We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Save Saved
You added El Establo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Establo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was set in an amazing part of town. The rooms are all in buildings that are set up along the mountainside meaing you can hike up and down to your room if you feel the need for exercise, or you can use the complimentary shuttle that the hotel offers. When you do use the shuttle you only need to wait a few minutes before they show up to get you.

We had a room in the 900's building, which was at the very top of the hotel grounds. Our view from our balcony was breathtaking. You can see the whole valley and the green of the land is just beautiful. We had chairs on our balcony and it was easy to relax and just take in the peacefulness of the land.

Our room was very spacious and there was tons of room for us to unpack and put our things around the room. The only thing that we found lacking was a mini fridge, which would have been helpful and a room service menu. My friend wasn't feeling well and wanted to order in room service, but we had to get someone to bring us a menu first before we could order. Other than that the food was a good size portion and a decent price. The bathroom was very large and had an amazing shower and tub as well.

Wi-fi is only available in the main buildings at the reception and in the restaurants which was a bit disappointing as you couldnt' get access to it in your room. However, all you had to do was call the shuttle and they would come get you so you could go down and have access.

The restaurant breakfast was very varied and there was a lot to choose from.
Overall the staff was very accomodating and I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet and peaceful. If you don't want to be far away from reception, then ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    279
    136
    61
    43
See reviews for
219
382
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed El Establo as it was a comfortable hotel, about a 20 minute walk into town, and the property is so big it has its own hiking at the top of the mountain. You could hoof it to the top or there's a shuttle that can take you there. Definitely bring your camera and binoculars as there was much exciting biodiversity to see.

Our room was a short walk from the main building, however, we heard that the restaurant, Laggos, near the top of the mountain was good, so one night we called for the shuttle to take us there. It was the best food we had while in Monteverde.

A couple restaurants are a short walk away and a supermarket is about a 10 minute walk in a newly constructed shopping center.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from entryways into the complexes to not hear folks returning late into the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It all started well as we were upgraded. Our room had an amazing view over the Nicoya Gulf, allowing us to look at the clouds rolling in and out and some of the most fabulous sunsets. The resort is set on a steep hill but there are shuttles if you don't feel up to the climb. The facilities are excellent including the chance for a night walk, if you are interested, but you will catch sight of wildlife - we saw an armadillo near reception! Free wifi is available but only in designated areas - actually it does you good to do without email contact for a while. Just enjoy the peace and quiet and the views.

Room Tip: Rooms halfway up the hill are a good compromise for the view but not too much of a walk uphill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is amazing with great view and nice room. We feel the beds (and bedding) are the most comfortable ones in all our hotel experience. We were very happy with this hotel but have a couple of recommendations.

1. It would be a good idea providing Wi-Fi in the room. The Wi-Fi is free but you have to take a shuttle to the wi-fi zone to access it. With the people depending on technology so much today, it would be a good idea to have more convenient Internet Access.
2. The wooden door and windows are very nice. However, those do create noises when people close them. It would be a good idea to use some cushion (rubber for example) to reduce the noise. Those door slamming sound destroyed a very nice morning in a quite mountain area.

Room Tip: The higher the number, the farther you are from the main office. 100-200 room may be noisy because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our first trip with a group (Gate 1 Travel) brought us to one of the most incredible places; Monteverde, Costa Rica. The El Establo was a beautiful hotel/resort in Monteverde. It is set on the mountain and begins at the reception building. Our room, which had a view anybody would cry over (in a good way), was about 1 mile up the mountain (they have vans running all day/night - to 10PM).

The room itself was so unexpectedly beautiful, the bathroom well appointed with separate shower and bathtub. TV with cable including HBO and channels from Miami. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotless; of course, the view incredible.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. I've visited many hotels and travelled a lot. This hotel and the surrounding area were awesome. Even though it rained most of the time we were there, we still had a fabulous time. Don't let the rainy season stop you from going!!! Walking the property is like exploring some of the places you went to see in CR. Town is a short walk away where you can eat. There are also several places right across the street for sweets or dinner.

My only complaint - the hotel charged extra for waffles and omelets. My husband would complain that the wifi was only available at the reception building but to me that is a good thing - don't change it!!! If I had my druthers I would have the TV in the room :)

One other kudo to Gate 1 Travel (www.gate1travel.com). Our first time on a tour and it was fabulous! The trip up the mountain to get to Monteverde was treacherous! I'm so glad we went with a tour up 37KM of dirt road/mountain. Don't do it at night!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rooms are cozy, clean but a little bit old, TV is a big CRT, there are no closets, drawers to put your belongings, iron or iron board, no AC/Heater (basically not necessary as the weather is always ~18/20 Celsius) in the nights the temperature could go really low and it is uncomfortable not having a heater.

We had some problems with bugs, (cockroach and a little scorpion) that we easily eliminated, you have to remember that you're in the middle of the jungle so don't get scared, this is completely normal.

Service staff was courteous, amenities were good and a new set was delivered every day, the location is perfect 1km to downtown and many of the area attractions. Rates are a little bit high however this is one of the best hotels in the area, if not the best one. They have their own transportation within the property.

The pool temperature was about right, and the GYM machines are almost useless as many have electrical problems or missing parts. Good hotel for families and couples, not good if you have members with disabilities as there are lots of hills, stairs and unless you request rooms at the first floor you won't be able to be happy.

Room Tip: Definitively you need to ask for the rooms located in the 400 or 500 building, those are close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphi, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice complex up in the mountains. Includes two restaurants, two pools, their own canopy and night tours. Although there is no in room wi-fi, we stayed in room 307 and were able to pick it up from the lobby. Yippee! We have a beautiful view of mountains and water and this room has a king size bed up in the loft and another on the main floor. Great for families.

Room Tip: Rooms go up the mountain with the 100 series being closest to the bottom. There is a free shuttle se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.