We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel In Monteverde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Establo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Establo to your Saves list
El Establo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel In Monteverde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reading all the trip advisor reviews. This was my first trip to Costa Rica and based on the conditions of the road we weren't sure what kind of accommodations would follow. This hotel was a complete surprise. The hotel grounds are simply breathtaking with views of the cloud forest and rooms facing the pond. The staff was extremely helpful and very much involved in assisting us with activities and tours. We stayed in room 535 which was a bit higher up then most but since we had a car rented it was easy to drive up and down the hill. For those without transportation, they have a convenient complimentary shuttle that will pick you up and drop you off.

The reception staff was FANTASTIC offering customer service on par with some of the highest rated American hotels. Much gratitude to Jason in the front for always being professional, knowledgeable and helpful in helping us navigate the hotel and the city. He even assisted me with installing and checking the SIM card on my Iphone and finally got it to work.

The breakfast staff is also extremely helpful. Umberto was always on hand to refill my coffee and tea.

The restaurant by the pond was 5 stars all the way with some of the best food I have ever tasted. The plating, service and flavors were simply heavenly and we didn't mind splurging a little on several occasions. I would highly recommend the Cloud Forrest salad and their Mojitos (2 for 1 during happy hour)

All in all this was one of the greatest travel experiences I have had and I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Monteverde.

Room Tip: Bring a light jacket and a pair of long pants as it can get a bit chilly during the evenings. It may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    365
    191
    73
    46
See reviews for
273
480
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Met a family while in the cloud forest tour and they advised us to eat here. Above and beyond expectations.

Had the pumpkin cream soup, honey braised pork ribs, chocolate cake, and their house wine. The price is definitely right. And the service is outstanding.

A short walk from El Establo, and downtown Santa Elena. Several locals didn't know where it was. From the big sign with the arrows, take the unpaved bumpy road 50 meters or so and you'll see on the right! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I will admit that we went into our stay at El Establo with slightly different expectations. For whatever reasons, we thought it would be a luxury hotel in the middle of the jungle.

We were slightly wrong.

The hotel is scattered over multiple buildings on a HUGE plot of land. It takes a shuttle or grueling trek up the hill to go from one building to another (ie lobby, pool, etc). I was luckily in the first building, so it did not affect me.

THE BAD:
It was my first experience in a long time staying at a hotel without AC/Heat. During the day, when we were in the room, it was definitely slightly warm and at night it did get a little chilly. While it wasn't that big of a deal during our stay, I can imagine during different times of the year, it might be an issue. What was worse for me was the humidity. The room always had a muggy feeling and because the room is all wood, it was very musty, especially the bathroom.

We had bugs in the room ranging from ants to flying moths and such. Having carpet in a humid room is not a good idea.

Because the bathroom window/vent faces the hallway and because the doors feel paper thin, noise in the hallway is easily heard in the room. Not awful, but annoying

WIFI is only available in some of the public areas.

The worst thing for me was the fact that the front desk closed at 10 PM. This seemed unacceptable to me for a hotel of this size (even small motels in the US are open 24 hrs/day). While supposedly there is someone manning the security gate outside the property, the fact that there is no one readily accessible to call if a need arose (hotel instructions are to contact the security guard, although how to do that is unclear) is a little odd.

THE GOOD:
The included breakfast buffet is pretty good. I did not eat any other meals at the hotel so I cannot comment on the other restaurant.

The main selling point of the hotel for me was the land the hotel is on. Although the concierge was helpful in telling us things to do during our stay in Monteverde, it wasn't until the last full day that they even told us about the hiking trails that are on the hotel grounds. They gave us a trail map (the return part did not seem complete), but this turned out to be one of the best things we did in Monteverde. The trail is as hard as your want to make it, but following the path took us about 2 hrs. There were some spots with amazing views and we did see some wildlife on the trails. I would highly recommend this.

Overall, I had a tough time deciding if this hotel deserved a 3 or 4 star rating. While it is a remote hotel, and while I was definitely looking to dismiss pretty big issues with the hotel including the lack of WiFi, bugs, lack of AC/heat, etc., I think it was very strange not having 24 hr front desk service. In the end, I decided to give 4 stars just because 1) its a different sort of hotel (the overall feel) and 2) the free hiking trail that is on the property was a great experience and saved us money/time from having to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fully contained tort with. 2 pools, large rooms , spa and 2 restaurants
The resort is set on a hillside that is very steep so if that is a concern make sure you request a room in the 100 to 300 series that are at the base and have their own pool
Rooms are large , no ad but even in the hot and humid late afternoons it stays cool due to the great ventilation
The ventilation does mean you can hear everything going on in the hallways so if you have loud neighbors you will here the coming and going
Wonderful variety in the breakfast buffet
Front desk staff and activity/spa coordinators were super friendly and helpful
Great place for a family as there are so many places for kids to run around and have fun in. Safe contains environment

Room Tip: Choose the lower section rooms in the 100 to 300 range if you don't want to wait for shuttles or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed three nights in room 302 which was more of a lodge style hotel. There were steps in the lobby to get to our room. The hallway floors in this building were designed like old stone. The staff was friendly. We had a two room unit with one bed on the main floor and a bed in the loft area. The room was big and the room was clean. There was a bathtub and shower in the room as well as a safe, dresser and fridge. The beds were comfortable. There is no ac in the room which was fine as it was pretty cool in June. There were windows to open. We could see the Pacific Ocean bay in the distance. There is a shuttle to take you to the restaurant or areas in the resort as the hotel is on a incline. The restaurant food and service was good and their breakfast buffet was fine with eggs, juice, cereal, yogurt, fruit and bread. Sometimes they had a dinner buffet also. There was a bakery, Panaderia Jimenez, across the street and some restaurants you could walk to. We tried Sofia’s once which was walking distance and there was a convenience store that is walking distance. There is walking path on the property that is on natural ground with some inclines. We saw a raccoon, armadillo and a lot of birds on the property. We also heard an owl. It was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the cloud/fog. We did not use the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice overall stay at this hotel.

Pros:
-beautiful hillside property. They offered a free shuttle to take you around the hotel.
-views from most rooms
-clean rooms
-nice large bathrooms
-really good breakfast included in the room price

Cons:
-unfriendly check in staff
-noisy cleaning staff and generally speaking poor sound insulation. Source of the noise: The door didn't seem to reach the floor.
-no heating in the rooms and it gets cold at night so if you are sensitive to cold, come prepared.
-would not recommend the ziplines at the hotel- they looked old and unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Honestly, the hill isn't such a huge deal. Just go in expecting that if you're on level 5 or above, you'll likely use the shuttle to get up the hill. It was always available when we called. Great breakfast buffet, even for the picky eater kid. Nice big room, but the main feature is the view of the cloud forest. My kids loved the pool and fitness center on level five. The pool was heated and was half-outdoors, so we had a beautiful view. Nice guys at the front desk and concierge service. They were running a special of fifty dollars off at the spa, so I had a terrific and inexpensive facial.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#11 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 7 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Establo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.