belongings in it. The food was passable but you have to pay extra for pancakes and omelettes. We ate across the street at Chimera which made us very happy.

Room Tip: If you ask for a coffee maker they may have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#11 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.