We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belmar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adjacent to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, 5655, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

We overnighted at the Hotel Belmar onour Costa Rican adventure. It was a very comfortable place with lovely gardens and helpful staff. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer here to enjoy some of the huge range of activities that they had on offer.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    155
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
115
330
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

This is a very nice place, but I agree w. the reviewer who said that you have to choose your room location. We were put into a nice room in the main building with a fantastic view stretching to the sea. However, at 6 AM the next morning we realized that we were right under the dining room. The moving of tables and chairs felt like it was right in our room. That was the end of sleep for that night. The next night we moved to the building across the road, to a less scenic but quieter room. Frankly, I feel that we should have been told of this hazard before we booked in. Everything else about this place was nice and by Costa Rican standards it was not too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

The hotels in Monteverde (even the ones that are supposed to be really nice) are not super luxurious and thats not why you go to Monteverde (the car ride there and back is not for the meak and is 3 hours of BAD roads but worth the trip). This Hotel was perfect if you get one of the rooms with a balcony in the main building overlooking the Nicoya Peninsula...Otherwise you may end up in a room like we had our first night here that had bats crawling in between the wall boards all night in the second newer building...they did not charge us for the first night and then moved our room to one of the better rooms. The food here is very good and it is centrally located. It is also much less expensive then some of the other hotels we looked at which are not any nicer than Hotel Belmar. BTW, dont miss the Selvatura Canopy Tour...it was great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

Stayed at Hotel Belmar at the end of May. We weren't actually planning to stay the night in Monte Verde - but after the bone chillling ride- and the rain- muddy roads- and darkness- we decided it was the best move. And it was.

Our rooms were in the main building where you check in. Room was beautifuel- open balcony. It was great to keep the doors open at night but it was a bit buggy. Also it was so open that you easily heard any activity on neighboring rooms.

Dining room was great- they serve all three meals. We ate dinner one night- it is an all inclusive three course- not overly expensive and so worth it.

Great areas to explore right on the hotel grounds. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Belmar during our honeymoon in Costa Rica. I thought the hotel was very nice; there was a hot tub you could use and the landscape was very nice. One thing to keep in mind though is that it is a cloud forest so it rains a lot and the roads are dirt (not paved) so it does get muddy. The room we stayed in did not have a TV but there was a TV room. Also the breakfast wasn't included in the room rate, and it cost about $10 for the breakfast buffet. So needless to say my husband and I didn't eat at the hotel at all. There was this great restaurant - Pizza de Johnny's I think - it was VERY good!

Also the hotel didn't have the best insulated rooms and one family was leaving pretty early one morning and we could hear them packing up their car the whole time - kinda annoying.

The hotel isn't located very close to the town or really anything else. My husband and I walked everywhere but it was quit a walk. Next time we go we will stay somewhere in Santa Elena I think (the town pretty much connected with Monteverde).

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Adjacent to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belmar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde
Hotel Belmar Costa Rica/Monteverde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.