We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it yourself rainforest hiking on the property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Save Saved
You added El Establo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Establo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do it yourself rainforest hiking on the property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at El Establo in Building #300 with a fabulous view all the way to the Gulf of Nicoyo. Our lofted suite comfortably slept all 5 of us in a stylish, modern decor. The entire complex is built on a steep mountainside, so they run a very efficient shuttle bus on call to transport guests up and down the property. The shuttle doesn't run to Santa Elena, however. At first, that seemed like a disadvantage, but we found the walk to town energizing and a good way to see things up close. It's a hilly walk, with some areas of poor sidewalks, but doable if you're in decent shape. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. We left on our third morning before the official start to breakfast, but were welcomed to fill to-go containers. The property includes acres of rainforest at the top of the hill. We hiked (take the shuttle to the start of the trail!) through the marked trails. Even saw some monkeys. We chose to walk down back to our room - a very steep but invigorating walk. The upscale restaurant on the property was pretty, but too pricey for our budget. We chose to have a "2 fer" drink in the bar instead -- just make sure you order 2 of the identical drink. Staff was friendly and helpful. This a nice choice for a high-end lodging within walking distance of town.

Room Tip: Stay in the lowest building on the property (think it's the 300 building) so you can walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    277
    136
    61
    43
See reviews for
217
381
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Breathtaking views from the room. Waking up on the morning to rainbows and a spectacular cloud forest view was amazing. Staff was nice and efficient. Breakfast buffet was tasty ( I don't eat eggs or waffles so the extra charge did not impact me). The hotel has a feel of the Van Trap Family Lodge (could be slightly 70"s) but it is stunning. The view from the pool while working out was incredible. We had a room in the 500's and walked to the front desk which took 15 minutes downhill and 25 uphill. We wanted the exercise but the shuttle is always available. The restaurant was tasty for dinner and also had a great view. The hotel is eco-friendly (great!!) however that was a problem in terms of getting a hot shower. The hotel states that you can get 2 15 minute hot showers in the room. I was able to get 4 minutes of hot water at a time and after a 3 hour hike/horseback riding that was frustrating. I would go back to the hotel and stay and keep my fingers crossed that I can have a longer hot shower.

Room Tip: The higher the room number the further away from the reception area. Great exercise to walk up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel seemed awkward to us for some reason. Out of all the places we stayed this one left us with the feeling of glad to be leaving after three days. After talking about it we came to the conclusion it's because it's all built on a hill, a very steep hill. We love to walk but hiking back and forth to our room got old real fast so we finally started riding in their shuttles, which you have to request, that go up and down their steep hill. The last thing you hear at night and the first thing you hear in the morning is noisy shuttle vans. They also have hiking trails on their property which are in the back section and where you need a map. These trails can go for miles so be sure and take a map. Oh wait, we did take a map! But it's not accurate, and you can easily get lost. When we were done hiking there wasn't any way to contact shuttle to come get us to take us back to the room which was quite a ways down a very very steep hill. If there was an emergency while hiking you'd be out of luck since there isn't any phone service. The hotel seems to be run on a shoestring budget. The landscaping needs to be tended to and is overgrown and the rooms are very outdated. They look like ski lodge units from the 70s. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, nor is their A/C or heating. The room safe is small and we could barely fit out belongings in it. The food was passable but you have to pay extra for pancakes and omelettes. We ate across the street at Chimera which made us very happy.

Room Tip: If you ask for a coffee maker they may have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was set in an amazing part of town. The rooms are all in buildings that are set up along the mountainside meaing you can hike up and down to your room if you feel the need for exercise, or you can use the complimentary shuttle that the hotel offers. When you do use the shuttle you only need to wait a few minutes before they show up to get you.

We had a room in the 900's building, which was at the very top of the hotel grounds. Our view from our balcony was breathtaking. You can see the whole valley and the green of the land is just beautiful. We had chairs on our balcony and it was easy to relax and just take in the peacefulness of the land.

Our room was very spacious and there was tons of room for us to unpack and put our things around the room. The only thing that we found lacking was a mini fridge, which would have been helpful and a room service menu. My friend wasn't feeling well and wanted to order in room service, but we had to get someone to bring us a menu first before we could order. Other than that the food was a good size portion and a decent price. The bathroom was very large and had an amazing shower and tub as well.

Wi-fi is only available in the main buildings at the reception and in the restaurants which was a bit disappointing as you couldnt' get access to it in your room. However, all you had to do was call the shuttle and they would come get you so you could go down and have access.

The restaurant breakfast was very varied and there was a lot to choose from.
Overall the staff was very accomodating and I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet and peaceful. If you don't want to be far away from reception, then ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed El Establo as it was a comfortable hotel, about a 20 minute walk into town, and the property is so big it has its own hiking at the top of the mountain. You could hoof it to the top or there's a shuttle that can take you there. Definitely bring your camera and binoculars as there was much exciting biodiversity to see.

Our room was a short walk from the main building, however, we heard that the restaurant, Laggos, near the top of the mountain was good, so one night we called for the shuttle to take us there. It was the best food we had while in Monteverde.

A couple restaurants are a short walk away and a supermarket is about a 10 minute walk in a newly constructed shopping center.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from entryways into the complexes to not hear folks returning late into the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It all started well as we were upgraded. Our room had an amazing view over the Nicoya Gulf, allowing us to look at the clouds rolling in and out and some of the most fabulous sunsets. The resort is set on a steep hill but there are shuttles if you don't feel up to the climb. The facilities are excellent including the chance for a night walk, if you are interested, but you will catch sight of wildlife - we saw an armadillo near reception! Free wifi is available but only in designated areas - actually it does you good to do without email contact for a while. Just enjoy the peace and quiet and the views.

Room Tip: Rooms halfway up the hill are a good compromise for the view but not too much of a walk uphill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is amazing with great view and nice room. We feel the beds (and bedding) are the most comfortable ones in all our hotel experience. We were very happy with this hotel but have a couple of recommendations.

1. It would be a good idea providing Wi-Fi in the room. The Wi-Fi is free but you have to take a shuttle to the wi-fi zone to access it. With the people depending on technology so much today, it would be a good idea to have more convenient Internet Access.
2. The wooden door and windows are very nice. However, those do create noises when people close them. It would be a good idea to use some cushion (rubber for example) to reduce the noise. Those door slamming sound destroyed a very nice morning in a quite mountain area.

Room Tip: The higher the number, the farther you are from the main office. 100-200 room may be noisy because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.